We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boathouse Restaurant

Welfare Road #15, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
+1 721-544-5409
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good32%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Steakhouse, Caribbean, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Welfare Road #15, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

The food was great. The manager Kineni was so great to us. I will recommend this restaurant to anyone

Thank Wilson20102030
Cleopatra D, General Manager at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Glad you enjoyed your meal at The Boathouse Restaurant. Your patronage is well appreciated. Hope to see you again soon. Until then, eat well and keep smiling. Kindest Regards - Management and Staff Stay Well!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here one night as I was staying in the Simpson Bay area. The place wasn't busy at all around 7:00PM and was directed to the back for dinner where there was one other table. There was only one waiter and the service was ok...More

Thank jguiste
Cleopatra D, General Manager at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jguiste, good afternoon. So sorry to hear about your experience. The steak that was delivered to us was not what we are accustomed to ordering (got mixed up with another restaurants order) so yes, I agree with you wholeheartedly about the steak. I had some...More

Reviewed 10 July 2017

TJ (Tjandra) and Pria were our bartenders and made the initial experience of this restaurant one to remember. Then we had the pleasure of meeting Jimmy (the grill cook), Cleo (owner), and Richard (other owner). We had the most amazing time with them all and...More

Thank jpartschjr
Cleopatra D, General Manager at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the awesome review James, very much appreciated. Can't wait for you guys to come back again and visit - so much fun!!!

Reviewed 22 May 2017

We have always made it a point to eTc at the Boathouse when in St. Martin. We went there last week for the first time in 6 years. We had a good dinner and the waiter was very friendly and helpful. Discovered later that there...More

Thank loanlady
Cleopatra D, General Manager at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

LoanLady, good evening. I am so sorry to hear about this. What size was your table, chances are if indeed it is a party of 6 or more the Service Charge would be added to the bill, however IF the Service Charge was added this...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Food, service............were terrible. We actually talked after the waiter left our table, wonder if he was inadvertently trying to talk us out of eating there. Wish we had followed our sixth sense and moved on. Waste of money and time!

Thank Ray S
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Always follow your gut-instinct. When a restaurant is empty, has a dance floor and one employee.....run! In this case we didn't but should have. Ordered mussels and conch fritters. Mussels were literally inedible, chewy, fishy blobs with Parmesan cheese on them. Conch fritters were unrecognizable...More

Thank jlowell70
Cleopatra D, Manager at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am sorry about your experience at The Boathouse, usually this is not the case. There is typically 2-3 people on the floor but that night I recall was indeed an off night for us as we had some people out. We had a temp...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Went to visit Pat at the roadhouse in front of the boathouse which now seems to be closed (or just empty now Pat has gone?). Real shame this nice little bar is so quiet now. Went in to eat anyway. Really disappointing. Place was dead,...More

Thank joeyUSA_77
Cleopatra D, Manager at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

JoeyUSA, good evening. So sorry about your experience - No Pat's is no longer there and for very serious reasons (pending lawsuit in progress). Are you referring to the front bar?

Reviewed 23 April 2017

I have been to this restaurant maybe 15 times over the past decade and have always enjoyed it. We went on a Saturday night at prime time and there was one other table. The floor plan is also very different. Due to the lack of...More

Thank Erik S
Cleopatra D, General Manager at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Erik S. Past decade, absolutely the Same Owner. It's just a really big establishment and when it doesn't have much people it seems to be empty but that's exactly when you should have a seat and have as many say is "THE BEST MEAL...More

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

We went there for dinner. We sat in the back near the water. Cleopatra was very friendly and told us about things going on in the area. We had stuffed flounder and shrimp scampi with rice. Both dishes were delicious and beautiful. Would definitely go...More

Thank Sheila B
Cleopatra D, General Manager at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sheila B, Thank you so much for the awesome review, much appreciated. Someone hacked the TripAdvisor account and was going through a lot of issues with that. Sorry about the delay in responding. Take Care and hope you visit us again soon. God Bless Management

Reviewed 15 March 2017

We were looking for a new place to eat in Simpson Bay with a couple of our local favourite hangouts now closed. We have walked by The Boathouse many times over the years but had never gone in. So we decided to give it a...More

Thank Dave S
Cleopatra D, Manager at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry to hear about this experience as we always strive for perfection. Must have been an off day. The bar music to the front was indeed playing to the back which was not intentional but was trying to compensate for the speakers to the front...More

Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JesslynM_11
21 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Cleopatra D | Property representative |
Event passed sorry, only now getting this message. Will be showing McGreggor vs Mayweather :0) FOR SURE
0
Votes
mvguzik
28 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Cleopatra D | Property representative |
Only now seeing this question. Had someone hack the system... was no fun. Karaoke is on request, so if you would like to carry a tune, just let us know :0) Cheers
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Welfare Road #15, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
  • Location: Caribbean  >  St. Maarten-St. Martin  >  Sint Maarten  >  Simpson Bay
  • Phone Number: +1 721-544-5409
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing