We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Pub, Bar, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (562)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
394
55
28
26
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
394
55
28
26
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews went above and beyond food was lovely lovely visit sunday carvery brilliant service couldn't do enough couldn t the pub family meal amanda crystal jac lewis veg xx dragonfly fab
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all I would like to start by saying the food we were served was excellent. However, the overall experience was shocking. Waited for at least 10 mins before anyone came to the reception. Was then placed on a table for 2 No. 18...which initially looked like a nice quiet corner. There was only 1 person sat opposite who was having a break and some food. He was an employee. Then 2 other male persons turned up to have some food and from the start were very loud. Talking about going out and getting drink on the weekend. They were on and out of the restaurant a few times and even louder when coming back in. The manager was also sat there while they continued to be loud and very noisy. I looked across a few times and they could see I was annoyed but still continued oblivious to how they were acting. Very childish behaviour ! The one male I actually caught vaping and he could see that o had seen him. Members of the public should not have been seated to where employees/staff were ! This was unacceptable and disappointing as Like I said the food was excellent but the experience not ! I will not be going there anytime soon. If there was a mystery shopper in the restaurant they would have been appalled !More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Janette H, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behaviour acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. We can ensure you that these members will be spoken to, to ensure this won’t happen again....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Undercooked fish and hardly anything in stock on the menu,won't be visiting again Food critic,asked for a pint of lemonade received a pint of fizzy water.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Gun1000, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Do apologise you felt you fish was undercooked we want to reassure you we probe eveything before it leaves our kitchen so it would have been cooked correctly, in...More

Reviewed 6 May 2024

Very slow. I had a salad, which advertised that it included quinoa and red peppers. It didn’t. The chicken and bacon were in tiny pieces and I doubt there was even 50 grams in the dish. The children did enjoy their food and it looked...well cookedMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Kathryn M, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to reach out and email us on kingbrychan.merthyrtydfil@marstons.co.uk to discuss this matter further. Many tyanj s

Reviewed 9 April 2024

Had a lovely meal here today , carvery was lovely I must say Chris & Amanda was so lovely and helpful a credit to the restaurant very good will return.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Hi J1666nqannec, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at King Brychan. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 7 April 2024

Went for a family meal with my partner and my dog and 2 kids, was there for a while everyone was lovely, but Chris was great!

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Hi Mike B, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at King Brychan. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 11 March 2024

Staff were super helpful and friendly, food was lovely , and came quickly. Will visit again. And dessert was fab ☺️☺️☺️☺️

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Hi Amy L, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at King Brychan. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 23 February 2024

Me and my partner was served by an Elyssa and somebody at carvary (they were both great, outstanding service), she gave us a card and we thought she was brilliant, super kind and understanding about our requests and our food was fab, couldn’t recommend anymore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. I will pass this review on to Elyssa, she is a new member of team so this review will make her day. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 16 February 2024

I think we were allowed to book a table under false pretences because when we arrived, despite having made an online booking, no table was available. We were then told we'd have up to 45 minutes to wait for food because "...it's half term..." and...therefore very busy. I wish the server would just acknowledge that despite there being many empty tables, the restaurant is just grossly understaffed. You should have enough staff to cook for and serve the number of tables in the venue not make people wait whilst the overworked staff struggle to get the job done. My theory is that Marston's false pretence is that they allow the customer to book, knowing that the wait will be excessive, but are gambling on the customer just saying "okay, we'll get drinks at the bar while we wait". We didn't. We left and won't be going back.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

S3788xwandrewc, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I do apologise that there was a wait when you visited and unfortunately being half term we are at a higher capacity and even though we put the extra...More

Reviewed 10 February 2024

We had the carvery which was delicious and a slice of their beautiful cake. Meghan was a lovely server she checked on us half way through and brought over some of the meat from the carvery for the dog which he was very happy about....We will definitely be coming back. Thank you so much and especially thanks to Meghan who made our experience even more enjoyable ❤️❤️ amazing value for money and amazing qualityMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Hi Hollie M, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at King Brychan. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 10 February 2024

I was served by a lady named Charlie. Very friendly good customers service. Also recommend me something lovely off the menu.. Would come again. Vicky bell

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Hi Victoria B, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at King Brychan. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 6 February 2024

Served by the lovely Amanda all spot on food great prices were very fair and service she couldn't do enough for us thank you! 😀

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 5 February 2024

Absolutely perfect - best carvery ever!! Service absolutely perfect - couldn’t ask for better!! Served by Amanda Come back at least once a week.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Angela G, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to King Brychan!

Reviewed 4 February 2024

We love coming here. The carvery is always fab and the staff are lovely! Special shoutout to Crystal who is always great with our little one! Thank you

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Hi Emma S, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at King Brychan. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 2 February 2024

A large group of us visited for a birthday gathering ,food was delicious no complaints and the staff members who dealt with us were all friendly and couldn’t do enough for us, Amanda stood out and couldn’t do enough for us.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2024

Hi Kelly J, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at King Brychan. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 28 January 2024

Lovely Carvery, tasty gravy and good portions and lovely service from Meghan at the bar - she was super friendly! Would come for Sunday dinner again

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at The King Brychan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
680 reviews
.03 miles away
Castle Hotel
258 reviews
.63 miles away
The Tiger Inn
17 reviews
.82 miles away
Tregenna Hotel
148 reviews
.87 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The New Crown
390 reviews
.41 miles away
Frankie & Benny's
497 reviews
.07 miles away
Harvester Merthyr Tydfil
992 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cyfarthfa Castle
420 reviews
.81 miles away
Redhouse
40 reviews
.67 miles away
Joseph Parry's Cottage
22 reviews
.93 miles away
Vue Merthyr Tydfil
43 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
crockettmegbrodie413
21 March 2019|
Answer
Response from kingbrychan | Property representative |
hi friend. yes we do a wide range of vegetarian and vegan options on our menu including a vegetarian option on the carvery with lots of veg to chose from
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE KING BRYCHAN, Merthyr Tydfil - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The King Brychan

Yes, The King Brychan is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The King Brychan is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5