We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonehouse Inn by the Sea

Is this your business?
177 Portsmouth Road, Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport PO13 9AD, England
+44 23 9255 0303
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good27%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (19 reviews)
“roast dinner” (11 reviews)
Opens in 7 min
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
177 Portsmouth Road, Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport PO13 9AD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came out for my Nan’s Birthday on Sunday with the family. Let’s start with the Staff/Service... The staff were in no way attentive to our needs. Plates were not taken away between meals, staff waited until our desserts had arrived to clear our mains...More

1  Thank Rhiaa F
General Manager A, Manager at Stonehouse Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Really sorry to see that you were more than disappointed on your visit with us. Although at times it may look like we have lots of empty tables, they are however ready for our pre-booked guests. I apologise if you were mislead in any way...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So We've just our first visit to the inn by the sea, safe to say it will also be our last! To start with some form of positive- the pub itself was beautiful, looks welcoming from the outside and the interior and play area are...More

Thank Nick M
General Manager A, Manager at Stonehouse Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Sorry to read all your comments. I can see you didn't enjoy your experience with us. I do wish you had brought this to our attention at the time as we could've addressed and taken action at the time with the team members you've mentioned....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there early and the regular chef was off sick, yet everything was cooked well and ready for us to get stuck in. when you pay for breakfast you are asked if you want tea or coffee and if you want mushrooms, which are...More

Thank David P
General Manager A, Manager at Stonehouse Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you David for your lovely comments and positive feedback. Great to see you've enjoyed our offer twice this week. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I guess to shocking state of the Beer Garden should have given us a clue about the lack of care in the catering! The garden had long grass with Dandelions and daisies in abundance- and a generally scruffy outlook with crisp packets and litter scattered...More

Thank peterscarff
General Manager A, Manager at Stonehouse Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your constructive criticism. The points you have raised will looked into and addressed accordingly.

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Visited at 10.45 am Saturday for buffet breakfast. The buffet looked poor, couple of broken pieces of fried bread, some bacon swishing around in fat, no beans, no hash browns, dried up fried eggs. I politely complained and asked for some fresh fried eggs. A...More

Thank johnbird50
General Manager A, Manager at Stonehouse Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Really sorry to see you didn't enjoy your breakfast with us on this very busy morning. I'm pleased to see you've found an alternative venue to enjoy future breakfasts.

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

My partner and I looked forward to this new Pizza/Carvery restaurant. It was chaos from almost the start. We accepted the new concept of being given a hand held device to advise when to pick up our pizza. The pizzas were both lovely, so obviously...More

Thank Arabella914
General Manager A, Manager at Stonehouse Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Really sorry to see you left disappointed. We can't always judge how busy we are going to be and on this occasion, a typical quiet Monday was not the case. I apologise for the long wait for the puddings but I appreciate your lovely comments...More

Reviewed 19 March 2018

starters really good and then sunday roast really enjoyed this meal son had the burger really good meal and friendly staff

Thank PhilWard
General Manager A, Manager at Stonehouse Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you PhilWard for taking the time to leave your review. Really pleased to see you and your family enjoyed your meal with us. Hope to welcome you all again soon.

Reviewed 5 March 2018

Disappointing breakfast meal here. Given a ticket to get some cooked mushrooms. Bacon and eggs congealed. Then they ran out of coffee. Not impressed!

Thank Robert L
General Manager A, Manager at Stonehouse Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Sorry to see you left disappointed after your recent breakfast with us Robert. Getting a ticket for your mushrooms is correct. I will look into the other comments made.

Reviewed 4 March 2018

Visit by about 15 of us after a funeral the pub was cold with only one radiator working and a lot of cobwebs around lights and fittings , the toilet was dirty with no paper ...The carvey was nice but some of the food was...More

Thank HAYDN M
General Manager A, Manager at Stonehouse Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Really sorry about the heating on your visit. We had a few teething issues with the timer which we have rectified. The serving tools are usually changed frequently. I'm sorry if this wasn't the case on your visit. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

We call here often and participate in the carvery which we enjoy very much my only complaint would be the veg which we find at times is totally under cooked and impossible to eat, also the cauliflower cheese sauce is lacking. Apart from that the...More

Thank 363clivec
General Manager A, Manager at Stonehouse Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for your review. On your next visit, ask the team to steam you off some veg for longer. We will gladly do this for you. Hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Lee-on-the-Solent Hotels
The Old Lodge Hotel
274 reviews
2.04 miles away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
535 reviews
2.08 miles away
The Anglesey Hotel
263 reviews
2.36 miles away
The George Hotel
439 reviews
3.92 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Tea Party
299 reviews
.61 miles away
kestrel's tea and cakery
65 reviews
.05 miles away
The Tea Room
355 reviews
.66 miles away
Sapori Italian Restaurant
371 reviews
.55 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lee On Solent Beach
272 reviews
.19 miles away
The Crofton Pub
32 reviews
2.10 miles away
Titchfield Haven National Nature Reserve
210 reviews
2.15 miles away
The Hovercraft Museum
99 reviews
1.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Debbs B
4 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Alien1944 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry but I do not know if they are dog friendly maybe if you gave them a ring you could ask .
0
Votes
kaztigger
1 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Susan W | Reviewed this property |
The day I went in they had lasagne and some pie. I wanted a carvery but there was no veg option. You paid 1.00 less but got just veg and gravy. They expect you to buy a vegetarian meal and carvery as well. I didn't fancy... More
0
Votes
rosemary m
13 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Davyboy44 | Reviewed this property |
I'm afraid I have no idea, we only go for the carvery, our grandson often has fish if that's any help.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 177 Portsmouth Road, Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport PO13 9AD, England (Formerly Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Gosport  >  Lee-on-the-Solent
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9255 0303
Description
Whether you’re up for a party, watching sport or meeting with friends and family for a bite to eat, the The Inn by the Sea in Lee On The Solent is the place to relax and unwind. We’ve something for all the family – from our freshly carved, slow cooked roasts exactly how you like them, tasty pub food classics such as hand battered fish and steak and ale pie – all available on any day of the week. What’s more, every day we make our own fresh dough so you can tuck into freshly made stone baked pizzas and garlic bread. Or, we have a range of burgers and vegetarian dishes – and all main courses come with unlimited veg, salad and sides. With every plateful offering cracking value, it's no wonder locals in and around Gosport, Fareham and Hill Head can't get enough.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;