We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$18 - US$61
CUISINES
Contemporary, European, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
186
61
26
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
186
61
26
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones finger sandwiches pudding west lodge excellent dinner special occasion booked a table sunday lunch pianist
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We organised this lunch so that we could meet with two couples who we have known for ages, one of whom celebrated his 90th birthday a short time ago. We had moved away from the area so travelled on the day from Wiltshire, selected the...West Lodge as it was mutually convenient, had been to functions here before, but never for lunch. We arrived early and had coffee. The staff were superb, extremely attentive throughout our lunch. All our dishes were beautifully presented, by friendly caring staff, the food was hot. All meals perfectly cooked. Such a good visit, all our guests appreciated the care given by the staff and loved the whole experience.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 April 2022

We feel like abandoned. Thought this kind of hotel expect at least normal service but we had to keep calling them to clear plate , askibg pudding, coffee each time. Thought this restaurant service is falling. Shocking.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
ChrisHallWLP, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Dear Heidiho26, we are very sorry if the service wasn't up to standard. We normally serve out guests to a very high standard so apologies that it seemed like it was below par on this day. I do hope you gave us the feedback on...More

Reviewed 9 April 2022

I booked a table for 3 for April 17th for Sunday lunch at £30 per head. Turned out it was Easter Sunday and they rang me 10 days before to tell me the price was now £46 per head. What are they serving at that...price? There was no reference to a 'special price' when I booked so why not honour my booking at the original price quoted on the website. They obviously decided they could earn some extra income by getting rid of a few early bookers at the standard price. 'Price gouging' I call it. Not an establishment I want to do business with - ever. Making a booking? Check that price eh!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
ChrisHallWLP, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Dear Robin C, we are sorry you felt like it was "price gouging". Every year we run a number of special events of which Easter is one of them. They are enhanced days with bespoke pricing and very well attended. Unfortunately you were able to...More

Reviewed 18 February 2022 via mobile

Wow went for afternoon tea . It was absolutely amazing 🤩 Firstly the sandwiches where not dry, moist and delicious. And the scones, not to salty or sweet.. just right.. just perfect 👍 The desserts were a little big after all the other offerings, but...taste amazing. That’s personal choice, others may feel or think otherwise. Made a point to ad who made or afternoon special… so Compliments to the chef Jada, you are a credit to the hotel xMore

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
ChrisHallWLP, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

Dear hannaha465, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are particularly pleased that one of the back of house team gets a mention. We hope to see you soon Kind regards Chris Hall

Reviewed 6 February 2022

Thank you West Lodge Park for a wonderful relaxing lunch last Friday. The restaurant team are so friendly and welcoming, and special thanks to Yianni who looked after us so well on the day. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.... steak cooked to perfection....Make sure you leave room for a dessert - the fig tart with plum ice-cream is a must!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
ChrisHallWLP, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

Dear Camper332057, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and in particular found the team friendly and welcoming. Kind regards Chris Hall General Manager

Reviewed 30 November 2021 via mobile

My family and I went for afternoon tea on Sunday. The service was bad, after they brought the tea to the table, they never came back to check if we needed anything. No refills, after complaining they brought more and had the nerve to charge...for it. Never going back.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
ChrisHallWLP, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Dear FlorenceSusan, Please accept our apologies if we didn't return to offer complimentary refills, this should be done as a standard. We only charge for refills in abnormal circumstances, however if you were charged in error we would have rectified this. Kind regards Chris Hall...More

Reviewed 28 October 2021

Went here for our wedding anniversary as we had had our wedding breakfast here & also a subsequent celebration.Good service & food fine but my wife's filet steak very chewy & definitely not worth the £30+ price.Pointed this out to the waiter & was promised...a credit on a future visit ! Otherwise good service & pleasant setting.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
ChrisHallWLP, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Dear mattflame, We are pleased that you returned for your anniversary. We have raised the issue of the beef with our supplier. We do hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Chris Hall

Reviewed 18 October 2021

We had lunch for the whole family to celebrate our 50th Anniversary. The occasion was made all the more special by 'Sophie,' our principle waitress who did everything to enhance our experience, including asking the pianist to play a request for my wife. The menu...had something for everyone and the food was fresh, well prepared, served in decent portions and above all delicious. The venue itself has a cosy country house feel. Our dining area in a side extension was roomy and private, decorated in a bright classical style. Overall ideal for a special occasion.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
ChrisHallWLP, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Dear Richard J, Thank you so much for your kind review. Its most pleasing that Sophie gets a special mention and the menu was well received. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Chris Hall General Manager

Reviewed 4 October 2021

The restaurant itself was not very busy, but there were plenty of diners (including a wedding) elsewhere. Yet the service was good and efficient. If only I could say the same about The Roast Sunday lunch. It was not only very unappetizingly presented, but also...reheated. Even the Yorkshire pudding was limp and soggy,. In other words: a beautiful hotel with lovely gardens, Pity about the food.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
ChrisHallWLP, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Dear Grandmummycal, We are glad you enjoyed most of your visit but sorry you didn't enjoy the roast. I would like just to point out that all of our roasts are cooked freshly on the day, but a certain amount of pre cooking has to...More

Reviewed 4 September 2021 via mobile

Unfortunately the cocktails al fresco evening did not meet our expectations We paid £19 per ticket which included entry and two cocktails. The cocktails were not freshly made, they were more like punch as they were pre-made, sitting in Kilner style jars and served in...ordinary tumblers. The most disappointing part of the evening was the street food offering. Each item was priced at £8 and no more than a few bites. A spoon of rice with a spoon of curry on top in a small paper bowl, a portobello mushroom in a bun, one chicken wing in a small bao bun and four thin slices of focaccia came to £40. We were still hungry afterwards.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
ChrisHallWLP, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Dear findingmywaybyfoot, Thanks for your review, we are sorry it didn't meet your expectations. It is not practical to do cocktails to order for dozens of people in a short space of time so a certain amount of pre mixing has to happen. The cocktail...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Royal Chace Hotel
775 reviews
1.95 miles away
Travelodge London Whetstone
643 reviews
2.53 miles away
Ramada by Wyndham South Mimms M25
557 reviews
3.02 miles away
Holtwhites Hotel
128 reviews
3.07 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chippers
106 reviews
.27 miles away
Ferny Hill Farm
87 reviews
.45 miles away
Afternoon Teas
7 reviews
.27 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Trent Park
284 reviews
1.32 miles away
Jacks Lake
34 reviews
1.02 miles away
Oakmere Park
5 reviews
1.88 miles away
Wildlife Rescue & Ambulance Service
5 reviews
1.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DavidfromUK1948
15 August 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Dickodemint | Reviewed this property |
I think you must have either caught Andrew Beale on a bad day or something else has happened! The hotel is first class and although they don't get everything right (do you?) in my experience and I have been to the Restaurant... More
0
Votes
Kate P
17 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Andrew B | Property representative |
Hi Kate, All the answers given above are fine, we do indeed just say Smart Casual, We had the board of M&S in recently, they were all in polo shirts and chinos, so if the dress code is good enough for them, then it is... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar

Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4