We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cock Inn

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$17
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
17
11
0
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
17
11
0
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pastry burger salad new chef traditional pub pubs crispy chips
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2019

only open due to lack of competition and the red nosed regulars, there are so many other nice pubs around it isn't worth a visit, the staff act as if you are putting them out by wanting to spend money, the beer is not chilled...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank nigelpierson
Reviewed 23 December 2018

I visited this pub with some friends to have dinner in the restaurant. It was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent- we had a three course Christmas meal.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Cottontown
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Visited on Wednesday evening and sampled the new Italian menu. The food was fantastic, the portions were large. My wife and I had starters and then both of us couldn't finish all of the mains. The quality of the food was very good. We would...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank KeithB2133
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We visited The Cock Inn twice during our 2 day stay in Gamlingay. We had chuckled at some of the reviews about the grumpy lady behind the bar and were keen to go and find out how grumpy she actually was!!!! We were almost disappointed...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Tracy V
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

I’m born and bred Gamlingay but haven’t lived here for over 20 years so am no way classed as a local. My husband and I always pop in for a drink when visiting family. It’s a lovely local pub and the staff have always been...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank JaGee
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped for a drink with my family in the pub garden. At the bar I was ignored several times, by a grumpy looking women, who seemed to serve every local, before addressing me. Didn’t feel welcome, she snapped at me “what do you want”. In...More

Date of visit: April 2018
5  Thank MaxSimpson95
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Visiting Cambridge for the first time we were struggling to find a traditional pub open for lunch near to where we were staying (Little Gransden). After 4 attempts (all others closed for lunch!!) we found The Cock Inn and it looked perfect. It’s a lovely...More

Date of visit: December 2017
3  Thank Trevor H
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We are looking to move into Gamlingay and have visited the village several times. We have visited the Cock before for a drink, and it looks like a good local, so this time we made sure we visited at lunch time. It was nice to...More

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank Curious803001
thecockerel, Owner at The Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments I am so pleased you enjoyed your meals and look forward to seeing you on a regular basis

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely pub in the heart of the Gamlingay village - with so much potential but unfortunately the landlady is so unfriendly and comes across rude. She appears move friendly with the locals though! I observed her today to be stressed as she...More

Date of visit: August 2017
3  Thank BraddersCambridge
thecockerel, Owner at The Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Bradders you are right it was very stressful realising at opening time that I was going to be doing the whole shift by myself as the staff had phoned in sick on the busiest day of the week, Sunday. The sun was shining it was...More

Reviewed 21 December 2016

We had been told that Sunday Lunch was very popular at The Cock and it was advisable to book. We did but there was no need as there was only one other table occupied. Three of us ordered roast which was mediocre and the fourth...More

Date of visit: October 2016
4  Thank LocalGC
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Days Inn Sandy
346 reviews
5.00 miles away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
215 reviews
5.25 miles away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
3,749 reviews
5.36 miles away
Premier Inn St. Neots (Colmworth Park) Hotel
445 reviews
5.52 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 4 nearby restaurants
Jannah Indian Restaurant
93 reviews
.07 miles away
The Coach House
267 reviews
2.14 miles away
The Chequers Pub
14 reviews
2.77 miles away
Woodview Farm Shop & Cafe
63 reviews
.84 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
The Wheatsheaf Gamlingay
11 reviews
.15 miles away
Cambridge Gliding Centre
11 reviews
3.36 miles away
Jungle Jim's Playland Ltd
87 reviews
4.08 miles away
RSPB The Lodge Nature Reserve
111 reviews
3.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Cock Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing