We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
47
17
3
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
47
17
3
5
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the White Bull in Great Eccleston today bank holiday Monday, ordered 2 pints of John Smiths bitter, the beer was flat, asked the bar man to put a better head on the beer to which he replied--- how many pubs have you had----...I have had 55 years of drinking beer experience and I think I know a flat beer from a decent one, to which he said get out of my pub, its no wonder pubs are shutting down with a attitude like that, If you want a decent beer I would avoid the WHITE BULL AT GREAT ECCLESTON AT ALL COSTS, they dont deserve to run a pub. Better pint at the Black Bull and about 60p cheaper. 30/8/21. Keith SladeMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
White Bull Hotel, Owner at White Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for highlighting your concern about your recent visit. We take on board all feedback and where we can look to improve the service we offer. We work hard to make sure our customer's experience is the best it can be. I must however...More

Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

Lovely first time visit to The White Bull. Very nice pub, different seating areas and tables. Quirky decoration. Garden is very pretty. Toilets are very well kept. Whole pub is spotless. Very good selection of drinks, reasonably priced and very good coffee. Some lovely dishes...on menu. We each had a different meal and everyone really enjoyed their meals. Well cooked and well presented. They also have entertainment nights. We will definitely be going again.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
White Bull Hotel, Owner at White Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. We all really appreciate all the kind words and look forward to welcoming you all back again soon. Best Wishes WB Team

Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

Visited on a Friday tea time..welcomed with a smile and asked to do covid check in. Showed to a table, in a spotlessly clean bar. Drinks ordered and brought to table.. decided on a rump steak ,and a fish and chip 'fryday' deal..absolutley delicious..very attentive...staff, and extremely polite too! Went mad and ordered the sharing sundae...what a way to finish a lovely catch up with friends ..highly recommended and... we will return xMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
White Bull Hotel, Owner at White Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2021

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It goes a long way for the team to know the hard work they do is showing and appreciated by our guests. Best Wishes WB

Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

Always thought this was a drinkers bar, How wrong. New managers with an emphasis on food and welcome. Strong on social distancing for anyone worried about it. Not just playing lip service to it for the sake of the big buck. Two stunning Sunday lunches...and a couple of drinks for £30.00. Couldn't fault it. Beef, 4 veg 2 potatoes dishes and lashings of roast meat gravy. Sorry ate so quick forgot to take any picture. Would highly recommend sepecially for the price.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
White Bull Hotel, Owner at White Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2021

Thank you so much for your review. The team were delighted to have received such a glowing review. We hope to see you all again soon. WB

Reviewed 6 August 2020

Excellent value for money for main course and good, value beer. Fish and chips perfectly nice and good system for social distancing compared to fish shop opposite! Eat out to help out scheme made mid week value for money excellent. Good position, especially on our...seats overlooking Great Eccleston Centre. No frills but does in my opinion what it does very well.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 June 2019 via mobile

Just left the having left 3 very disappointing Sunday lunches . Having ordered 3 Sunday dinners and drinks we decided to supersize to include all the meats . We waited quite a long time and didn’t mind because fresh cooked food takes a while .....doentbit ???? Well so apparently does poor quality frozen food what a disappointment . ... Described on the menu as coming with fresh veg , creamy mash potatoes and roast potatoes Ok , the potatoes were like bullets , deep fried NOT ROASTED. , there were no mash potatoes , I was told we were given extra “ roasts “ to compensate but that was just extra bullets The plate was huge and taken up in the main by 2 very large very overdone hard , what I assume were meant to be Yorkshire puddings but they were more like dry biscuits and not like any Yorkshire pie I have seen before, their main purpose was to fill the plate to justify the “supersize” description. The veg consisted of tiny frozen carrots , horrible and hard, a floret each of broccoli and cauliflower both frozen and watery , some cabbage leaves of an indeterminate type .The meats were slivers of stringy fatty meat with no proper slice of any meat . If this was the best they could do I would dread o see the normal Ok so on bringing this to the attention of the surly waitress , she slammed some money on the table and said chef said refund the meal . We left ..... the food and the pub ... It wasn’t expensive at around £10 each but not cheap either River Wyre are far superior and similar priceMore

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

Clearly microwaved food, rock solid and then chewy burger buns. Helpful staff but food was dreadful. Physically couldn’t chew through burger bun and had to be sent back. No offer of refund or complimentary drinks or deserts.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 28 March 2019

We had such lovely food. The place was immaculate. The landlady was welcoming and friendly. The food was perfect. Not over priced and well worth a visit. The new owners told us they have only been there 6 weeks. They also have a childrens menu...and do lovely desserts. Not only is it situated in a lovely village it is a lovely settingMore

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

Called for Sunday lunch at this pub and it was delicious. Tender roast dinner which was absolutely beautiful. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful place to eat. Thank you. Top food.

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 23 December 2018 via mobile

Good choice of beers. Always a good atmosphere filled with local residents. Bar service is always fast and friendly

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Villa Express Kirkham
224 reviews
3.45 miles away
Shard Riverside Hotel
760 reviews
3.57 miles away
The Hotel at Mill Farm
8 reviews
4.13 miles away
Best Western Preston Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
513 reviews
4.72 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Farmers Arms
790 reviews
.09 miles away
The Cartford Inn
1,041 reviews
.51 miles away
Pizza on the Piazza
57 reviews
.01 miles away
The Courtyard Caffe Bar
61 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Glasform
69 reviews
2.09 miles away
The Grapes
133 reviews
2.22 miles away
Humblescough Farm
60 reviews
3.51 miles away
Myerscough College Plant World
45 reviews
4.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Warren M
23 September 2017|
Answer
Response from C5400QTgregm | Reviewed this property |
I have been in touch with the White Bull and they can.
0
Votes
Faith S
16 July 2017|
Answer
Response from C5400QTgregm | Reviewed this property |
Yes! They have lovely white Lab and usually dog treats are in a replica of the golf open trophy!!! Be mad busy today as its Great Ecc show but they will be well set up for it!! B
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about White Bull Hotel

White Bull Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5