We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£8 - £20
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (371)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
243
65
26
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
243
65
26
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger homemade chips pie salmon baguette pudding the pub friday night welcoming staff lovely meal friendly atmosphere lovely home cooked food warm welcome dog mains sunshine ales
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

Excellent food and atmosphere. A varied menu all cooked from scratch. Friendly staff and good selection of beers with some locally sourced ingredients.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We were in the area for a holiday and were keen to support a local business during our stay. We saw that the pub had just reopened under new management, so we’re keen to check it out and we ended up being the first family...to be served a meal! We all loved the vegan and gluten free options that were available and the service was brilliant. We are quite an awkward group for dietary requirements and they were so helpful. The new chef is a vegan specialist and the food he made was superb. Would definitely recommend to any with dietary requirements and certainly visit again.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

We only stopped for a drink after a big walk but really loved the friendly atmosphere inside and staff were very friendly. Pub was very aesthetically pleasing inside and loved the pictures of pub-goers dotted around on the beams! Very dog friendly and lots of...treats for dogs on offer. Think we’ll be back again to sample the food next time! Lovely village pub.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review

Reviewed 3 December 2023

Beautiful pub , decorated for Christmas with a roaring log fire. We had an amazing Sunday roast sharing platter for 4 , between two of us and there was some left for tea 😀 We had mixed beef and pork, with all the trimmings ....Couldn't fault it. Thank youMore

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Reviewed 24 September 2023 via mobile

We had tried to get in for the pub quiz, and despite asking if we could reserve a table, our request was ignored. We were turned away on the evening by a rather rude bar person. We however did decide to give it another visit...the next day for lunch. We were all very hungry, and the food was okay at best. Homemade chips a nice touch, and the kids cutlery was also a nice touch. I felt the lady serving us was rushed off her feet, but she was super cheery and polite. All in all average I’m afraid.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Marketing at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you could not dine with us on quiz night. We do reserve the night for our locals. But we do a supper for quiz members included in the £1 to join in the quiz, you would have...More

Reviewed 21 September 2023 via mobile

Nipped in on the off chance of being fed on a Sunday afternoon. It did not disappoint !! Lovely beef dinner with all the trimmings and gorgeous seasonal Veg. It’s very fairly priced in the area and I highly recommend you give it a try....Food is served until 4pm on a Sunday and I will definitely be back to try the normal menu during the week which has plenty to offer with a good selection of specials. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, Guinness is great and there’s a variety of beers available.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Marketing at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Thanks for your review. Our food is home made at The Black Swan and we try hard to cater for all. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 6 September 2023

Really great food. Good service. A lovely traditional country pub. High recommended. Dog friendly. Even provided treats for our labradoodle.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Marketing at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Thank you so much for your review. We are very grateful here at The Black Swan and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 25 August 2023 via mobile

1 - lovely folk, poor food, sirloin steak with chips. Chips cold, steak terrible. Wine choice almost zero. This is hard to write because our hopes were high as staff and patrons raved before we went. Hope it was a bad night in the kitchen.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Marketing at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Thank you for your review. Sorry we disappointed you. Our kitchen staff are the best, we do not have bad nights. Our steaks come from a well respected butcher, local to our area. If you had a problem we would have been happy to have...More

Reviewed 15 August 2023

Lunch terrible . Lot on menu not available. Ordered Fish and Chips as a last resort. 2 of us sent back lots of chips, fish not good. No wonder pubs are closing down. Poor selection of wine.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Marketing at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

So sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us. Our food is fresh and home made not microwave ding. Sometimes because of our popularity we do run out. This means we always have fresh food on our menu. Our chips are not frozen but hand...More

Reviewed 20 June 2023 via mobile

After a warm and friendly welcome, we enjoyed hot, freshly cooked food. Generous portion sizes. Nice atmosphere. The one lady working tonight was exceptionally busy: taking orders, serving the bar and delivering food to tables. All done with a smile. Will visit again and would...recommendMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023

So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Reviewed 16 June 2023

My fish, chips and mushy peas were grim - I struggled to eat less than a third of the them before giving up. The fish was hard, the chips cold and greasy and the mushy peas a solid cold lump. Whilst my partner did ‘get...through’ his meal l (he was really hungry), his medium rare steak was thin, grey and about as ‘well done’ as it gets, and the accompanying onion rings, mushrooms and chips soggy and cold. We’d normally complain to staff, but as it was my partners birthday we didn’t want to ruin what was left of the day with bad vibes. On a positive note, the bar man was friendly, our drinks were good and we sat outside in the sunshine.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2023

I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy your time with us. I wish you had of mentioned it to the staff as we cannot sort issues out if we’re not informed. When checks are made. As you can see from previous reviews our food isn’t as...More

Reviewed 15 June 2023 via mobile

Lovely friendly pub! Good atmosphere, sat outside and enjoyed the sunshine, nice big open spaces, lots of places to sit and owners/workers very polite and friendly. Didn’t have any food at the time of our visit but others around us looked to be enjoying it....Definitely recommend, good spot!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2023

So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Reviewed 8 June 2023 via mobile

Great food and welcoming staff . Had a lovely meal , the barman could not of been any friendlier, he was warm and chatty and nothing was too much trouble . We enjoyed our evening visit so much we returned the next day for lunch.... Good varied menu and the ales were smooth . Highly recommend and we will definitely return next time we are staying in Ashover .More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Reviewed 11 May 2023

My friend and I decided to try the Black Swan for lunch , the menu had good variety of meals to suit our requirements. What was good was how everything is freshly prepared. My sausage baguette was very tasty, the baguette fresh and the onion...rings were amazing. We would definatly eat there again.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey sara, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2023

So glad you enjoyed your food and your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review

Reviewed 2 April 2023

Well what can I say ! An awful experience. I never even got what I ordered (even though I preordered it ) . Waited over hour , other got there’s in dribs and drabs . The veg was cold and barely cooked . Never will...be returning . Would rate zero if I couldMore

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey Holt, Marketing at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2023

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us on this occasion. We did apologise at the time for the inconvenience caused by a technical problem with our main oven. Our food is freshly cooked daily and is...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Peak Edge Hotel
1,315 reviews
2.52 miles away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
328 reviews
3.65 miles away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
541 reviews
4.69 miles away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
1,799 reviews
4.86 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Stamp Coffee Shop
81 reviews
.08 miles away
The Miners Arms Inn
199 reviews
.97 miles away
The Old Poets' Corner Restaurant
343 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Kelstedge
53 reviews
.75 miles away
Cromford Steam Rally
46 reviews
2.64 miles away
Little Monkeys Play Centre
44 reviews
3.20 miles away
Lindway Springs Alpacas
22 reviews
3.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jordanne R
3 May 2021|
Answer
Response from Kelseyhol | Property representative |
Hello we serve food 12-9 daily Sunday 12-5 Many thanks
0
Votes
Voyage540389
18 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from robhoult168 | Property representative |
Hi yes we have a large selection of gluten free options. If you would like to mention this when making a reservation we can go through the options with you. Thanks rob
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BLACK SWAN, Ashover - Church St - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Black Swan

Yes, The Black Swan is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Black Swan is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4