We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

St James Gate

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
14 Church St, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 4Y9, Canada
+1 506-388-4283
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 179: English reviews
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Antonny the Chief is amazing! His sea food products are th best! Hope to go back there soon.... Nice location.

Helpful?
Thank Martin G
14churchstreetnb, Manager at St James Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I will make sure Anthony hears the great comment! Sarah More 

Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a nice restaurant with good food and great service if you want great service The Bartender on Tuesday nights is the best she works other nights I just don't know what nights when we go it Ususally when we visit the area and Tuesday is a bit quieter Love the Food and Serviceb

Helpful?
1 Thank 623krista
14churchstreetnb, Manager at St James Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your comments! Sarah More 

Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017

I love "grown up" mac and cheese and make a pretty mean one, so if I see a different take on it on a menu I will usually order it (and usually am disappointed). This was NOT the case with the Curry Mac & Cheese I ordered yesterday for lunch. It was seriously the best I've ever eaten at a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy R
14churchstreetnb, Manager at St James Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed it! Sarah More 

New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

I went here this summer and it was just okay. We stopped for drinks and appetizers. We had the stuffed and it was soo small and expensive we were highly disappointed. My drinks tasted highly of straight alcohol, and my husband had a guiness that he did not enjoy either. The waitress was very understanding and tried bringing me back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Minnie_3085
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We both had steak. Mine a sirloin and my wife's a rib eye. Steaks were done as ordered but really flavorless. My peppercorn sauce tasted like flour. Hers was supposed to be roasted garlic and rosemary but was really tasteless. I have had good food here in the past but this was well below standard. Our first visit since they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fred A
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

Really can't go wrong at the Gate. Food is excellent, service excellent. Good atmosphere. Have mainly gone for lunch but hear dinner menu is very good too.

Helpful?
Thank Lori C
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Haven't gone to st james gate in 6 maybe more years. Last night we decided to join friend. The bartender was the worst person. Completely rude. I plotted my revenge all night. Sorry for the one start. But u gotta realize that keeping this disrespectful person behind the bar. You'll aventualy get burned.

Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016

The lobster potato skins are really good. The service has always been very good and food has never disappointed. The patio is beautiful in the summer and overlooks the golf course.

Helpful?
Thank jadedog2016
Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

We were a group of eight senior ladies out for dinner and drinks and the Gate did not disappoint. We were all very pleased with the service, the atmosphere and the food. I personally would highly recommend the seafood risotto. The location is perfect if you are staying downtown or attending a concert or event.

Helpful?
1 Thank Riga_10
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

St James Gate was our first place to eat as a group of 5 friends looking for something new. The place is located downtown Moncton and features good food along with great service from their staff. Our waitress provided great advice as to menu selection as we were there for our first time. Apps were tasty and main courses were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stevejp41

Travellers who viewed St James Gate also viewed

Moncton, New Brunswick
 

Been to St James Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$23
Cuisine
Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Church St, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 4Y9, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  New Brunswick  >  Moncton
  • Phone Number: +1 506-388-4283

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of St James Gate and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Dieppe, Canada
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from St James Gate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?