We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$21
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
278
48
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
278
48
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast yorkshire pudding shepherds pie whitebait roast potatoes the pub great atmosphere last sunday friday night generous portions stacey landlady trimmings homemade ales lunchtime
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

Quite busy when I arrived. Took the Indian meat Thali takeaway. I was told the goat curry was burnt so gave more of the other meat curry which was chicken. The packaging was smelling burnt while driving back. When opened the package it turned out...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?3  
Sightseer43597476661, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Hi , thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear you were not happy. The kitchen is rented out on Thursday to an Independant company. They had some problems on opening night ,which are now rectified. I would appreciate if you would remove review as this...More

Reviewed 8 June 2021

We chose this pub by location as after a long bike ride we wanted some good food and easy ride back to the station. It soon became apparent that we were in for a treat. The service we received from the moment we arrived was...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Sightseer43597476661, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Great to meet you all look forward to your next trip out . Thanks stacy

Reviewed 7 June 2021

It's got a fantastic new beer garden that we just had to come and see. Really great food, excellent service and the best beer in Stansted. We had a really fun time. Thank you!

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Sightseer43597476661, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Lovely comments thank you . Stacy

Reviewed 7 June 2021

We were greeted warmly on arrival. Very friendly staff and great service. Traditional menu. Excellent quality produce and very well cooked and presented. Generous portions. Well kept beer and way above average wines for a pub. Food and drinks all very reasonably priced. Our cycling...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Sightseer43597476661, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Look forward to your next visit. Stacy

Reviewed 7 June 2021

Went here Saturday night for dinner, had spam fritters for starters was lovely ! Lovely set up main lady seems to work so hard but girls were rude when hubby lit up cigarette one shouted at him! We paid and the same girl asked “Do...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Sightseer43597476661, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Glad to read you enjoyed your food. Unfortunately you were eating under our tent which is a designated no smoking area, hence no ashtrays on these tables and no smoking signs are displayed. Staff have been advised to ask people to smoke either at the...More

Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

Excellent pub, great home made Sunday lunch, good selection of real ales and wines, pleasant pub garden, landlady and staff helpful and friendly ( and for other cyclists - it's downhill to the station). Will return.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Sightseer43597476661, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Great to meet you all 🍺 look forward to your next visit. Stacy

Reviewed 14 April 2021 via mobile

Stopped for a few beers here. Met the landlady Stacy she was very friendly. I didn't eat but the food coming out the kitchen looked great. They have adapted really well to the new covid rules lots heated outdoor seating and the table service was...More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Sightseer43597476661, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Great comments, much appreciated. Stacy

Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

Faultless first time visit to this great family pub. Made to feel very welcome by staff and felt very safe. Lovely warm fire and a superb selection of drinks, especially ales. Food was exceptional and large portion! Huge thanks to the staff and hope to...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Sightseer43597476661, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Glad you enjoyed. Hope to see you again. Stacy

Reviewed 13 September 2020

We went here on a wim. Have got to say I am fussy when it comes to a nice roast. This roast was the best roast I have ever eaten in any pub/restaurant. The owner Stacey and her young helper Holly made the best roast...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
roseandcrownstansted, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Hi nick, great comments, much appreciated and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Cheers Stacy

Reviewed 8 September 2020

Visited this little Gem of a pub last Sunday. Service was superb, the food was even better. I have never enjoyed a Sunday roast as much as I did. All homemade, hot and tasty, I will definitely be back again very soon.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
roseandcrownstansted, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Glad to read you enjoyed, see you soon. Stacy

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Stansted Lodge
98 reviews
1.75 miles away
ibis budget Bishops Stortford London Stansted Airport
1,063 reviews
2.20 miles away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
869 reviews
2.37 miles away
Days Inn by Wyndham London Stansted Airport
587 reviews
2.49 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Lower Street Brasserie
360 reviews
.59 miles away
Brohmon
57 reviews
.40 miles away
Wood Grill
371 reviews
.30 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mountfitchet Castle
524 reviews
.59 miles away
House on the Hill Toy Museum
120 reviews
.62 miles away
The Cork House
13 reviews
.58 miles away
Mix
8 reviews
.59 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
airleasing2013
8 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Wayne B | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I have no idea but I am sure if you telephone the pub they will be able to help you
0
Votes
Stanfaecrete
8 January 2017|
Answer
Response from roseandcrownstansted | Property representative |
Just seen this sorry we are closed on Mondays
0
Votes
N7larry
5 June 2016|
Answer
Response from roseandcrownstansted | Property representative |
Apologies for late reply, currently veggie chilli and mushroom stroganoff, nut roast on Sunday hope this helps . Stacy
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Rose and Crown

The Rose and Crown is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5