We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Horse Inn Restaurant

7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
+44 1609 749010
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2018

4 of us pre-booked for a family meal and were not disappointed. All the food was nicely prepared and arrived in a timely fashion and cooked well. The staff were friendly and attentive but not too much in your face. Prices were fair for this...More

Thank p10bla
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Great to hear your feedback. So pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. The Black Horse is a great little destination and is very well supported by our locals which ensures we always offer a lively atmosphere (even if it is rather nosiey sometimes). Hope...More

Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Black Horse for lunch the interior is lovely and the fire made it warm and welcoming. We had family staying here and even though we live locally we hadn’t tried it before following their huge breakfast our family...More

Thank Kidda2014
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Many thanks for following the advice of your family. It was great to welcome you to the Black Horse and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Perfect in every way...food excellent as was service...ambience just right.... reasonably priced too....can't wait to go back ❤More

Thank maryrob61
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

So glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. The new team in the kitchen are a great asset to the Black Horse and it is fantastic to receive glowing reports like yours. I am a real pasta lover and we have started a...More

Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

We have been in the restaurant now a few time . Never been disappointed. The food is excellent. The staff are fantastic. Nothing is to much trouble for them . Great atmosphere in the bar.

Thank Frank H
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Oh many thanks for your lovely feedback.

Reviewed 21 January 2018

We cannot stop going here! Lovely pub, lovely food - dine in the pub or the up market dining room - pet friendly pub - garden area - large car park - it just has everything.More

Thank Tictacman
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Please do not stop coming. We have a very exciting new team in the kitchen. Come and try pasta night on a Thursday night. £10 for a bowl of pasta, glass of wine and garlic bread. I had the king prawn and chorizo past last...More

Reviewed 2 January 2018

A wet and dreary day in that period between Christmas and New Year - a walk along the coast lost its appeal and the warmth of a local hostelry called. We met up with friends to enjoy a change from the Christmas food fest. The...More

Thank juliegoult
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Glad your walk was cancelled and you had a great experience here at the Black Horse. I shall share your feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Local produce offered ie pheasant which was delicious. Mains portion size is quite small..........allowing for puddings! Well worth a visit.

Thank lalderson29
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. I have shared this with the kitchen team and they have taken it on board. We are surrounded by local shoots so have a ready supply of local pheasants. Glad you enjoyed them.

Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely evening at The Black Horse tonight. I had a really delicious fish pie - absolutely perfect with a Wensleydale crust. Really tasty and filling and very reasonably priced. The menu said it came with king prawns and mussels so I expected them to be...More

Thank EllieBu29
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Many thanks for your constructive feedback. Customer service is a moveable feast so to speak and we are all constantly learning.Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 22 November 2017

We had booked a 2 night break Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th Nov to take my Mother-in-law away for a break to relax as a birthday treat. We arrived approx 4pm on the Saturday and got booked in and then went straight to the bar...More

Thank Fraser66
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Black Horse is a great place to come for a weekend break. We put our Christms decorations up yesterday and it is looking magical.

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We visited on Saturday lunchtime with our dog. I called to book and asked if I could use my Tastecard (I have previously used it on a Saturday) the young lady who answered said she wasn't sure so to check when we arrived. Which was...More

Thank Terry S
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

What a lovely review to read both for the trip advisor world and for the hotel management team. We take immense pride in ensuring our guests satisfaction and it is always very rewarding to receive feedback. Do hope you manage to come back and see...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Kirkby Fleetham Hotels
Lodge At Leeming Bar
139 reviews
3.24 miles away
Bridge House Hotel
38 reviews
4.55 miles away
Allerton Court Hotel
348 reviews
4.96 miles away
Golden Lion Hotel
339 reviews
5.34 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Coore Arms
285 reviews
1.79 miles away
Tor's Cafe
31 reviews
2.82 miles away
Catterick Village Fisheries
61 reviews
3.37 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kiplin Hall
181 reviews
1.92 miles away
Wensleydale Railway
214 reviews
2.78 miles away
Catterick Racecourse
107 reviews
4.50 miles away
River Mountain Experience
12 reviews
2.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Black Horse Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$50
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts American Express, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Home Style
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Kirkby Fleetham
  • Phone Number: +44 1609 749010
  • E-mail
Description
The Black Horse Inn is a Beautiful, Charming Village Inn with Five Star Bedrooms and a Two AA Rosette Restaurant in Kirkby Fleetham in the Hambleton District of North Yorkshire, which resides between the North York Moors & Yorkshire Dales National Parks. Offering Seven En-Suite Rooms with Flat-Screen TV's, Regional Real Ales and Modern British Food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing