We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pickled Ploughman Pub

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Aynho Road | Banbury, Adderbury, Banbury, England
+44 1295 810327
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 381: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just a quick review, looking for somewhere new to visit and despite passing this place many times we have never been here so we thought we should give it a go. Staff very friendly and helpful, decor and environment lovely and a nice open fire to sit by. Menu varied and food very nice so all in all a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
Hannah A, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate this excellent review very much but a little confused about the value for money. We offer a two course menu for £10 per person Monday to Friday, which is great value! Look forward to seeing you again More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Easy to book on line Staff where very helpful Food excellent We will be going back Wheel chair friendly

Helpful?
Thank Adam R
Hannah A, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We aim to please and we are very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. More 

Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Came back after not having had a good experience last time. However this time after having to wait an hour for your food when it wasn't even busy does not make a pleasant experience.Will definitely not be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Iguana56
Hannah A, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We do hope to see you again and I'm sure that next time you wont be disappointed. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited this lovely friendly pub and very warm welcome from Ewen and Bethany. The meal was lovely at lunchtime with our friends. The menu is varied and the chefs presented our meals lovely. Well worth a visit and all were very welcoming especially when I asked for a small fork🍴!! Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Karen N
Hannah A, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. We always aim to please and look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us ate yesterday at this lovely pub/restaurant. We arrived early so had a coffee in the bar before our friends arrived. We were not rushed but shown to our table later where we all had delicious meals. All portions are large. The staff were friendly, helpful & informative. I wish the pickled ploughman was closer to where we... More 

Helpful?
Thank magsHertfordshire
Hannah A, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Bodicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a warm inviting pub. The staff are very friendly and the Manager, Hannah will always make you feel comfortable and welcome. We often come to this pub for a quick drink after work ( even though we drive passed our house!). This often turns into a meal as we are so relaxed! As busy as they are, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank _dave_hawkes
Hannah A, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad you that enjoy visiting our pub and we love having you so making you feel comfortable and welcome is easy! Our Head Chef, Phil, is very accommodating and is great at coming up with new ideas so he would probably enjoy having you as his chief taster!!! Looking forward to seeing you... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A really disappointing visit. Starters were great, mains not so. A mushroom risotto with Parmesan crisps served with no Parmesan crisps because the chef hadn't prepared any. Piri Piri chicken served as plain dried up plain chicken wings, no seasoning or piri Piri as the chef hadn't marinated the chicken. Left hungry and very disappointed. Not offered any discount only... More 

Helpful?
Thank mckaylisa
Hannah A, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Apologies about the Parmesan crisp that you should have had with your mushroom risotto, as for the Peri Peri Poussin, this is not plain, dried up, plain chicken wings, its poussin, which is a small baby chicken. We tried every attempt to ensure... More 

Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

Visit on a Saturday for light lunch. Over all nicely decorated though a bit cold , could do with turning up the heating. The menu was for the evening No sandwiches, Lite bit's , jacket potatoes only main meals off evening menu. Price range £13.00 - £18.00 so costly for lunch time. Lunchtime menu available mon-Fri !!!

Helpful?
Thank John B
Hannah A, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for your review. I am terribly sorry that you were not offered the sandwich menu on this particular day. It is unusual for this to happen. The lunch time menu is available Monday to Sunday and we are also very flexible with dishes if there is nothing that takes your fancy. We hope to see you... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

We went to the Pickled Ploughman for a Sunday lunch. The food was excellent, generous portions. Staff were attentive and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Helpful?
Thank SER2415
Hannah A, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We all love a Traditional Sunday Roast and so we are glad you were satisfied with your experience. We look forward to seeing you again More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

I visited the Pickled Ploughman in December for my friends baby shower. I oganised the event and everyone I spoke to when I called was very helpful and helped me make it a great success. The food was really nice, no one had any complaints and the service serving our food was really good. My only one fault was getting... More 

Helpful?
Thank kandpOxford
Hannah A, General Manager at The Pickled Ploughman Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Travellers who viewed The Pickled Ploughman Pub also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Pickled Ploughman Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aynho Road | Banbury, Adderbury, Banbury, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Banbury  >  Adderbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1295 810327
Description
ABOUT US
For fabulous food, friendly service and quality ales, The Pickled Ploughman is a great choice.
We have a firm focus on fresh local ingredients. Whatever you want, whatever the season, The Pickled Ploughman is sure to have something on the menu to whet your appetite. For more private dining our private dining room is available and seats up to 20 diners or more for a more casual reception celebration, it's perfect for birthdays, anniversaries or just for getting your friends together.

Our fabulous bar is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a pre-dinner drink or morning coffee and afternoon tea. With a welcoming log fire for the chilly days, you may find it hard to leave.

What is great local food without a friendly local service? We're committed to delivering service that is a welcoming and efficient. Our staff wants you to enjoy your meal and aim to be as attentive as they can be, so you can be assured you will be greeted with a smile and receive the best local service in an easy, relaxed atmosphere.
Offers
Reduced drinks prices from3-6 Monday to Friday
Friday Beer Sale £1.00 Off all ales
Pre Fixe menu 12-6 Monday to Thursday
Sunday Lunch choice of Roasts from £10.00 Per head
2 FOR 1 On all main courses from the 5th January
2 FOR1 Pizza from 3-6 Monday to Thursday
Childrens menu
Gluten Free Menu

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pickled Ploughman Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?