We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ferry Inn Restaurant

££ - £££, British,
Ferry Road, Horning, Norwich NR12 8PS, England
+44 1692 630259
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“liver” (11 reviews)
“pork” (28 reviews)
“pudding” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ferry Road, Horning, Norwich NR12 8PS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Came here for a family meal, and the evening started well. We got shown to our table and went to the bar and got a drink. We sat and decided what we wanted to eat and ordered at the bar. 10 minutes later the starters...More

Thank chl0e298
Reviewed 4 days ago

For the last 3 years every time we have stayed in the area we have always visited here, its right on the River, its so beautiful. Food is really nice and one of the best roast we had is here.

Thank LisaEssex619
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable roast with us and we look forward to seeing you again in 2018, Emily

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited two evenings are we stayed around the corner. The carvery is out of this world, it has literally everything you could ask for and is extremely fresh. Was around £8 each. Would highly recommend if on the broads during summer.. it is a large...More

Thank D8EGN
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to leave the best review! We do hope you'll visit again soon, many thanks Emily

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We turned up without booking and we managed to get a table In the sunset lounge. Smelt a bit damp and looked a bit damp on the wall. The carvery had a huge choice of vegetables but the plates were too small and shallow to...More

Thank martyw122015
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Drove half hour to get there after reading mixed reviews . My wife and I just had there 3 course meal and drink from wowoucher . The food was brilliant and to really top it off the service was impeccable . Will be visiting again...More

Thank Tyler B
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We do hope you'll visit again soon, many thanks Emily

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

food was lovely menu has all the normal items with a few extra surprises, location being right on the broads is stunning, but considering it has recently been redone, it was a shambles it is housed in a very old Norfolk building, but the inside...More

Thank ruthmatthews42
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry that we have not met your expectations on this occasion and we'll pass your comments on to our team. Emily

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've been in the ferry a handful of times and every time me and my partner have always enjoyed our meals, but this time has completely changed our attitude towards the ferry, we where in around 2-3 o'clock enjoying our lunches in the "American style...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer, We are little bit surprised form your feedback as we did not received any complaints or claims from our staff members in regards to this situation. Could you please email us at theferryinn.horning@ferryinn-restaurant.co.uk as we would like start detailed investigation.

Reviewed 15 January 2018

This restaurant is great for both visitors to Norfolk and the locals. Whether by road or an easy bike ride on the three rivers way to Horning or a short ride in a boat from Wroxham. Food is really good, staff efficient and welcoming. Carvery...More

Thank Maggie D
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We're glad to hear that you are never disappointed and we'll pass your comments on to our team. Emily

Reviewed 14 January 2018

Food and service excellent.Very good carvery Staff very friendly and helpful. Good selection of beer and not overpriced

Thank Tony L
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We do hope you'll visit again soon, many thanks Emily

Reviewed 11 January 2018

Had the worst meal on record. We arrived at 7pm, the carvery looked awful, a drinker at the bar advised that we didn’t order it as it had been there since 11am, we choose from the menu, a friend chose a liver dish and spent...More

Thank 708Guiness
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at The Ferry Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer, Please can we ask that you contact the Ferry and ask for Lyubo to resolve this problem, many thanks Emily

PreviousNext
12345692
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Horning Hotels
Hotel Wroxham
388 reviews
2.72 miles away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
980 reviews
4.91 miles away
Sutton Staithe Hotel
81 reviews
5.12 miles away
Wayford Bridge Inn
527 reviews
5.25 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bure River Cottage Restaurant
343 reviews
.75 miles away
The New Inn
705 reviews
.57 miles away
The Galley
196 reviews
.71 miles away
Nearby Attractions
RAF Air Defence Radar Museum
334 reviews
1.24 miles away
Ranworth Broad
116 reviews
1.28 miles away
BeWILDerwood
1,672 reviews
1.36 miles away
How Hill Ludham
109 reviews
2.39 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
whatcanwesay
11 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from honestemily | Reviewed this property |
The pub is certainly big enough to accommodate a big party but booking would be needed, I should think. I vaguely remember a separate room/function room so worth ringing them first.
1
Vote
Steve H
3 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from jamieh0lden | Reviewed this property |
We have always had good food there and will return when on holiday.
1
Vote
robertfry143
21 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from mjharris36 | Reviewed this property |
We ate there several times in the summer and they did a great carvery every day not just Sundays cost was £8.99 and worth every penny. Not sure if carvery available every day in Winter but would bet that it will be... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
1234
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ferry Road, Horning, Norwich NR12 8PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich  >  Horning
  • Phone Number: +44 1692 630259
  • E-mail
Description
Located in the heart of the Norfolk Broads, The Ferry Inn provides a wonderful riverside dining experience. We have mooring available and a large car park. Along with our extensive menu, our award-winning Carvery is available every day of the year! As well as our fantastic food and drink offerings, we also have a large children's play area outside, so the whole family is welcome!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing