The New Turban

The New Turban

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 141 638 9635+ Add website
Hours
Sun
16:00 - 22:00
Mon
16:00 - 22:00
Tue
16:00 - 22:00
Wed
16:00 - 22:00
Thu
16:00 - 22:00
Fri
16:00 - 22:00
Sat
16:00 - 22:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
features
Does this restaurant offer free wifi?
About
The New Turban is a relaxed Indian restaurant in the heart of Glasgow’s Southside. It is well situated, close to Eastwood theatre, but also not far from the City, making this a popular, easy-going venue for both businesspeople and families, with pre- and post-theatre sittings.First opened in 1982, the restaurant was an immediate success. At that time, it was among only a handful of fine dining establishments in Glasgow, it was also one of the first to bring an authentic tandoor oven into the commercial kitchen.Now under new management, with the original family taking over, it will be celebrating its 30th anniversary! with a menu that resurrects the time it first opened. So, Whether it’s for pre-theatre or dinner, we invite you to enjoy The New Turban’s celebrated menu.
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service

Reviews

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles684 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The New Turban restaurant is celebrated for its delicious, authentic cuisine that consistently captivates diners with its freshness and variety. Guests have called out the warm and inviting atmosphere, likening it to a 'home away from home' that merges modernity with a family-friendly feel. Service at The New Turban is often described as attentive and personalized, contributing to its reputation for exceptional care. Furthermore, many patrons commend the establishment for its excellent value, providing high-quality meals and service at reasonable prices.
Food
Authentic
Atmosphere
Inviting
Service
Attentive
Value
Reasonable

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles684 reviews
Excellent
588
Very good
49
Average
18
Poor
13
Terrible
16
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Brian7392
Milngavie1295 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
It was late at night and I had not eaten so with EOTHO scheme in full flow I popped in to see if they had a spare table to calm my appetite. One chicken burryani later I was satisfied and the 50% discount was even more satisfying. Always a nice meal with good service here.
Written 8 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
newturbanteam
Dear Brian thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review. We hope to see you again.
Written 27 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Richard Scott
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Always feel really relaxed and confident that everything will be very good. Attentive service from helpful and informative waiters. They are very patient and jocular too. You can tell that everything cooked is always fresh and that the staff are determined that you really have the best experience possible.
Written 3 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
newturbanteam
Thank you for your kind review we always appreciate it whens customers provide us with positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Written 13 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bill
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 friends
Came here for the first time recently , can’t believe haven’t been as i must pass it several times in a week. The food was outstanding as were the staff . I couldn’t make my mind up and they brought a selection of food for us to try. Each dish was perfectly prepared Well done guys keep up the amazing work can’t wait to go back
Written 14 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
newturbanteam
Thank you for your kind review we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your first meal with us - we hope to see you again soon.
Written 27 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Abbie M
10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 couples
I was looking forward to a Saturday night dinner here due to the good reviews. Ordered 4 chicken tikka masalas and was given 4 chicken kormas, I wouldn’t have minded if it was tasty kormas but no it was the plainest tasting curry I’ve ever experienced. When we questioned this with the waiter he was became confrontational over it with us and walked away from our table as we were trying to talk to him about it. After this another waiter asked us if everything was okay as he could see we were unimpressed and he looked at our plates and agreed that we were given normal plain chicken instead of tikka and said we should have been asked how the food was which we weren’t. He then took our plates to the kitchen and was told by the chef that it was tikka and after this went back on what he had previously said and went along with what the chef was saying. Personally I think they looked at us as 4 young couples that wouldn’t complain and served us the cheapest chicken in a plain curry sauce. I will definitely not be back to this place. We paid £70 for a terrible meal that he apparently took 20% off of but we were still £70 for pre theatre menu. Would NOT recommend this place!!!
Written 5 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Turban Team
Dear Abbie we are very sorry to read your review. Our menu clearly states that the chicken tikka masala is cooked in a "creamy sauce" making it a mild dish. You were given a 20% discount off your bill despite all meals being fully completed. We apologised that you were disappointed with your meal selection. We note that all 4 people in your party ordered the same dish. We treat all our customers regardless of their age with the upmost respect - we explained this when a mother of one of your party later phoned us to complain on your behalf. After a difficult time for the hospitality industry following the pandemic we are trying our best to offer a quality service. We regret that on this occasion you were not satisfied. We hope you will return and try a different selection of dishes that are more to your taste. Stay safe.
Written 8 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ROSALYN B
138 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 couples
Food was excellent, but annoyed at mix up with bill. We paid cash, lesson learned pay by card next time. The waiter who had served us all night and knew what we had eaten, came running after us and said "maybe a misunderstanding but you ve not paid correct amount" while showing us someone else's bill £10 more. Isaid "that's not our bill". So he went back onto desk and returned and said "sorry". I don't if this was intended or not but not a good end to our evening.
Written 17 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Turban Team
Dear Rosalyn we are sorry that you felt the need to write about a simple human error in your review. A member of our team thought he had given you the incorrect bill. We apologise if this upset your evening in any way. It was resolved within a matter of seconds. We are glad that you enjoyed your food which you describe as "excellent" and hope to see you again.
Written 19 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

A L
Edinburgh5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 family
If I could give a zero I would. I visited here last Saturday night to get a takeaway for my family who’d come to visit me. I pre ordered my takeaway to save time. When I arrived to collect my order I was told they’d run out of lamb chops - yet they’d had them when I phoned as the girl taking the call had to go and find out their price. I was asked what I’d like instead as the rest of my order was ready!!! They then left me standing for 10 mins before taking my new order and I told them I’d want to rest of my order remade as it would be cold by the time the substitutions were ready. After another wait of 25 mins the waiter brought out half my order which they took back to sort out the rest of the order. Finally my whole order was brought out which they then tried to overcharge me by £11 and made out they were doing me a favour by charging the wrong amount!! Once home the food was cold and inedible. They lied about remaking the food. Do not waste your time here and spend your money elsewhere they are only interested in money not customer service or quality food. I will not be returning.
Written 13 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Paul
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
Small and relatively unknown curry house, this place is a must visit. It truly is the best Indian cuisine my friends and I have ever had. Starters, mains, rice and naan as well as deserts were all perfect. We wanted to try something new so asked our server for recommendations. He asked us the meats we liked as well as other dishes we were familiar with and made us recommendations based on these. Each dish we were given was just spicy enough to enjoy without too much of a kick and was something we traditionally wouldn't have given much thought to on the menu. Service was prompt and friendly, I've been a regular here for several years and I'll be back for several more!
Written 27 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

goose96
Edinburgh19 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 couples
The service was great, very attentive and quick. The starters - pakora - were very good and tasted great. One of the mains we got was chicken tikka masala which the waiter said was quite creamy, like a korma and we were happy with this as it’s like this at the restaurant we usually go to and we also like korma. When it came it tasted bland, the chicken was tasteless and it had lots and lots of nuts sprinkled over it which made the taste worse. It was so bland I didn’t eat it, it tasted like nothing at all. Very disappointing considering the description of it was great sounding on the menu.
Written 26 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

darken
Glasgow22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
My wife and I come here regularly for the pre theatre menu - wide choice and very reasonably priced. The food is delicious and this is probably our favourite Indian restaurant. The staff are extremely friendly and the service is first class. Highly recommend
Written 10 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
newturbanteam
Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. We are always delighted to hear that our customers old and new enjoy dining with us. We hope to see you and your wife back again soon.
Written 11 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lewis
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 couples
This evening I ordered a Chef’s Mixed Platter and a Peshwari naan to take away, which totalled just under £18. The photograph shows what I took out of the bag when I got home. While the staff were friendly and the service was speedy, I feel that this amount of food should cost little over half as much. The Mixed Platter was also quite dry, as if it weren’t fresh. Sorry New Turban Tandoori but I find the value for money here a real disappointment.
Written 1 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

NDubya
15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 family
Absolutely fantastic meal at New Turban, found us a table no problems although we never reserved. We opted for the pre-theatre menu which had plenty of choice. Pakora and chicken chaat for starter, amazing, sizzling and tasty. My husband had the lamb jaipuri and I had the garlic chilli chicken-faultless. The sauce was so rich and packed with flavour, delicious. The guys serving are fab, nothing was a bother for them, made us feel welcome and very friendly. Thanks for a great night, can’t wait to come back and try the rest of the menu.
Written 7 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Zanne
209 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 family
Our first visit here and I was very impressed. Firstly the staff are very pleasant and attentive. The tables were set well even the serviettes had gold ribbon on them. With a great choice of menu. The presentation of the food is brilliant well done to the kitchen staff. The meal itself was delicious, the flavours in the food were just fab, everything from start to finish was amazing. Would highly recommend and definitely go back.
Written 12 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kill0ch
Barrhead238 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 none
The food was reasonable. There are better and worse Indian restaurants in Glasgow. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here. Service was slow and waiting staff inattentive. During the two hours we were there nobody asked us if we wanted another drink. Nobody came during the starters main course to check all was well. It was busy so we waited a long time between courses. The servers spent their time talking to people at the next table as if they were the only people in the restaurant. Not a good look. It would be wrong to say that the food was disappointing. If you like a curry then you'll like their food (if you're prepared to wait a bit for it). I would go back but primarily because of its convenience rather than its food and especially not its service. Maybe we just got the servers on a bad night but as I said other than serving our food staff paid no attention to us.
Written 28 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

weealig
Glasgow28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
Surely this is easily the best Indian in Glasgow! The welcome received and friendliness of the waiters is simply 1st class and would be worth the visit for this, even if the food wasn’t as exceptionally good. Special mention to Amar who goes out his way to take that service to another level altogether, he really does spoil us and makes us feel like VIPs every time. Looking forward to our next visit already!
Written 22 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
newturbanteam
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review. We are always delighted to hear that our customers have enjoyed their evening with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Written 24 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alison C
Paphos62 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
The best curry I’ve ever had. My kids and I also live the fish pakora and my son states it’s the best garlic naan he has ever had. Can not fault this place for food. The staff are very attentive and cheerful. The restaurant has a lovely feel about it. It’s definitely a go to for excellent Indian cuisine x
Written 2 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
newturbanteam
Dear "Y6338QBalisonc" thank you very much for taking the time to write us a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us and that your children enjoyed their food too! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Written 3 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 680
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Turban Tandoori
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Balti
Banco Glasgow
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, European
Mount Cafe
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Nepalese
The Boathouse
££ - £££ · Cafe, British, Scottish
Pane e Vino
££ - £££ · Italian, Cafe
Tofu Oriental
££ - £££ · Chinese, Asian
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE NEW TURBAN, Giffnock - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire