We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
£12 - £30
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (184)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
102
33
18
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
102
33
18
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuna nicoise sunday roast dinner fish and chips pudding beef ribs sandwich the pub on tap at lunchtime have eaten here friendly atmosphere booked a table rebellion marlow lucy
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I last wrote a review here for the Kings Head in January 2019, and have been back on infrequent occasions since then. I am happy to report that it is as good as ever, with friendly and efficient service, and that it met with full...approval of the three friends to whom I introduced it this week as a lunch venue. I shall contiunue to go there with pleasure!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Info Kingshead, General Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are glad our service and food met your expected standards and can't wait to welcome you all back through the door (hopefully a bit sooner this time!). Kind regards, Matt, Joel and Luiza

Reviewed 15 January 2024 via mobile

Visited with my partner for a roast dinner during Winter. Really sweet cosy pub, low ceilings with wooden beams and a real fire burning. Service was really good, and the roast dinner was fantastic! Perfect pink beef and (I can’t believe I’m writing this) the...sprouts were my favourite part of the meal! Great chef :-) Would recommend to everyone.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Info Kingshead, General Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words, we are happy you and your partner enjoyed your visit. Glad you enjoyed your roast including the controversial green part! Kind regards, Matt, Joel and Luiza

Reviewed 27 October 2023 via mobile

Staying for weekend visiting family and came across this gem Amazing food including the homemade pie and very welcoming owners … Thank you to all staff made us feel so welcomeMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Info Kingshead, General Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We love to make a visit to our pub a great experience from start to finish and it's great to receive recognition for that. We hope to see you and your family again soon. Many thanks, Matt...More

Reviewed 22 October 2023 via mobile

Went for a family roast, for £19.95 was expecting good things but was very disappointed. Quality of beef and gammon was very average, yorkshire puddings inedible and cauliflower cheese never arrived! Never asked how was meal or offer of more drinks despite 5 empty glassesMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Info Kingshead, General Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. In the past few weeks we have been monitoring the quality of our roasts and have received almost no...More

Reviewed 12 October 2023

A group of us booked for lunch after a walk nearby. We had been asked to pre-order and as some members had dietary requirements these were confirmed again when we arrived; Joel going the extra mile by offering a few changes to make sure everyone...was happy which was much appreciated. We enjoyed our meals and although too full to manage desserts settled for coffees to finish off a relaxing lunch. A good experience and thanks to Joel and his small team for looking after us so well.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Info Kingshead, General Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2023

We are so pleased to here you enjoyed your visit to The Kings Head. Thank you for the lovely feedback and we’re looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you Matt & The Kings Head Team

Reviewed 12 October 2023

We used the Garden Room at the Kings Head for my Mum’s Wake. Joel and all of the staff were very helpful and attentive, polite and empathetic . Nothing was too much trouble, they provided a great spread of food for our Family and friends....They went the Extra Mile for us , even helping by placing around some of my Mums paintings . We could clearly see the staff were trying their best to help us. The garden room at the Kings Head is a super venue for this kind of thing but would definitely benefit from a redecoration. There is ample parking and a safe garden and outside covered area. The pub has the traditional quaint old pub feel about it, which adds to the atmosphere. We need these kind of venues, as so many are closing down.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Info Kingshead, General Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2023

We are so glad that you had a wonderful time with us. It is great to here that our team could go above and beyond your expectations. Thank you for all the lovely feedback and we hope to be of service to you again in...More

Reviewed 27 September 2023

Every time , someone went into or out of the kitchen BANG went the door. We complained, and was told they new about it …it ruined our meal…how about trying foam round the door, or slow release door.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Info Kingshead, General Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2023

Hi Carole, I do apologise for your experience with us in regards to the kitchen door, we have now rectified this by swapping out the hinges, as much as we appreciate your suggestions, unfortunately neither would be suitable for a fire door due to fire...More

Reviewed 18 August 2023

We had an excellent family meal out at the Kings Head again. The staff are friendly and courteous and the service very prompt. Lemon curd creme Brûlée was delicious! Thank you.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023

Having lived in Marlow and now Bourne end... We've never been to the Kings Head! Sunday lunch outside, roast beef with a lot of veg was grand. Madame had the halloumi burger and fries. Both lovely. Staff were just a bit under experienced but nice

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2023

Not sure the outside covered eating area would pass many inspections, the floor was covered in debris and litter, and goodness knows when the floor had last been swept. Chairs seemed to be everywhere and empty tables remained joined together and abandoned from previous use....Pretty untidy, given the limited number of customers when we visited, just a little l surprised such has not been attended to. The far end seemed to be set aside as an open storage area. A complete departure from how we found this eating area when we ate this Pub this time last year, a great pity.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Info Kingshead, General Manager at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

Hi Nick, I am sorry to hear about this poor experience you've had in our establishment. We will certainly work on rectifying this issue and try to sweep the patio as often as its needed, as well as this we will also reiterate to all...More

Reviewed 1 May 2023 via mobile

Best Sunday roast dinner I’ve had in a while. Beef was exceptional as was the light fluffy Yorkshire. Staff were helpful and polite.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023

All the ambience of a classic English pub with oak beams.. The staff were bright, efficient and enthusiastic. But, I stressed a pot of hot tea - warmed pot, water just off boiling - I did not get one. The fish was decent but probably...needed another couple of minutes. The chunky chips were small, having been cut from small potatoes, and were neither crisp nor succulent. On my list to go again, but not soon.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2023 via mobile

I have visited many times before and had a lovely meal with great service, always a bit pricey though. However, I have not been in to eat since last summer. I booked a table for me and a friend, we arrived on time, the pub...was almost empty so we had a choice of seats. We were offered drinks and the menu. We ordered starters and mains which took awhile to arrive considering we were the only people eating. The food was fine, we weren’t offered any condiments etc. We finished our main around 8:30 bearing in mind we booked so they were aware we would be eating, were told we couldn’t order a dessert as the chef had gone home! But they had “kindly” left the tea an coffee machine on for us. I’m aware that they close early but we couldn’t have eaten ore meals any quicker. So we had a rushed tea as it was very obvious that we needed to leave as the chap behind the bar wheeled out the floor mop and used a very strong smelling disinfectant. Nothing like feeling welcome! Thought we’d give this local pub ago, but there are certainly more welcoming better value pubs nearby.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2023

Nice small pub, food and service was good however we were in the outside dining area. The door to this doesn't shut so extremely cold draft kept coming through for the whole meal with staff coming in and out leaving the door open. Would have...stayed for pudding but it was just too cold.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2022 via mobile

We had a family Christmas get together for 12 at The Kings Head. We have had a few gatherings here over the years. The food was very good, with very generous portions. The staff were very attentive & we were not rushed through our courses...for the space. I highly recommend this pub . Thank you Matthew & staff. We will be backMore

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Crowne Plaza Marlow, an IHG Hotel
773 reviews
1.09 miles away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3,234 reviews
1.83 miles away
Hampton by Hilton High Wycombe
403 reviews
2.17 miles away
CIM Business Centre
202 reviews
2.26 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Queens Head
387 reviews
.12 miles away
The Black Lion
84 reviews
.97 miles away
Hillier
32 reviews
.54 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Emmett & Stone Country Sports
7 reviews
.04 miles away
Rebellion Beer Co. Ltd.
358 reviews
1.13 miles away
Keg Craft Beer
53 reviews
1.28 miles away
Bourne End Auction Rooms
5 reviews
1.50 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
shehickmott
11 February 2020|
Answer
Response from Tony19767 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they have a small car park at the front but a large one to the side when we visited was busy but still managed to park ok
0
Votes
Retiredbucks
4 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mocampion | Reviewed this property |
When I went there a few weeks ago, there seemed to be a lunchtime menu - some of the starters were also suitable as a lunch. For example, my friend had a baked camembert and some of us shared a seafood platter as a starter... More
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE KINGS HEAD, Little Marlow - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Kings Head

The Kings Head is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4