We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ferry Boat

4 High Street, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1AZ, England
+44 1522 790794
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good24%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (8 reviews)
“burger” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
4 High Street, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1AZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Been using the Ferry Boat for a good while now. We call in lunchtimes and in and out for Sunday Roast. NEVER once have we been let down. Piping hot, tasty and good prices with excellent service always with a smile; though looking around at...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mike J
Reviewed 3 days ago

The food was cooked ok ,but was very disappointed with the amount on the plate ,(very small portion ) my husband asked for his steak well done but it came medium ,we ordered puddings ,ice cream was missing ,staff are very friendly ,but not helpful...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank WISEOWL1234
FerryBoatLincoln, General Manager at The Ferry Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good Afternoon, I am so sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience with us. I do wish that you had raised these issues when i spoke to you on the evening, as I was under the impression that you had all thoroughly...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

The Food was OK but the portions small. There was 4 in our party.Two of us had Festive meal.When our meal arrived, we thought the vegetables was coming seperate, but then realised the vegetables was on the plate.3 sprouts,3 parsnips, 3 slices of carrot, 3...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank gerryjan
FerryBoatLincoln, General Manager at The Ferry Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good Afternoon, It truly saddens me to hear that you had a less than perfect experience with us. The Turkey is designed as part of a 3 course meal, which is why we don't normally offer it as a solo main. I do hope that...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

I held my husbands wake here paid for a buffet for 50 people but the food was only for 30 tea /coffee was put out 3 teapots / caffate feeling ripped off the manager at this pub cannot cope if she knew this she should...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank lavinalincolnuk
FerryBoatLincoln, General Manager at The Ferry Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good Afternoon, I am very sorry t hear about your experience with us. I have emailed you regarding this. Kind Regards, Rosie

Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend took us to this place, all of us had a really great time , had a couple of rounds, played pool, grabbed a few snacks.had a great time, Good place for a small get together with friends.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank AshimR_11
FerryBoatLincoln, General Manager at The Ferry Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for leaving us this lovely review. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Rosie

Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived ,shown to the table,ordered and the food arrived Enjoyed our main course though our friends told the Waitress that the pies were Very well done and hard to cut. Told that she would talk to the chef. got no feed back. We finished...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Tillmanlincoln
FerryBoatLincoln, General Manager at The Ferry Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good Afternoon, I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience with us. In regards to the pies I have raised this issue with the kitchen and they are addressing it. Regarding the service, this is always something we are working to improve and i...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After our daughter moved into the area, the ferry boat was a must on our trips up to visit them(good food and great atmosphere).So we decided to move to into Washingborough to be near our daughter( and in what we believed was a thriving village)...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Vouvant
FerryBoatLincoln, General Manager at The Ferry Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good Afternoon, I am so sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect experience with us. It saddens me that you could not have raised this issue with me before leaving. Regarding the fire... this is purely due to health and safety as...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed with meal and service. Pie was so over cooked had to use my fingers as knife couldn’t cope. Did tell the waitress , she wasn’t bothered. Like veg al dente however carrots were very under cooked. Waited 30 minutes for our plates to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
4  Thank Teresa I
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

New manager was very rude and abrupt! Shall not be visiting again. No wonder the place is empty. Such a shame because it was a lovely pub with a lovely atmosphere.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank G6216
Reviewed 7 November 2018

The Ferry Boat is a traditional pub that offers food and is obviously very popular. We had reserved our table and were shown to it by the friendly professional server. Initially the pub was deserted but within 15 minutes of our arrival it was packed....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Bob H
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
919 reviews
.11 miles away
Branston Hall Hotel
1,228 reviews
2.09 miles away
Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel
1,117 reviews
2.18 miles away
Hillcrest
178 reviews
2.24 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Dining Room Restaurant at Washingborough Hall Hotel
228 reviews
.10 miles away
Washingborough Village Cafe
16 reviews
.35 miles away
Spring Chinese Take Away
17 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Holly Tree Soft Play
48 reviews
1.45 miles away
Lincoln Cathedral
5,429 reviews
1.47 miles away
Simpsons Boutique Spa at Branston Hall
5 reviews
1.18 miles away
International Bomber Command Centre
327 reviews
2.24 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ferry Boat staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 High Street, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1AZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Lincoln  >  Washingborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1522 790794
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing