We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grey Lady

Is this your business?
Sharpley Hill, Newtown Linford LE6 0AH, England
+44 1530 243558
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (17 reviews)
“sea bass” (10 reviews)
“beef” (28 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sharpley Hill, Newtown Linford LE6 0AH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went here for a birthday treat for my sister and I from my brother. My family really like this place. Ordered nachos, they were TINY! £9 for what was a small bag of crisps essentially. We were told that was a generous portion. I emailed...More

1  Thank rlongford93
Management555, Manager at The Grey Lady, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank your for your review, but this is actually a review of our sister site The Grey Lady Kitchen & Deli. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed, I have just found your email in our junk box and will reply to you...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

There is no denying that the food is absolutely wonderful. We all thoroughly enjoyed our three course meal. One of our party had to pull out last minute so our number reduced from 6 to 5. For a table of 5 who were pretty much...More

1  Thank r0sie312
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely lunch following a walk in Bradgate Park. Setvice not the fastest if you are in a hurry but fine for chatting over a leisurely lunchMore

Thank Kay S
Management555, Manager at The Grey Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you found your recent lunch at The Grey Lady to be lovely. We apologise that you found service a little slow but happy to hear that this did not affect your time with us,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a fabulous lunch with friends from Staffordshire at the Grey Lady. The restaurant isspectacular with views over Bradgate. The food is first class. The people there are very friendly. The prices they charge for the set lunch are very reasonable. £15 for two course!...More

Thank mikepO1535MZ
Management555, Manager at The Grey Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Wow… thank you for your wonderful review of The Grey Lady. We are delighted to hear that you recently enjoyed a fabulous lunch with first class food and friendly staff. It is great to hear that you found our lunch menu to be of good...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having a birthday recently booked The Grey Lady for 15 family members. The staff were brilliant in getting things organised. The evening was without doubt as good as it gets. The courses all came together timed perfectly a testament to the back room guys working...More

Thank 555Voyager
Management555, Manager at The Grey Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent meal at The Grey Lady and chose to celebrate your birthday with us. It is great to hear that you found our staff to be professional and organised...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

With a lovely lunch with family, there was a pescatarian coeliac a a coeliac and somebody didn't worry about what was on the menu. The service was excellent. The value for money was un-surpassable! The food quality 10/10 Food presentation 10/10 Flavours 10/10. I will...More

Thank Ralph1963G
Management555, Manager at The Grey Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent lunch and found that our menu was excellent value for money. We appreciate your 10/10 score for all aspects of our food it is always great to receive feedback...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice 5 course meal, light not great in main area of restaurant but good in booths next to the windows. Attentive staff who were helpful. Very good value for money and good quality food which was cooked nicely.More

Thank Jonathan H
Management555, Manager at The Grey Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Taster Menu when dining with us recently and found our staff to be attentive and helpful. We have taken on board your comments regarding the lighting and we will look into...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you want a really excellent lunch this is the place to go! Our recent visit was to celebrate my sister and brother in laws 50 wedding anniversary, and as on previous visit’s it did not disappoint. The front of house staff and food are...More

Thank Jim M
Management555, Manager at The Grey Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you find The Grey lady to be consistently excellent with great staff and amazing food. We look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant again in the future.

Reviewed 14 March 2018

Three of us had lunch here the other day during the week. Excellent menu, well prepared food served on hot plates, lovely setting and ambience. Lunchtime prices are quite reasonable. Overall excellent, with only a couple of tiny negatives. Service was a bit slow (we...More

Thank i4quality
Management555, Manager at The Grey Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent lunch with us and that you found the menu to be excellent and good value for money. We are sorry to hear that you found the service slow at some...More

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

I did expect alot from a restaurant that has such high prices...I left disappointed.... We booked as it stated vegan options...so this leads you to believe that there will indeed be options..and a menu to choose from....if you are vegan and thinking of dining here...More

2  Thank Sarah F
Management555, Manager at The Grey Lady, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to The Grey Lady. We try our upmost to cater for dietary requirements and unfortunately on this occasion we were unable to provide more than one...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Newtown Linford Hotels
Fieldhead Hotel
545 reviews
1.58 miles away
Travelodge Leicester Markfield
174 reviews
2.74 miles away
Rothley Court
693 reviews
3.59 miles away
Charnwood Arms
184 reviews
4.00 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Grey Lady Kitchen & Deli
294 reviews
.91 miles away
The Post Office Tea Rooms
124 reviews
.90 miles away
The Bradgate
466 reviews
.75 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bradgate Park
2,432 reviews
1.93 miles away
The Crown Inn Anstey
19 reviews
2.25 miles away
Paintballing SAS 22
87 reviews
2.59 miles away
45 Gin School
252 reviews
3.01 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Marianne C
6 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from siouxsie2sioux | Reviewed this property |
smart casual
2
Votes
Christine S
25 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Robin C | Reviewed this property |
Yes, but may be booked up by now....
0
Votes
Tray Z
7 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from colin m | Reviewed this property |
They have two private rooms and I was there last Friday for my wife's birthday and both rooms were in use. They can do many special things for you, so just ask, but best of all is the food, it is exceptional.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sharpley Hill, Newtown Linford LE6 0AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Newtown Linford
  • Phone Number: +44 1530 243558
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing