We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Inn Freehouse

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bell Road | Barnham Broom, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4AA, England
+44 1603 759535
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
190 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Close to expensive hotel this is much more affordable. Having said that I suspect that the food is not all home cooked but comes via the freezer. Smoking area is at the back and the whole time we were there there was a constant stream of people passing the table to go outside. One very frazzled bar staff and one... More 

Helpful?
Thank ElaineHicks
Bell I, Owner at The Bell Inn Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Some of our food does indeed come from a freezer but very little and what is home made says so on the menu and all our meet is fresh from a local butcher and our pricing reflects we are a village pub doing pub food. This... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2015

we were staying again at Barnham Broom and returned to the Bell Inn twice during our stay we were given a very friendly welcome and were served lovely food, that was cooked and served well and reasonably priced We would certainly return again when we are back in the area Thank you

Helpful?
Thank janeto286
Bell I, Owner at The Bell Inn Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased we looked after you well and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Steve More 

South Coast UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We ate here a few times whilst staying in the area. Good value, although the menu is limited and on every occasion they always have run out of items on the menu. Need to update as well. Its a local pub, so friendly and welcoming with a good selection of beers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Never_om
Bell I, Owner at The Bell Inn Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed it here so came a few times. We did have a supplier issue with a couple of products that have been resolved. Most of our food is fresh and to keep costs down we are careful about stock levels, if we hold too much and have to throw it away... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We were there on a Wednesday night which was Pub Quiz night. The food was great and the quiz very entertaining. Great hosts and a thoroughly entertaining evening. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
Bell I, Owner at The Bell Inn Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening and our quiz and hope to see you again soon. Steve More 

Lowdham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We had a lovely evening at the Bell Inn. A lovely welcome, warm friendly staff. Food was excellent, good honest pub food. My gammon was beautifully cooked and plenty of it. My husband reckoned his starter was the best mushroom starter he had ever had. From him that's praise indeed. Prices reasonable, good quality food. Would certainly go back. Best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
Bell I, Owner at The Bell Inn Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a nice time and meal and look forward to welcoming you back. Steve More 

Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Website states opening times 12.00 - 1.30 Monday to Friday yet a paper sign on the door informed us it opens at 4.00? I am sure the food may be very nice but poor website lets you down. This customer shall not be returning as I do not want another wasted journey..

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
Bell I, Owner at The Bell Inn Freehouse, responded to this review

I am very sorry that the website has not been updated although all our advertising does say to ring to book to avoid disappointment which you did not and we would then have told you that due to my wifes health we are not open until 4pm mon to sat. and 12 noon on a Sunday. Steve More 

Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Wet for an afternoon drink after golf at the local course, 5 of us were made most welcome, prices were amazingly cheap compared with Surrrey. The whole pub was spotlessly clean.

Helpful?
Thank tony34442
Bell I, Owner at The Bell Inn Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for your comment on our cleanliness it is something we try hard at. Hope to see you next time when you are in the area. Steve More 

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Visited here with my wife on bank holiday evening. Quite busy so just as well we booked. Good selection of real ales Timothy Taylor, ghost ship and greene king Ipa. Dining area is nicely laid out and pub has a great atmosphere. Service was good and friendly. Food was nice I had scampi and chips and my wife had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank James M
Bell I, Owner at The Bell Inn Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Steve More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Went there last Wednesday with friends. We had a lovely meal, and joined in the Quiz Night fun. Didn't win, but we'll have another go soon. The atmosphere was charming, and we couldn't fault anything at all. Be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Bazz219
Bell I, Owner at The Bell Inn Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Steve More 

Sussex
Level Contributor
267 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Six of us were staying a mile or so away from The Bell Inn at Barnham Broom (Holiday Property Bond), and decided to visit on a very cold, frosty night. Our designated driver made two trips to deliver us all safely. We were made very welcome in the pub and were soon enjoying good beer, and a Pinot Grigio at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kompo
Bell I, Owner at The Bell Inn Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and evening with us. We had considered a taxi service idea but the insurance is cost prohibative but we do have a local taxi guy that is competitive next time you come we can sort something out. Cheers Steve More 

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn Freehouse also viewed

 

Been to The Bell Inn Freehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$14
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bell Road | Barnham Broom, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich  >  Barnham Broom
  • Phone Number: +44 1603 759535

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Inn Freehouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?