We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Horse Inn Restaurant

7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
+44 1609 749010
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

Booked over the phone for a Friday evening after asking if Tastecard was accepted. On arrival shown to a lovely presented room and table. Disappointgly presented with a single page menu which didnt seem very professional We were not provided with bread as other tables...More

Thank graham100percent
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Due to a domestic situation we were forced to reduce our main menu on Friday night hence the printed single page. We will re brief all staff about Taste Card avialability Monday to Thursday

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Had two coarse lunch for ten pounds, prawn cocktail with homemade served bread and fish pie for my main dish both presented well and tasted superb washed down with lime and soda. Didn't have evening meal as had eaten with family but the food coming...More

Thank Andrew F
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your great feedback.

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Three excellent courses, four very satisfied diners with super service a great atmosphere followed by a reasonable bill. What more did we need? Absolutely nothing. 5 stars.More

Thank J M S
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Our Sunday lunch is incredible value at £18.95 for three courses. We vary the menu each week to tempt our regulars back. The fire is now on and we are an ideal location for a cold and windy Sunday afternoon. Hope to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017

We were made to feel very welcome in the restaurant and both of us thought that the food was well-cooked, in good-sized portions and a very reasonable price indeed. Service was attentive throughout and we would certainly return.

Thank Pengowls1
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Many thanks for your great feedback. It is much apprecaited.

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Have visited here several times but this time was not as good. Shown to table straightaway but no drinks order taken. Meal order taken with no acknowledgement of a request for one dish to be made spicier. Up to the chef apparently. Food good, no...More

Thank merecatjack
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Here at the Black Horse we strive to get it right and on this occasion we have clearly got it wrong. We are glad that you enjoyed the food but are obviously disappointed that the service you recieved was not first class. I will pass...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We visited the Black Horse for dinner and were not disappointed. I chose the tempura prawns followed by the fish pie and both were delicious. The fish pie particularly deserves praise with the side serving of mussels and samphire. Service by the staff was attentive...More

Thank Anon090
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thrilled you enjoyed your evening meal with us. Our fish pie is incredibly popular. We so look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 9 September 2017

Excellent food, I had pea and courgette soup, and chicken pie with roasted carrots and mash. My friend had toasted camembert cheese with salad. then fabulous fish and chips. great value and lovely staff.

Thank RendalSouthTyneside
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Great review. Our fish and chips are very specail.....its the homemade tartare sauce that clinches it every time.

Reviewed 24 August 2017

The food here was not upto expectations,especially the fish and chips which I expected to be really fresh.The fish tasted like it was frozen and it was extremely thin. Shall not be returningMore

Thank Bill1342
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for this feedback. We have clearly not lived up to your expections on your visit here to the Black Horse. However we do use fresh fish which is delievered everyday to us from Hodgsons Fish Mongers from Hartlepool. If there is anythig you...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We have been to the Black Horse several times and have never been disappointed. The lunch time menu of two courses for £10 is such good value and I would particularly recommend seafood linguine and chocolate pave. Delicious!

Thank Carol F
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

So pleased you enjoyed our Market Menu. It is seriously good value for money and proving very popular

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Booked a table by telephone mentioning the Taste Card a few days in advance. We were greeted and shown to our table by a pleasant gentleman. Drinks order was taken whilst we studied the menu. We didn't have starters but some nice bread arrived. I...More

Thank merecatjack
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

So glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We have recently joined Tastecard and I am glad you have been able to reap the membership rewards. The Chicken Shawarma is one of my favourite dishes on our menu. Why not join us again perhaps for...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Kirkby Fleetham Hotels
Lodge At Leeming Bar
138 reviews
3.24 miles away
Bridge House Hotel
38 reviews
4.55 miles away
Allerton Court Hotel
348 reviews
4.96 miles away
Golden Lion Hotel
339 reviews
5.34 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Coore Arms
285 reviews
1.79 miles away
Tor's Cafe
31 reviews
2.82 miles away
Catterick Village Fisheries
61 reviews
3.37 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kiplin Hall
181 reviews
1.92 miles away
Wensleydale Railway
214 reviews
2.78 miles away
Catterick Racecourse
107 reviews
4.50 miles away
River Mountain Experience
12 reviews
2.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Black Horse Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$50
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts American Express, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Home Style
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Kirkby Fleetham
  • Phone Number: +44 1609 749010
  • E-mail
Description
The Black Horse Inn is a Beautiful, Charming Village Inn with Five Star Bedrooms and a Two AA Rosette Restaurant in Kirkby Fleetham in the Hambleton District of North Yorkshire, which resides between the North York Moors & Yorkshire Dales National Parks. Offering Seven En-Suite Rooms with Flat-Screen TV's, Regional Real Ales and Modern British Food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing