We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stables View

Market Street, Dowlais CF48 3HL, Wales
+44 1685 373281
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good8%
  • Average1%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (27 reviews)
“mash” (7 reviews)
Closed today
British, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
Market Street, Dowlais CF48 3HL, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Having seen the lovely photos of the food on offer on this restaurant's Facebook page, I booked a table for my husband's birthday. Facebook reviews said the food was delicious, and the owners boasted that their new manager was Miller and Carter trained. However, on...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank PURPLEDEB123
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Decided to try the Stables View today. The place was mostly empty when we arrived. Starter was just ok and lacked imagine on presentation but tasty. My wife had turkey but that was cold. I had the roast beef. I asked for English mustard but...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank rhoobarb
TheStablesView, Manager at Stables View, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Firstly thank you for your feedback, from this we can learn to improve and use this valuable feedback to move forward. We are disappointed to see you will not be returning. We wish you well and hope you will forgive us one day for not...More

Reviewed 4 September 2018

We have always been treated like a VIP's when walking through the door which is lacking in alot of place these days. To be fair slightly limited menu but sometimes thats not a bad thing. The food is actually really nice and they have never...More

Date of visit: February 2018
3  Thank Martyn W
TheStablesView, Owner at Stables View, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Many thanks for your supportive comments

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

4 of us visited on Saturday night for a meal and a few drinks. Between us we had the gammon, hunters chicken and lasagne...all were really nice and the chunky chips were a big hit! Desserts were also equally nice - the restaurant has new...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank I9162LPkarend
TheStablesView, Owner at Stables View, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Many thanks for your kind supportive remarks - much appreciated

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Sad really ..... When meals ,starters, mains and desserts are already pre ordered a month in advance (including choice of sides). They should have been far more organised and prepared for a party of 20 people. But the consistency of meals being delivered to the...More

Date of visit: July 2018
4  Thank Ruth K
TheStablesView, Owner at Stables View, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Oh please !!! Old news and vindictive (event was 17 July) I have already responded to this review via Facebook and will not dignify any further commentary - rise above it and move on - I certainly have

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 18 from a Retirement Club here for the Afternoon Tea. The room was beautifully decorated and we all enjoyed the tea which was great value for money at £15 for 2 people. Can recommend it.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Cherylwelshgirl
TheStablesView, Owner at Stables View, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Many thanks Cheryl - your support is really appreciated

Reviewed 30 June 2018

Alarm bells should have rung when on booking for eight people we were asked for a deposit of £40. Before visiting we found out that the restaurant had changed hands and checked out the reviews. If it hadn't been for the fact that we had...More

Date of visit: June 2018
4  Thank bdavies20
TheStablesView, Owner at Stables View, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Firstly - deposits and pre-orders for groups in the restaurant industry is commonplace. It is a policy of the previous owner and will remain so. As for low stock - Had you provided a pre-order which no one else seems to have a problem with,...More

Reviewed 13 March 2018

We also went to the Stables View for mothers day (I think at the same time as the other reviewer) I guess I'll break down the pros and cons as far as I see them: Pros: Easy to book, food was ok at best (and...More

Date of visit: March 2018
3  Thank tomlewis
TheStablesView, Owner at Stables View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

The comments you make are valid and again I apologise for the poor experience you endured. The high chair - old dilapidated and inherited - agree that its not enough. Not quite as easy a fix as you mention. Nevertheless we need to purchase more...More

Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Stables used to be our favourite place to eat in Merthyr. I did reviewed it before and couldn’t prized it enough. Unfortunately I will have to agree with others on here that this place lost all the charm it used to have. And I’m sure...More

Date of visit: February 2018
3  Thank Gzn0303
TheStablesView, Owner at Stables View, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

This is the first time I have become aware of your inadequate experience and your concerns are duly noted and I offer my sincere apologies. Unlike some, it is comforting to note that you have take a constructive and more positive approach and I respect...More

Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

It’s with a heavy heart I write this review as this has been me and my partners favourite place to eat for many years.we had food here a few weeks ago for the first time since the former owner Declan who was always a great...More

Date of visit: February 2018
8  Thank 481michaelae
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Bessemer Hotel
168 reviews
.25 miles away
Tregenna Hotel
133 reviews
1.36 miles away
Castle Hotel
226 reviews
1.54 miles away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
414 reviews
2.00 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Lady Charlotte Restaurant
30 reviews
.20 miles away
The Morlais Tavern
18 reviews
.22 miles away
Merthyr Motor Auctions Restaurant
8 reviews
.45 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bike Park Wales
385 reviews
2.91 miles away
Bedwellty House and Park
97 reviews
4.73 miles away
Cyfarthfa Castle
347 reviews
1.47 miles away
Parc Bryn Bach
171 reviews
3.75 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
30 July 2017|
Response from TheStablesView | Property representative |
Yes, we're still open. we've been away for a few days
Rebecca J
5 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheStablesView | Property representative |
Hello, Card payments are now taken.
26 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Paulphipps1 | Reviewed this property |
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
18:00 - 22:30
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Street, Dowlais CF48 3HL, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Merthyr Tydfil  >  Dowlais
  • Phone Number: +44 1685 373281
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing