The Two Brewers

The Two Brewers

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1234 711393+ Add website
Hours
Sun
11:30 - 23:30
Mon
11:30 - 23:30
Tue
11:30 - 23:30
Wed
11:30 - 23:30
Thu
11:30 - 23:30
Fri
11:30 - 0:00
Sat
11:30 - 0:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
features
Are the prices at this restaurant mid-range / moderate?
About
A warm welcome awaits you at The Two Brewers – a family friendly pub situated close to the river Great Ouse in the beautiful market town of Olney once home to John Newton most famous for his hymn ‘Amazing Grace’. Superb surroundings, friendly faces and a relaxed environment make The Two Brewers the perfect place in which to unwind and enjoy quality food and drink. We have a cosy bar, lounge and separate dining area together with a pretty walled garden at the rear of the pub ideal for al fresco drinking and dining – and the children will love our outside play area and climbing castle. We also have 2 function rooms and are able to cater for private parties, weddings, celebrations . . . in fact, whatever the occasion! There’s always plenty going on at The Two Brewers including special offers and events. Please see our What’s On page on our website or face book page. So come on in and enjoy yourself. We look forward to seeing you soon!
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles152 reviews
Excellent
38
Very good
59
Average
15
Poor
23
Terrible
17
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Jackie T
Bedford224 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We went using a Grpoupon voucher. We had looked at the menus before and all seemed good. On arrival the place looked very dismal with a few couples. Initially there was no one in the bar and we wondered around looking for the restaurant. A lady told us "back there" and we wondered back to the bar area and took a seat. Now I know it was the end of the Christmas period but not a decoration in sight. Our table had a small conifer but the surface was sticky with glass/cup marks. Eventually the same lady came back to ask us our names as I had made a reservation. We were not offered drinks until a young cheerful man came to the table and gave us a small menu marked "Groupon 2020" with about 5 starterd and maind. We had bought a two course meal with wine but could not choose anything outside of the menu. We chose the breaded brie which was hard and tasteless. I ordered the scampi which was tasty and my husband the burger. The portions were good but overall just okay. We were not asked if we had enjoyed the meal, wanted more drinks or offered the dessert menu. It was not a welcoming experience and we will not returning.
Written 5 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidC21222
First of all, please accept out apology that you were not satisfied with the Groupon deal at our establishment, and thank you for notifying us of the problems you encountered. Our menu is available on the Groupon website, so those purchasing vouchers can understand exactly what is included. However, since this complaint, we have terminated the deal with Groupon. Thank you again for your feedback.
Written 19 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DanH
9 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
The Groupon deal given to us as a present for a 2 course meal with wine did not turn out as planned. From the voucher it makes it sound as though it is a special offer from the main menu as it says what the full price would have been. Alas not, when you get there you get presented with a 'special' Groupon menu from which to choose your items with not so much choice and you get the feeling is a cheaper offering all round; for instance the starters were quite minimal especially the fried brie. In fact the lunchtime deal on a blackboard by the bar was £6.95 for a 2 course lunch, that was probably a better deal! We've been before to this pub and always had nice meals so I'd suggest they don't need to do Groupon at all, it only serves to disappoint customers.
Written 9 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidC21222
First of all, please accept out apology that you were not satisfied with the Groupon deal at our establishment, and thank you for notifying us of the problems you encountered. Our menu is available on the Groupon website, so those purchasing vouchers can understand exactly what is included. However, since this complaint, we have terminated the deal with Groupon. Thank you again for your feedback.
Written 19 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tartnjohn
Olney3490 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
A group of us decided to have a meal here not long after pubs were allowed to open and we were impressed by the efforts of the staff to ensure safety for their customers. A one way system through the pub and garden, ample space between indoor tables and those in the garden ensured safe distancing rules could be achieved. Table service only, sanitising stations and various other actions had been taken all of which helped to give a feeling of comfort. The food and drinks (laminated menus) was ordered at our table to save us having to walk back to the bar and service was pretty fast. Smaller menu than normal but that is only to be expected given the Covid circumstances and we had a wide range of food between us. Everyone thought their meal was excellent and we'll certainly be back.
Written 5 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidC21222
Thank you for your kind words.. We are over the moon to hear you have had a great experience- a lot of hard work goes into our home made meals and ensuring you have a pleasant visit with us. Be sure to let us know if there’s anything we can do to improve the establishment or services. Always a pleasure, we look forward to seeing you next time
Written 14 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

john m
Wellingborough20 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
we visit regular, always been happy with food . today service was very slow and sad to say our beer was off , this was changed but sadly for one that was not much better, food was good after a long long wait but without condiments and cutlery on the table. a very poor experience all round
Written 28 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Venture813850
First of all, Let us offer our sincerest apologies for the poor service you received at our establishment last week. It has always been our Goal to provide customer service that is polite, friendly and helpful. We are sorry you were not treated with the respect you deserve. a refund was provided on the day. Thank you for notifying us of the problem,We will be Investigating your Complaint, we value your feedback and continued patronage. Please do pop by if you would like to chat in person. Sincerely, Management of The Two Brewers Public House and Dining.
Written 9 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dariel
6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
Waited over an hour for our meal when it came it was wrong ordered jacket potato but came with chips waiter said they ran out of jacket potato also should have come with onion rings but ran out of those too but did not say anything no apology or anything. When asked about dessert said it was going to be another hour so gave up paid the bill the staff just couldn’t care less about anything we were just an inconvenience. Terrible customer service! Food below average what you get of it ! Will not be returning!
Written 26 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Venture813850
Thanks for your message. We've investigated your complaint and we think you might have the wrong pub.. We don’t serve onion rings as a side or with anything on our menu, and on our busiest nights during August, the longest wait time was 20 minutes, not the one hour you mention. We've also checked through our system for orders on the night you said you visited - we had no jacket potatoes ordered on the night in question. If you would like to discuss this further in person, we would love to hear from you!
Written 19 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tartnjohn
Olney3490 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 none
Had our first meal for some time in here and it turned out to be the best yet. You get what you pay for and the fact that this is a pub, you ain't paying for fancy decor, highly trained staff or all the bells and whistles of other establishments. As a result, the food is excellent value for money and when you are meeting up a group of friends, you want quality, well cooked food, served reasonably quickly and drinks to go with it. This is the place in town when they all come together. On this visit, it was burger, roast beef, tarragon chicken pie and a range of desserts. Bottle of wine, 6 beers, glass of red wine, two coffees and a total bill of justunder £25 per head which included tip Very pleasant and competent staff made this an excellent visit and now that we are back out and about, will be a more regular visitor.
Written 4 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Venture813850
Thank you for your kind words,we try our hardest to please our customers.Its a pleasure when we get a good review and proves we are doing what we should be.
Written 11 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

VacationMan51
12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
I went here with my partner for the Groupon menu. It was midweek so the pub was quiet. I found the staff lovely and welcoming from the time we arrived. It is an old traditional pub with an open fire, darts board, etc. Very cosy. The food itself was very tasty and all seemed freshly made. For starters we had the brie and the cauliflower gratin. Both dishes were tasty. For mains, we had the steak and mushroom pie (really good) with fresh vegtables and the chilli which was perfectly flavoured. The portions were generous and we both had wine as part of the Groupon deal. Great food, friendly staff, traditional pub. Couldn't really fault it. Highly recommended and would definitely return.
Written 26 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidC21222
Thank you for your kind words.. We are over the moon to hear you have had a great experience- a lot of hard work goes into our home made meals and ensuring you have a pleasant visit with us. Be sure to let us know if there’s anything we can do to improve the establishment or services. Always a pleasure, we look forward to seeing you next time Management at The Two Brewers Public House and Dining
Written 19 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Loaf25
35 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 couples
We wondered why we were the only ones eating (although pub looked grim inside)… after our food we realised why. Had brie wedges as a starter - the salad garnish was brown & the wedges were really hard like they were stale or reheated. Chicken pie & chips for main - tasteless, watery chicken pie & overcooked fatty chips… Yuk, waste of money. Don’t eat here!!
Written 25 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Venture813850
First of all, Let us offer our sincerest apologies for the poor quality of food you received at our establishment last week. It has always been our Goal to provide customer service that is polite, friendly and helpful along with delicious pub grub. We are sorry you were disappointed by our food. we will happily provide a refund upon a complaint regarding our food and can only apologize that this wasn't carried out . Thank you for notifying us of the problem, We will be Investigating your Complaint, we value your feedback and continued patronage. Please do pop by if you would like to chat in person. Sincerely, Management of The Two Brewers Public House and Dining
Written 9 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kevin john
31 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
The pub is exellent for implementing conovarious procedures. We sat near a nice fire and ordered a sausage sandwich and a normal pie type dish. The doom bar I ordered became unable as two other guys who incendentially had ordered before us sent their beers back. Not a good sign to serve poor quality beer. We waited then as did these guys over 40 minutes for food to arrive. Two people had been served only in this time (one staff and mum I believe) Why? When I said it was getting very silly to the waiter all this time we had a diatribe about radiators and other unintelligable excuses. My sausage sandwich was very nice but my wive's pie was very average. An over done pastry and a lack of gravy meant the dish was a little dry. To be fair the waiter did bring a dish of gravy after my wive had the courage to ask. Final comment by my wife was it will be a long time before we come here again. However the drink was knocked off the bill. Good touch. (Guys liked the place before but cheesed off.)
Written 28 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Venture813850
Thank you for reviewing The Two Brewers! We appreciate all reviews so we can improve where needed. We have taken on board your thoughts about our standards. Be sure to let us know if there’s anything we can do to improve the establishment or services. Its Always a pleasure, we look forward to seeing you next time Many thanks Management at the Two Brewers Public House and Dining
Written 9 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tartnjohn
Olney3490 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 couples
Decided to leave the cooking aside for a change and headed down to 'the Brewers' for a meal. The redesigned bar area is a massive improvement over that of a year ago. Nice comfortable lounge furniture for the drinkers sits well in the same area as the dining tables. I used to be amazed at the very large menu on offer here but I suspect, a combination of reduced number of diners and the cost of ingredients has contributed to a significant reduction in choice. To be fair, there is still a good selection to cater for most needs, tastes and preferences but not the choice of days before Covid & Cost of Living crisis. My wife had Prawn Cocktail, a well presented dish with myself opting for the autumn veg soup. Both items were tasty, more than adequate portions and excellent value for money. Our mains were a Chicken & Ham Pie which was excellent. A lovely pastry with the pie crammed with plenty of ham and an equal supply of chicken. Cooked to a tee! My wife had the Beef Lasagne which she throughly enjoyed however she did feel that there could have been a little more beef in the filling. Extremely tasty and well cooked. The quality of the food, excellent service and the fact we also had some drinks (1 pint and half pint cider,) meant we had great value for less than £40.
Written 11 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

tartnjohn
Olney3490 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 none
Group of us decided to go to the Comedy night which is held here so why not make a night of it by having a meal. I had the meat lasagne and it was very tasty. 3 pieces of Garlic Bread and a reasonable side salad wasn't quite Italian but was certainly filling and good value for money. Comedy night was excellent too. Great compere and two very good acts with 4 others which ranged from being less than good to mediocre. Good night considering the £5 entry price.
Written 16 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tartanjohn
Olney406 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 solo
Group of us got together for a catch-up including a meal and drinks. This is a good little pub in the town of Olney and serves above average pub food with a range of ales, wines & spirits. It can't compete against the many eateries in town but is certainly ideal for food rather than a fine dining experience with prices which won't break the bank. I had scampi & chips which was excellent. Great portion of scampi with peas, chips & tartare sauce at just over £9. As far as speed of service was concerned, couldn't fault it just a pity the delivery lacked a little chat and banter which I always like to reflect in my rating. Good overall experience of the food and company.
Written 7 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

AlexTheJock
Wigston3051 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 none
My wife and I had lunch here and it was such a lovely experience. We've never visited this town before so were at a loss for where to have something to eat, but really fortunately for us there was a parking space right in front the pub and as we parked up we noticed the board outside offering two courses for £7.25, so we thought that we'd give it a chance and we're so glad that we did. The member of staff that saw to us throughout our visit was friendly and welcoming, the food was excellent and both of us agreed that we couldn't have chosen a better place for a bite to eat. We would both easily recommend this place for a good value, delicious meal in a lovely, friendly atmosphere.
Written 28 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

tartnjohn
Olney3490 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 couples
Visited on Olney's busiest day (Dickens of a Christmas) but still managed to get a seat albeit at a tiny table but we were hungry. Situated beside the roaring log fire, we were not long in heating up after our walk around town. Noticing the 'special menu', we decided just to eat here rather than going home and cooking and frankly, we made a great choice. Both settled on the Roast Turkey with trimmings and when it was brought to us, we couldn't find the Turkey. Moving the trimmings around revealed 3 succulent slices of but the sheer volume of greens/veg, potatoes and a huge Yorkshire pudding had conspired to hide it from prying eyes. Cooked to perfection and plenty of it, meant I had to help my wife decant some of her extronious portion onto my plate but I loved every bit of it. Adding a couple or two of drinks and we were in heaven for a few hours. chatting to some other visitors to town, saw them also deciding to take advantage of the kitchen offering. Unfortuately we left before I was press ganged into helping another two diners leave a clean plate. Great food, served quickly and ideal for that particular day.
Written 10 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

tartnjohn
Olney3490 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 couples
First time I visited for a meal since it had an internal facelift and was impressed. The new layout is neat and tidy, separating the food tables from comfortable soft seating for the drinkers. Not a distinct separation, a subtle one. The menu has shrunk a little but still has a good choice of pub type food along with an extensive gluten free/vegetarian/vegan range. Service was pretty slick and saw our scampi & cod being delivered pretty quickly. Cooked well and presented as pub food is, I can see us visiting again, maybe for their lunch offers.
Written 11 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 152
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
The Cock
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Teapots of Olney
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
Swan Inn and Bistro
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Capadocia
££ - £££ · Mediterranean, Turkish, Grill, Middle Eastern
The Robin Hood
££ - £££ · British, Pub
Cowpers Oak
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
The Cherry Tree
££ - £££ · Bar, British
The Bull Hotel
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Rasso's Pizzeria
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE TWO BREWERS, Olney - 34 High St - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire