We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£12 - £20
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,113)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveller rating
776
175
91
46
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
776
175
91
46
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pie pork belly sunday roast pastry yorkshire pudding sandwich bread scones the pub no booking peak district coffee machine car park full english be visiting again countryside james
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

We stayed here for the weekend and were both very impressed by our experience. All the staff were helpful, professional, polite and friendly. There was an impressive choice of food and drinks. Everything we had to eat and drink over the weekend was fantastic, the...food was all cooked to perfection and well presented. The room we stayed in was beautiful and one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. The whole place was immaculately clean. We cannot speak highly enough of the whole experience thank youMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed yesterday

I’ve been here in the past, although not for a couple of years, and suggested it to my friend as somewhere to celebrate her birthday. The food, fish pie and crème brûlée for both of us, was absolutely superb and I was left feeling cross...that I’d not eaten here for some time! There was a wonderful atmosphere, particularly considering that we were there at lunchtime and not in the evening when places are often livelier. Reservations aren’t possible but the pub is fairly large and it seems that would-be diners can usually get a table without too much difficulty; we certainly had no problem at peak time on a Friday. The location is beautiful too, especially when the weather is kind and you can make the most of the stunning views. With such a high standard of food and service, coupled with a buzzing atmosphere, this place is highly recommended.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 days ago

spent the whole day there, food was great,staff are very friendly,service is great and the views and scenery are fantastic.would recommend it for a day out for all

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night stay here in Fuggles.  It is a great place for a few days away and all the rooms look lovely. A big positive for us is that our room and bathroom was lovely and warm, but it was adjustable. Also,...the bar area was kept warm too - so important when you want a relaxing meal and drink! Everywhere was spotlessly clean.  All the staff are lovely and very efficient and the food here is excellent. The breakfast is amazing and the best we have ever had anywhere! Thank you to everyone! More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had evening meal, stayed over night and had breakfast for my birthday. What a wonderful stay I had. Meal with a group of friends and I decided to treat myself to an overnight stay too. The Bodecia room is amazing. So warm and inviting. I...love the hanging space and the umbrella stand. (They were too big to get in my car 😂) We had a group meal and all my very choosey friends enjoyed their evening meals. I had breakfast and the yoghurt sundae didn't disappoint. My self and now a fair number of friends will be saying with you again. Well done to everyone at The Peacock.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for dinner B&B, everything was absolutely spot on, immaculately clean comfortable rooms with some nice touches, staff and food in the pub were equally spot on, we’ve already booked a return visit.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

We’ve stayed here 4 times now and it’s our new go to for a relaxing break. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and quiet. We ate in the restaurant on each of the 3 nights and the meals were top notch each time. Thankfully the Old...Gum Tree is still in the wine selection! It’s the staff who really make it though - everyone is so friendly - they truly seem to sparkle with enthusiasm and make you feel right at home Thanks for a great stay.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Brilliant service with a smile on Mother's Day. Thank you for looking after us so well. The pub was so busy and, as always, you were all really helpful and could not do enough to make our visit special. Sunday lunch was perfect. Thank you

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Rang up to ask if they had any last min space as we were greeted with a automated message saying you cant book? We was told that we would wait 5 minutes. When we got in there they said 20, however only luckily waited 5....Once sat at the table, we waited 10 minutes for menus and wasnt told how the sunday service ran so didnt know how to order food or drink. After 15 minutes we were told we had to go up and order but they didnt have any cauliflower cheese, lamb or pork! We all ordered chicken. When we got the cutlery it was slammed down and was dirty and looked to have old food on it? We asked for new which came after we got our food. When the food arrived, it looked completely different to others around us, yorkshire pudding was palm sized compared to the gigantic ones on others plates. Others around us had also received cauliflower cheese but we didnt! We didnt bother asking. Then half way through one member of our group pulled out a long hair in the food, at which point we all stopped eating. We was checked back on before this happened but all the staff to be rushing around and didnt seem like they were botherd about if everything was ok woth the meal just seemed like they had to do it to avoid complaints. We soon left before our table had even been cleared. The pub has so much potential and we were very disappointed in the standard of the service and meal, the staff seemed more interested in getting tables in and out. We wont be back anytime soon, we hope this was a one off and just a busy sunday which to some degree we can understand working in hospitality ourselves.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James Robinson, General Manager at The Peacock at Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Hi Emily, Thanks for your feedback and sorry you left us so disappointed last Sunday. We did have an incredibly busy day, even more so than a normal Sunday but that is no excuse as we should be ready for any level of trade. Apologies...More

Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

While in Derbyshire for a weekend my hubby & I decided to go here for a meal on the Saturday night, we weren’t disappointed. We rang to book a table but the message said no bookings but to turn up anyway as we wouldn’t be...waiting long if a table wasn’t available. In our arrival it was very busy but we were told we would have a table in approx 20 mins so we went to the bar and got a drink & 20 mins later we got a table. You really won’t be disappointed, the food was lovely & plentiful, the service was quick & friendly. The prices were reasonableMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2024 via mobile

This is a really lovely place to stay . So comfortable , in every way With lots of attention to detail. Breakfast was lovely too Staff are a delight I highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2024

A fabulous 2 night stay at the Peacock, we stayed in the Phoenix room celebrating my wife's birthday, the room was fantastic has everything you need and more, the bathroom with its free standing bath and walk in shower were amazing. The room itself had...fantastic views of the countryside. The pub had a great atmosphere with great food and a great choice of drinks, a special thanks to Owen and Cathy and all the staff for looking after us. We highly recommend the Peacock Mark&Diane Huddersfield 🙂More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2024

This place is very popular with walker's and dog lovers because it’s in reach of Derbyshire Peak District with amazing views what ever the weather. We went for Sunday lunch and I’ve never seen so many dogs in a Restaurant! The menu is limited for...Sunday lunch but still plenty to choose from. We all had Beef with Brisket it was so tasty I’d recommend to anybody. It’s a place you have to go up and place your order yourself and also if order drinks at the same time because they won’t take orders for drink at the table. Also if you find you can not face dessert after the main course they do a takeaway service which is great. The only thing is if you order Crème brûlée they ask if you can bring the ramakins back! Please be aware you can not book a table. We had a wait of 40 mins just sat outside with a drink and took in the view. Will call back when the weather is better to eat outside on the veranda over looking Derbyshire amazing all round.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

This is my first visit here and definitely won’t be the last, the service was outstanding and the food even better. The few requirements we had they went above and beyond to accommodate us. It really is a lovely place to heat . I normally...single out a specific staff member to give a mention on trip advisor but everyone was good and a credit to the placeMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Stayed for relaxing night on New Years Day. Phoenix room was very clean and amazing with very large bathroom. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The pub and restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was hot and tasty. I would highly recommend. We have booked...for the end of 2024.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Sandpiper Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
426 reviews
1.95 miles away
Travelodge Chesterfield
379 reviews
2.41 miles away
Casa Hotel
2,145 reviews
2.75 miles away
Abbeydale Hotel
260 reviews
2.76 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Tickled Trout
1,231 reviews
.69 miles away
The Peacock Inn
626 reviews
.89 miles away
Hackney House Cafe
325 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Perfect Balance Health & Lifestyle
8 reviews
.43 miles away
The Forge Shopping Centre
51 reviews
2.43 miles away
Barlow Lakes
15 reviews
.58 miles away
Linacre Reservoirs
320 reviews
1.61 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Paradise601568
6 August 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Dannisport | Reviewed this property |
Silly cow 🐄
1
Vote
djwayne1985
11 January 2020|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from 678lyndak | Reviewed this property |
A beautiful spot to pop the question but make sure you plan it with the restaurant manager as the other answers have suggested. Good luck 💞
1
Vote
658janej
4 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from JennieNorthumberland | Reviewed this property |
Beds a bit hard for us, pillows OK though
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE PEACOCK AT BARLOW - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Peacock at Barlow

Yes, The Peacock at Barlow is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Peacock at Barlow is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4