We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (485)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
286
98
37
35
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
286
98
37
35
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips sunday roast pizza pie the pub beer garden great sunday lunch quality of food gravy
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was poor with lengthy waiting times for food There were lots of noisy children running round, tables and floors were dirty Given the prices charged the whole place needs a good refit Parking outside is tricky, and you risk getting a parking ticket unless...a staff member registers your car. You have to ask them to do this, they won't ask you.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited, with a friend, on a beautiful, sunny Sunday. We cycled there and decided to have lunch outside in the garden area. We opted for the Sunday lunch as I really fancied the celeriac dauphinois- it was good to see a slightly different option...for vegetarians. Unfortunately the dauphinois was very dry - no obvious cream there- it was accompanied with roast potatoes, kale, mashed swede, Yorkshire pudding, vegetarian gravy- all quite salty. All things I love, but let down by the dauphinois- such a disappointment. The staff were friendly, the outside area was busy, but pleasant.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2024

The new paint in the toilets make me feel like I’m entering the Chamber of secrets. Couldn’t have picked a worse colour to use. Way too dark and dingey for the place

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

We are sorry to hear that you don’t like Harry Potter. Hopefully the new colour of our toilets will grow on you 😁

Reviewed 28 April 2024 via mobile

Food was incredible, can’t complain there. Compliments to the staff, however it would be nice to train your waitresses up in socialising. However the service from staff was shocking, we had our water slammed on the table with no socialising. Didn’t get chance to say...how the meal was as we didn’t get asked how it was. When the food was put on the table, we had minimal communication from the young lady ‘chicken’ no other words left her mouth. Overall, I am disappointed with the service coming from the waitress’ side.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

We are so sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit. We take all feedback seriously and will do our upmost to make improvements going forward. Thank you for taking the time to contact us.

Reviewed 21 April 2024 via mobile

Starters amazing, mains superb, meat tender but not so much flavour. Huge Yorkshire puddings, lively variety of coloured veg. Good vegetarian selection. Large portions and lively atmosphere. Staff were attentive, polite but not intrusive, will definately return. Prices fair

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

What a wonderful review, thank you. Our team will be so happy to read this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 20 April 2024

We had lunch here today for my dad's birthday having had a nice Sunday lunch a few weeks ago, but on this occasion the food was hit and miss unfortunately. Only one gluten free option was on the menu, ox cheeks which were dry and...gristly. The potatoes were also very dry. My dad's fish and chips were good however which was the main thing. Sadly I wouldn't choose to return, the poor choice of gf alternatives was very disappointing.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We will definitely be looking into this. We aim to make sure that everything is perfect when you visit us and we are sorry to have disappointed you on this occasion.

Reviewed 15 April 2024 via mobile

The Nelson used to be one of the very best eating pubs in the area, their Sunday lunch gravy being something to behold. We hadn't eaten there since before Covid, but standards have dropped alarmingly. Our "2" rating reflects our overall dining experience :- 1....The place is dingy - the carpets would have been stylish once but we're full of ingrained dirt, skirting boards & walls similarly shabby. My wine glass still had lipstick on the outside! 2. The staff were very polite, but the service was poor. I had to get up to find someone as our drinks order had been forgotten - they sorted this out & our food arrived a matter of 30 seconds later - not great! I then had to get up to find someone to clear our table- our table for 2 was obscured & not on a regular run! 3. The Sunday Lunch gravy was pretty tasteless, a big let down. The horseradish sauce was gloopy & horrible. It was obviously cheap stuff that they buy in & then put in jars to make it look homemade - sorry but didn't work for us! 4. Actually, the food itself with the exception of the gravy & sauces was pretty good. All in all, a very disappointing dining experience - as there are so many good village pubs that do great food in the area, it won't be on our list for coming back, certainly not until we hear that things have changed. It's a harsh review, but places need this feedback - impressive looking Yorkshire's don't win the day for everyone !More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your dining experience with us. Your comments will of course be looked into and feedback is very important to us. We are in the process of a general refurb which has just started and is ongoing...More

Reviewed 10 March 2024

How disappointing! The food was nice but the staff were rude! The manageress was completely unsuited to a role where courtesy and manners are needed important. She was terrible which resulted in a most unpleasant experience.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

We visited on Saturday 9th March for lunch. The girls waitressing were friendly but the two women working behind the bar were miserable. They didn't smile at any customer they interacted with and it was clear they did not want to be there. Everything was...an inconvenience for them. The food was OK but didn't make up for the hostile atmosphere so we won't be coming back.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2024

Very limited menu but did have the fish and chips which was delicious apart from an egg cup full of peas. Service was good and staff very pleasant

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Thank you for your review we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

We’ve ate here a couple of times before and returned on Sunday for one of their roast, it did not disappoint! Just like the times before, a really friendly, warm welcoming, staff all looked happy even though you could see they were busy. Service was...super quick and friendly like it has been the past couple of times, food was amazing, compliments to the chef! This place is keeping the high standard that we have been told so much about.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Thank you for your review we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 28 January 2024

Been here a few times, nice pub and good warm atmosphere. I have given a very good rating here as the welcome was good and the thing we came to have, Sunday lunch, was lovely. I know Sunday is busy but, no one came to...take a drink order, we had to flag the barman. There wasn't any cutlery on the table, no water jugs brought out to us even though water glasses were on the table. No one came to ask if we wanted more drinks until we were about to pay. You know, the basics were missing. The caulifower cheese i thought was very expensive for the portion. I cant understand why the 3 large pigs in blankets was less money than the cauli cheese. weird! We had to ask for mint sauce and horseradish, again basics for a Sunday dinner. So all in all good food, but service not so good. There didnt seem to be a manager organising the staff.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Thank you for your review, we have taken your points on board and aim to improve for your next visit with us

Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Not sure what’s happening here at the moment. We’ve been serval times but the last two (December and today) have not been great experiences. Sunday lunch was lovely as always but the service has seriously gone down hill 😢. Table not laid, even though booked,...ages to get a drink when bar staff are stood chatting, no offer of sauces etc once roasts delivered, no water brought over even though glasses are on the table as standard, no one asked if we wanted another drink (and we all would have done so you lost out hugely) table of 6 and 10 respectively. Just doesn’t feel like you’ve got it together which is a real shame because your pub is lovely. Also to note, when we came in December, we sat to the right as you come in the door and it was Freezing, radiator wasn’t on.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Thank you for your review, disappointed to hear your visit wasn’t up to scratch. Regarding warmth, we usually always have our open fire on in the winter and complaints are always that it’s too warm! So unfortunately can’t please everyone! Our staff are in regular...More

Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

  Visited as part of a group for an 86th birthday celebration in January 2023.  Not long after we arrived, a member of young staff managed to tip a large glass of red wine all over me. Left wet from my glasses to my jeans,...and standing outside the baby change/disabled toilet (ir was occupied) for about 10 mins I then had to ask for some paper to try to dry myself off in privacy.  I was given a couple of blue sheets off a roll which couldn't possibly absorb or help. I ended up having to wear my husbands fleece as my top was too wet and cold to sit in all evening. I do appreciate that accidents can happen and that the girl serving was very apologetic and embarrassed, I didnt like to make too much fuss at the time. However,  having been passed twice by the manager and still being left to try to sort myself out without any offer of assistance, both I and others in my party were shocked and disappointed that there was no management assistance offered to either me or the member of staff,   or  any  apology from management for the inconvenience and upset that was caused.  Rather than publicly reviewing at the time I wrote to them and asked them to review their customer service in the event of a future incident. Its now been a year and I haven't had any response from this establishment. Having recently read a reply from another restaurant responding to a similar incident, it has brought this uncomfortable experience, poor service and lack of consideration back in great detail. Hence my late review.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Thank you for your review however writing this a year after it happened unfortunately doesn’t affect any of our current staff. Apologies your visit was memorable for the wrong reasons, unfortunately accidents do happen. I’m sure whoever it was that served you the as mortified...More

Reviewed 22 January 2024

We used to come here when run by Moleface, when it was really good.They did the best pork belly. We ordered Pork Belly today which was not cooked properly at all. It was extremely chewy and full of undercooked white fat, not a sign of...crackling, just a flabby rind. The gravy on the plate had a thick skin on and had the consistency of glue and was not at all hot.Pork Belly was served with some cooked pears that were overly salty and again not hot. No other accompaniments. Really let down this establishment.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Nelson Burton Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Hi Linda, moleface haven’t run this pub for many years however the same principal has been kept regarding our chefs and menus, sorry your visit wasn’t up to your standard. We are confident our food and service is the same if not better than previous...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite
189 reviews
3.94 miles away
Colwick Hall Hotel
1,247 reviews
4.13 miles away
The Bingham Townhouse
818 reviews
4.21 miles away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
910 reviews
5.03 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Wheatsheaf
833 reviews
.13 miles away
Rhubarb Cafe & Tea Room
53 reviews
.07 miles away
Burton Joyce Fish Bar
47 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lowdham Signal Box
10 reviews
2.04 miles away
Gedling Country Park
155 reviews
2.09 miles away
Gunthorpe Lock
44 reviews
2.18 miles away
TeamSport E-Karting Nottingham
310 reviews
2.40 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
redheadbabe
22 March 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from B P | Reviewed this property |
The.y have a garden with dog bowls etc. I'm guessing due to Health & Safety etc dogs wouldn't be allowed in the main eating area which is pretty much the majority of the inside. I can't answer 100% though, so might be worth... More
0
Votes
cleverclare99
29 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from James S | Reviewed this property |
Yes. Weather permitting.
1
Vote
Dave M
23 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from IHC2008 | Reviewed this property |
I went in on Friday. The menu has changed and the price has shot up. My wife’s food was not anywhere near the standard of the food previously. Mine was a special carried over from a previous menu and was great.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE NELSON BURTON JOYCE - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Nelson Burton Joyce

Yes, The Nelson Burton Joyce offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Nelson Burton Joyce is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Nelson Burton Joyce is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5