We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jolly Thresher

££ - £££, British,
229 Higher Lane | Broomedge, Lymm WA13 0RN, England
+44 1925 752265
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good23%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fajitas” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
229 Higher Lane | Broomedge, Lymm WA13 0RN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Visited the Jolly Thresher for Sunday Lunch...never again. We ordered a drink at the bar. The barman, before serving our drinks said in an aggressive manner "if you want food it's an hour wait". We thought ok, we are prepared to wait. We were told...More

1  Thank bezzer2014
Roy W, Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi bezzer2014, I'm sorry to hear that you weren't happy with our service. However I am unsure as to when you experienced this, as recently we have not had the need to put a wait on food. Please contact us at sayhello@jollythresher.co.uk or 01925 752265...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went for an evening meal with my family a few months back. The food was wholesome and tasty, the ambience was warm and friendly and the service attentive and helpful.

Thank chadonchoudhury
Roy W, Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi chadonchoudhury, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we shall see you again soon! Kind regards, Roy & team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful meal here with friends, to start we shared some delicious sticky pork and sage sausage, crispy haloumi with sweet chilli and deep fried potatoes skins, washed down with a couple of bottles of nicely chilled prosecco served in ice buckets (nice touch)....More

Thank tourguidebarbie8
Roy W, Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi tourguidebarbie8, We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your experience here at The Jolly Thresher! Our team work hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience, therefore your kind words are very rewarding. We hope to see you again soon! From...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As soon as we walked through the door we were instantly greeted with a warm smile and lovely staff members. We were immediately showed to our table where they told us all the specials that were on that day and asked if we would like...More

Thank Conor S
Roy W, Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Conor, Thank you very much for such a kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your evening and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Victoria.

A TripAdvisor Member
1915
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came today for first time in while started off getting wrong food they said my husband could have extra roast potatoes as wasnt having veg or mash but he got same amount as me i asked what was on sunday lunch was told mash but...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Roy W, Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, We apologise that you have left feeling disappointed from your visit yesterday. I have spoken to the members of staff, and I think its down to miscommunication when ordering the food. The team here are praised countlessly for their hard work and professional...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good space for a large family, nice food, puddings very good, served by Good Good space for a large family, nice food, puddings very good, served by Niamh

Thank Harry R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Passing the Jolly Thresher on Saturday 26th August about 2.30pm on the way to pick up a friend to go out for a late lunch I was sat in a line of traffic at the lights adjacent to the pub when I noticed a blackboard...More

Thank DianneGina
Roy W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There Dianne Gina I apologise that you believe you were mislead about our Fixed Price Lunch Menu but there are at least 4 boards in and around the pub that advertises the fact that it is Monday - Friday 12pm - 5pm. My team...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have frequented this pub for many years. The food quality goes up and down. We haven't been there for a couple of years. The staff are very nice. It is so very obvious to me what is being served isn't made on the premises....More

Thank TheFlyingFrock
Roy W, Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi The Flying Frock, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your last visit and will not be visiting us again however, I can assure you that ALL of our dishes are homemade as we are a fresh food Hydes Pub and we take pride in...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice Terrence area good food no play area for children there is grass area if you bring a ball.Professional staff enjoyed the evening

Thank NannaJan13
Roy W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi There NannaJan Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and the lovely garden that we have. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards Roy & Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I had heard pretty good things about The Jolly Thresher but unfortunately, our dining experience was largely underwhelming. We elected to sample the lunch menu, and the waitress was initially attentive and prompt in taking our order. Sadly, the food was distinctly...More

Thank kirstywoodhouse
Roy W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kirstywoodhouse, Thank you for your review. Firstly, I would like to apologise about the quality of food you feel you received, this is not our usual high standards! I have consulted the chefs regarding the food issues, the ham was infact blitzed up within...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
High Legh Sunday Tea
11 reviews
.03 miles away
the barn owl inn
246 reviews
.75 miles away
The Wheatsheaf
92 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lymm Dam
189 reviews
.66 miles away
Battlefield Live Knutsford
87 reviews
1.25 miles away
Stockley Farm Birds of Prey Centre
284 reviews
3.17 miles away
The. Brewery Tap
61 reviews
1.63 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jillian M
25 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Jill R | Reviewed this property |
Yes it's very dog friendly
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 229 Higher Lane | Broomedge, Lymm WA13 0RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Lymm
  • Phone Number: +44 1925 752265
  • E-mail
Description
The Jolly ThresherCelebrating Fine Food , Wine and Ale The Jolly Thresher is a charming and attractive country pub of great character. As soon as you step across the threshold you’ll notice that the interior is warm and inviting and features sumptuous and stylish furniture with rustic finishes and open fireplaces throughout - The perfect haven for relaxed drinking and dining .You’ll find the atmosphere friendly, welcoming and pleasantly informal and we invite you to join us to enjoy a great range of draught and bottled beers, some terrific cask ales from our well stocked cellar, all suitably complemented by a lovely selection of wines and some caringly prepared Cocktails.Our freshly prepared menu features a mix of popular traditional British dishes alongside some modern European ideas using the best quality meats, seafood as well as some local produce.It’s been designed to offer a range of great pub food to suit your mood with large and small portions available on many dishes.Much of the restaurant overlooks a most attractive Garden and patio where you can enjoy alfresco dining in the warm Cheshire sunshine. This area can divided into private dining spaces and we can help you arrange your very own celebration, whether it’s an anniversary lunch, an evening birthday bash, a cosy family gathering we’ll be happy to look after your every need.The Jolly Thresher is easily accessible from all parts of north Cheshire and the towns of Altrincham and Warrington. You can us find on the A not far from the M56 / M6 intersection.With such ease of access, a large car park, complimentary Wi fi the Jolly Thresher is an ideal venue for you to meet with work colleagues or perhaps hold an informal meeting whilst enjoying freshly brewed coffee , maybe a bite of breakfast or brunch or indulging in one of our very special afternoon teas.Whatever the occasion come and join us at the Jolly Thresher, we think you‘ll like us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing