We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Horse

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
70 Rainhill Road | Prescot, Rainhill L35 4PF, England
+44 151 426 4195
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 09:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 205: English reviews
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here with my 2 children on Monday . The service was excellent from the barman Wesley who also waited on us . The food was lovely we had the duck with pancakes, all American platter and mixed grill burger

Helpful?
1 Thank marshmr
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you, for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your food. Wesley will be really pleased with the comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Rainhill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently visited here with my family I heard about the new menu so we though we'd give it a try. We was welcomed by a small young lady who was happy and bubbly and offered to find seats for us and explain that at the current time there was a wait of food but it was expected due to... More 

Helpful?
Thank G-Lilly98
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you, for you lovely review G-Lilly98 we are really pleased you enjoyed you last visit with us. Your comments will be passed onto the team, who will be really pleased with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our second visit to The Black Horse but this time 10 of us went to eat here on a Sunday evening. We had a lovely time and even after us ordering over half the menu from steaks to pasta dishe everything arrived promptly and it was piping hot and delicious. Everyone really enjoyed their meals and the lady who brought... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheHungryLyons
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you, for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you, for visiting and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were a large party but we all ordered separately. Whilst the staff were wonderful, the food unfortunately wasnt. 4 things we asked for were not available (2 were bottles of wine advertised but not available, 2 were foodbased - chicktastic meal and the jelly pot for kids). Cod fish and chips - fish was soggy so left half but... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for tea on fri 28 april with my grandaughter, we were told there would be a 40 min wait for food which was fine as it was quite busy, one hour and twenty mins later still no food, wen it finally came we got Over cooked chicken , dry chips and soggy onion rings , the only reason we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne-marie H
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you, for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit. We acknowledge that we were busy over the weekend and long waits for both tables and food were unavoidable. We understand that the increased wait on your food lead to frustration on your part. Had you brought to our attention at the time your unhappiness with... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a Saturday evening as a family. We were told when we ordered that there would be an hr wait for food. We said ok as long as starters arrived. Starters came in dribs & drabs. We waited for almost 2 hrs for the mains!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent visit. We acknowledge that we were extremely busy over the weekend and long waits for food and tables were unavoidable. We understand that the long wait on food lead to frustration on your part. However, we feel that we cannot apologise for being busy and serving a huge... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Came here yesterday with my husband for what was supposed to be a couple of drinks but ended staying for tea. We were greeted by a lovely lady behind the bar who we can only assume was the new manager. She made sure my wine glass was steam cleaned before pouring my wine and said that's how things are supposed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andiep33
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you, for your amazing review Andiep33. We're really pleased you enjoyed your last visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Stopped off here after a long journey home and couldn't be happier with the service. Despite being particularly busy the staff coped really well and made sure to keep checking on us throughout our meal. Both drinks and food are well priced and the beer garden is a wonderful place to sit, just a shame it wasn't sunnier.

Helpful?
Thank AaronJones60
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you, for your wonderful review AaronJones60. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us. These comments will be passed on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Family visit.18th birthday.3 coujons and one single lettuce leaf given with no toms/onion for starter.frozen chips,tinned peas given for main meal.if i'd have wanted tinned peas i'd have opened a tin at home.Nice pub but food not up to scratch. I complained to waitress,she said she would let them know.Heard nothing back.

Helpful?
Thank Jgmolyneux
PeterC2009, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. Sites such a these can be useful as feedback given constructively helps us further improve our standards and service. May we take the opportunity to clarify that we are a community pub proudly part of sizzling pub and grill brand. We serve pub food at extremely reasonable prices... More 

Merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Been for breakfast here recently...i wouldn't say it was amazing but it did the job....food was hot/ reasonable prices/varied choice & clean tables your elbows don't stick too finally. Staff did ask if everything was ok with the food, but come on wessley give it more than 5mins before you ask us if everything's ok with the food !! Let... More 

Helpful?
Thank u2fanu2
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you, for your review. Breakfast is served Daily from 9am to 12noon. Unlimited Tea & Coffee is always available between these times. More 

Travellers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

Rainhill, Merseyside
Rainhill, Merseyside
 
Rainhill, Merseyside
Rainhill, Merseyside
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 70 Rainhill Road | Prescot, Rainhill L35 4PF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Rainhill
  • Phone Number: +44 151 426 4195
Description
At Sizzling we believe the people of Prescot deserve more from their local pub. And it's our job to give you just that.

We're a friendly bunch and we pride ourselves on giving the warmest of welcomes. We're committed to seeking out the very best quality ingredients at prices that are honest and fair. We're a real part of the local community, proud to help fundraise for charities and offer our function area free of charge to locals and groups.

We're local to Whiston, Huyton & Eccleston, so whether you're up for a party, watching sport, meeting with friends and family or just relaxing and taking the time to unwind, Black Horse Inn is the pub putting the sizzle in Prescot

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Black Horse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?