We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Orchard Room - CLOSED

Great Green, Thurston, Bury St Edmunds IP31 3SJ, England
+44 1359 233363
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good15%
  • Average7%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (8 reviews)
“roast beef” (5 reviews)
“quiche” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
British, Cafe, International, Contemporary, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Great Green, Thurston, Bury St Edmunds IP31 3SJ, England
All Details
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2016

Sitting outside nest to an orchard with the countryside and chickens for company. Breakfast of bacon and eggs on a toasted muffin - delicious. Highly recommend.

Thank Nicnac2511
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your delightful comments. It is quite entertaining watching the chickens.

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Three of us went for lunch... Sun was shining and the food was great. Sweet potato quiche... Delicious but quite a small plate of food... Scone clotted cream and jam...wonderful but the scone had been put in microwave which made it soft... Only fault. Will...More

Thank J777TES
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your comments. I have asked the chef the watch this one. Not the usual. Please make yourself known when you revisit.

Reviewed 25 April 2016

After a long absence, I went back to the Orchard Room. It is still as I remembered from before. It is so refreshing to have a colourful cloth and wild flowers on the table. Watching the chickens running around in their enclosure and 2 friendly...More

Thank urenard44
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your positive comments. A delight to serve you.

Reviewed 21 April 2016

Summary ..... nothing is too much trouble for the staff at The Orchard Room. I took my son, daughter in law and two of my grandchildren there today for lunch. My son and daughter in law had never been there before and I think they...More

Thank Liz B
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for posting a lovely review. We do try.

Reviewed 9 March 2016

My daughter booked a table for Mother's Day brunch. The food was delicious, and it was no trouble to do a 'full English' fried breakfast for my husband and son in law, even though this wasn't on the menu. They brought the children's food first,...More

Thank Kitty L
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you Kitty. It is a great place for children to run around in safety and enjoy themselves. Nothing is too precious.

Reviewed 6 March 2016

A lovely peaceful setting and very pleasant staff. The roast beef was I think the best we have tasted. The only let down was the Yorkshire pudding which was aweful, heavy, stodgy and basically inedible . What a shame as the rest of the meal...More

Thank Richard N
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Sorry about the Yorkshire puds. Not sure what happened there, as they are usually 6inches tall and crispy. I will talk to the chef.

Reviewed 17 February 2016

It was perhaps unfortunate - we booked the Valentine's Lunch, but were warned that the menu was not as sent out to their mailing customers. In fact there was no Valentine's menu! We ate off the normal menu and saved money!!! However one couple who...More

Thank Ian S
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Thank you for taking the touble to write on TripAdvisor. The Valentines Lunch was a problem for our business. To answer your points: The menu for Valentines Day was still a special menu, but pared down from the original intention. It seems that you are...More

Reviewed 9 February 2016

I have been meaning to visit here for a long time, having previously tried at a lunchtime and found it full. This time we booked for a Sunday morning coffee. Meet two friends following a cycle ride. Great homely service and crockery. Wonderful cakes and...More

Thank Abigail555
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Thank you for taking the trouble to write on TripAdvisor. Customers usually find The Orchard Room a friendly and pleasent place to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The chickens' antics in the Orchard are a favourite pass-time and children often delight in feeding them some...More

Reviewed 27 November 2015

Booked a table for 6 one lunchtime recently and found the experience very disappointing. I have visited many times for coffee and/or sandwich's with friends and found it to be OK but on this occasion we had reserved a table for a meal. One of...More

2  Thank MoirEngland
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

I am disappointed that you felt you had to write on Trip Advisor, rather than talk to us at the time about your experience. All of our food we offer in The Orchard Room is home cooked, and thus very occasionally we do run out...More

Reviewed 19 November 2015

I meet here every couple of months with a friend,and the last two visits have been awful but we decided to give the restaurant another go,well it has not improved a very limited menu and the risotto was stodgy and under cooked,such a shame.More

1  Thank 731lady42
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

A am disappointed that your food was not to your liking. Risotto is not to every-ones liking and thus we will not be putting this back on the menu. Our new chef is producing delicious food and so I do hope you will visit us...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Horseshoes Inn
228 reviews
1.85 miles away
The Six Bells
95 reviews
1.96 miles away
The Bush Inn
53 reviews
3.41 miles away
The Six Bells
172 reviews
3.79 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lavenham Guildhall
495 reviews
4.09 miles away
The Church of St Peter & St Paul
115 reviews
4.30 miles away
Little Hall Lavenham
108 reviews
4.08 miles away
Number10
48 reviews
4.19 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$13 - US$27
Good for
Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 16:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
09:30 - 16:30
Friday
09:30 - 16:30
Saturday
09:30 - 16:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Great Green, Thurston, Bury St Edmunds IP31 3SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Bury St Edmunds  >  Thurston
  • Phone Number: +44 1359 233363
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing