We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tickled Trout

33-35 Valley Road, Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7SL, England
+44 114 289 1111
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good18%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“trout” (65 reviews)
“pizza” (99 reviews)
“arancini” (21 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Bar, Pizza, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33-35 Valley Road, Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7SL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We were a lunch walk-in with no reservation and were welcomed by the most friendly, smiling staff. Service was spot-on: chatty and helpful; treated as if the staff just wanted us to enjoy the whole "experience". Lunch menu was perfect at two courses for £15....More

Thank Greg N
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not really a place for lunch - we just ordered starters as only wanted a snack ... but the starters were expensive for what they were. And did have difficulty getting a good cup of tea. The service was very polite but wouldn’t go for...More

1  Thank Carlton5566
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch with us. On a Saturday as we are so busy we do just serve our usual menu which includes sour dough pizzas from £8.75, homemade burgers from £11.95, delicious seasonal salads along side all the special dishes...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I came last night to The Tickled Trout with 11 girlfriends to celebrate my birthday. We had the lovely room upstairs and as it was Tuesday they do an offer on pizzas 2 for £20 which most of us went for. The pizzas we agreed...More

Thank pinkele
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

So pleased you enjoyed celebrating your birthday with us in our private dining room. We really do enjoy making an evening special. Really hope we can welcome you all soon! Best wishes Chris

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant many years ago when it was called the Trout Inn. The restaurant has had an amazing facelift which has made the restaurant light and airy. We had a fantastic meal, the pork chops were delicious. We met the chefs and viewed...More

Thank Helen P
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for such a great review, it really does mean a lot us. I bought the Tickled Trout 4 years ago and I am so proud how we have developed into what we are today. Both the kitchen and front of house...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Tickled Trout for a family birthday celebration. We felt really well looked-after which meant we could really relax. The little details were well thought out too - my girls are 4 and 6 but they felt very grown up enjoying a starter...More

Thank samholloway2018
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Delighted you had a lovey family celebration to remember! We really appreciate your kind comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you again Best wishes Chris

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped off on a Friday lunchtime. Nicely laid out pub/restaurant, quite quirky in the bar area and lovely and airy in the main restaurant. Beer was good, with a few different ale options and the our food was all cooked and presented well. Sausage as...More

Thank Enjoy_Beach_Life
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much! We have launched our new 'Old school' special lunch menu only in the last week so it is great to receive such good feedback! I very much hope you will visit again to try our evening menu too! Best wishes Chris

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is my birthday so we thought we would go somewhere special for a nice meal.The Tickled Trout is not far away and has a good reputation so we decided on there. Greeted by the bar staff nicely and given a choice of the dinning...More

5  Thank Tom B
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are all genuinely sorry your visit didn't meet your expectations. Having spoke to my team it seems a new member of staff cleared your table trying to be efficient but then failed to communicate this to the member of staff allocated to look after...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice, good-sized restaurant though a little noisy at times. Had an extensive menu with good choice and they were able to accommodate my gluten-free diet without too much trouble. The food was well cooked and presented and the staff were all very courteous and helpful.More

Thank Dylaffyn
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for writing a nice review for us. I am pleased you enjoyed the gluten free options, as everything is cooked from scratch it is easy to modify dishes. We do get a little busy but wehave quieter secluded tables so please ask if...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went on a Friday evening and found the restaurant almost full, and not surprising as it turned out. Welcomed by the staff and presented with a menu that has something for everyone on it. “Derbyshire fare with an Italian twist”, and very nice too! Good...More

Thank Gordon H
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much, all the team very much appreciate your review! I very much hope you will visit again and try one of my special deserts! Best wishes Chris

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food; accommodating, friendly and knowledgable staff. If you’re looking for somewhere to eat great food, sit with your friends, family or partner and soak up a wonderful atmosphere either by the huge fire in the cosy pub area, or in the smart trendy dining...More

1  Thank Edawes1983
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a great review for us. The whole team very much appreciate it! I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and I hope we can welcome you back again soon! Best wishes Chris

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Manor House Hotel
232 reviews
2.11 miles away
Sandpiper Hotel
355 reviews
2.32 miles away
Travelodge Chesterfield
173 reviews
2.99 miles away
Premier Inn Chesterfield West Hotel
657 reviews
3.19 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Peacock at Barlow
621 reviews
.69 miles away
The Peacock Inn Cutthorpe
442 reviews
1.31 miles away
Rutland Arms
20 reviews
1.70 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Denby Pottery Factory
370 reviews
3.12 miles away
The Miners Arms
21 reviews
3.18 miles away
The Forge Shopping Centre
40 reviews
2.13 miles away
Cross Daggers
18 reviews
2.93 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DaveAnnChesterfield
19 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Paul Y | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the delay. I’m not sure about this one. Maybe call and ask ...
0
Votes
1wilma
21 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Chris M | Property representative |
Yes, our quiz starts at 730 every Sunday evening - this week we have a special one as its our 100th quiz! Hope you will be able to join us.
0
Votes
Alice W
11 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Chris M | Property representative |
Hi, we do welcome dogs in our lounge area but not in the restaurant. A full menu is available in the lounge area and tables can be requested to be booked (which is advisable at busy times)
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 19:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33-35 Valley Road, Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7SL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chesterfield  >  Barlow
  • Phone Number: +44 114 289 1111
  • E-mail
Description
"Derbyshire Pride. Italian Inspiration." Proud of Derbyshire and inspired by Italy, that sums us up really. We use the finest locally sourced ingredients to create delicious food that has an Italian twist. Visitors to the Tickled Trout in Barlow are guaranteed a warm welcome, relaxed surroundings and a great choice of top-notch food. It is advisable to book a table either by our on-line reservation system on our website or the traditional way by phone! Also like us on Facebook for regular updates....
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing