We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Restaurant Beffroi Steak House

Certificate of Excellence
££££
Downtown Quebec City
American, Steakhouse, Canadian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
775, Av. Honore-Mercier | Palace Royal Hotel, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
+1 418-380-2638
Today
06:30 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 07:00 - 22:00
Mon - Wed 06:30 - 22:00
Thu - Fri 06:30 - 23:00
Sat 07:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were 4 for dinner, we all got different things and everything was crazy delicious. The only downside was that the time was a bit long between cocktails and appetizers, and then between the appetizers and the main meal. All in all, glad we went, and we would go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
Les_Hotels_JARO, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Beffroi Steak House, responded to this review

Dear Peter C, Thank you for experiencing the Restaurant Beffroi Steak House and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dishes. Our team is trained to leave time to enjoy the dishes and spirits. We invite you, if you are in a hurry, to mention it to your server so that he/she... More 

boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were 4 guests. We each had one if their Signature Steaks ..The meat was chewy and tough We know our Meat and this was not the standard that we expected from the restaurant. The service was good The Salmon appetizer was delicious We suggest not to expect to have a great steak here

Helpful?
Thank yasminBoston
Les_Hotels_JARO, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Beffroi Steak House, responded to this review

Dear yasminBoston, Thank you for experiencing the Restaurant Beffroi Steak House and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the salmon appetizer. Since most of our steaks are dry aged, we recommend that you share your preferences with your server so that he/she can guide you in selecting your meat and cooking. Even for... More 

Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Probably the worst steak I've EVER eaten. Even the baked potato wasn't cooked properly. It's truly amazing that such a horrible steak cost $40. Save your money!

Helpful?
Thank Scottsdalelarry
Les_Hotels_JARO, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Beffroi Steak House, responded to this review

Hi Scottsdalelarry, Thank you for writing a review. Unfortunately, your message contains little information. So we do not know which dish you ordered (we have a very large list of steaks), the cooking you requested, the timing and circumstances of your visit and how the meal went. Our team is very experienced. So, during your visit, we recommend that you... More 

Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

Ordered room service, steak was cooked as ordered but recieved fries instead of potatoe puree. Ribs were tender and good flavor but not hot. I think if we had eaten in the dinning room the meal may have been more to our liking.

Helpful?
Thank 4hoodz
Les_Hotels_JARO, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Beffroi Steak House, responded to this review

Dear 4hoodz, Thank you for ordering dishes from the Restaurant Beffroi Steak House. We are pleased that you enjoyed the cooking, the tenderness and the flavor of our dishes. If the temperature does not suit you or if there is an error in the order, please do not hesitate to call back the restaurant so that your dishes are changed.... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

Oh my gosh, service was fabulous, great ambiance and the food was spectacular. Beautiful central location. I had a filet mignon and my husband had a boston that was the size of a baseball. We were pleasantly survice with the final bill. Quite reasonable

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
Les_Hotels_JARO, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Beffroi Steak House, responded to this review

Dear Jane P, Thank you for experiencing the Restaurant Beffroi Steak House and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the filet mignon, the Boston steak as well as the ambiance and the service offered. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Quebec City. Thank you and have a wonderful... More 

Salisbury, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

Not being a steak lover, I was quite surprised how nice and tender the prime rib was. Make sure you have an appetite when you arrive. Nice atmosphere and our waiter Samuel topped the evening off with great service

Helpful?
1 Thank 954trudy
Les_Hotels_JARO, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Beffroi Steak House, responded to this review

Dear 954trudy, Thank you for experiencing the Restaurant Beffroi Steak House and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our prime rib, our portions, the atmosphere of the restaurant as well as the quality of service. We hope to welcome you again. Thank you and have a great day More 

Lake Worth, Fl
Level Contributor
122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

We were staying in the Hotel Palace Royal, and arrived late, it was raining/snowing, very windy and cold. The quickest choice was the restaurant in the hotel. The food was good and plentiful. It was a little pricy, but that is not uncommon in hotel restaurants. I was very tired from an entire day of traveling, and just wanted to... More 

Helpful?
Thank baldharv
Les_Hotels_JARO, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Beffroi Steak House, responded to this review

Dear baldharv, Thank you for having experienced the Restaurant Beffroi Steak House and for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed our evening dishes and our breakfast buffet. It is important to know that, usually, our customers spend a few hours in our restaurant to make multi-course dinners and a few drinks. Our service is... More 

Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

No complaints here we were strayed downstairs and had the place to ourselves for quite awhile. I guess people eat much later than we're used to since it was filling up when we left. The prime rib was huge and my husband ordered the queen. It was larger than any king cut we'be seen. My salmon was cooked perfectly we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dragonflyfrisbee
Les_Hotels_JARO, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Beffroi Steak House, responded to this review

Dear dragonflyfrisbee, Thank you for having experienced the Restaurant Beffroi Steak House and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the prime rib and the salmon. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Quebec City. Have a wonderful day More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

We both had the prime rib which was excellent. The red wine was served somewhat cooler than is usual and needed time to warm up before it could be appreciated. The service was also very good until we were done and waiting to ask for our cheque, at which point we felt somewhat abandoned. Once we finally got the attention... More 

Helpful?
Thank XineF
Les_Hotels_JARO, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Beffroi Steak House, responded to this review

Dear XineF, Thank you for having experienced the Restaurant Beffroi Steak House and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the prime rib. Sometimes, during busy nights, our servers may have a few more customers than usual. In such case, the service may be temporarily longer. Also, it should be noted that we allow... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I was looking for a traditional North American Steakhouse such as Harry Carays in Chicago to satisfy my cravings for a top steak. We struggle to provide such in NZ. Unfortunately Beffroi is not quite there. I had a New York 15oz cut medium rare. It was okay but a little gristly in parts. The service was just ok.

Helpful?
Thank Woodienz
Les_Hotels_JARO, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Beffroi Steak House, responded to this review

Dear Woodienz, Thank you for having experienced the Restaurant Beffroi Steak House. If you have any suggestions about the type of meat or the cuts we offer, please let us know. Please send us your suggestions at dlarsen@hotelsjaro.com. Thank you and have a good day More 

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Beffroi Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Beffroi Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$75
Cuisine
American, Steakhouse, Canadian
Meals
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 22:00
Monday
06:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 22:00
Thursday
06:30 - 23:00
Friday
06:30 - 23:00
Saturday
07:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 775, Av. Honore-Mercier | Palace Royal Hotel, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Quebec  >  Quebec City>  > Downtown Quebec City
  • Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
  • Phone Number: +1 418-380-2638
  • This restaurant is at Hotel Palace Royal
Description
Located in the heart of downtown Quebec City, just steps away from the St. John Door and from Old Quebec's historic district, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House has mastered the art of cooking over maple charcoal, for 15 years. Aside from its great table, the restaurant features an impressive cellar containing over 300 labels and 2,500 wine bottles, approximatively. Over the years, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House has been honored with several mentions such as the Great Distinction Award (2009) and the Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence (2013, 2014, 2015). With its breathtaking view on Place D'Youville, its warm decor and private lounges that can accommodate up to 30 guests, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House will definitely enchant you.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Restaurant Beffroi Steak House and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant Beffroi Steak House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?