We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lanes Restaurant

Is this your business?
High Street, West Coker, Yeovil BA22 9AJ, England
+44 1935 862555
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“hake” (2 reviews)
“cheesecake” (2 reviews)
“chicken” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, West Coker, Yeovil BA22 9AJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 152 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Got around tom trying this restraint and really enjoyed the food here, difficult to decide what to have from the menu but what we had was lovely good sized portions and everything was tasty. First impressions were the restraint had little ambiance and a little...More

Thank Robert B
Shaun W, Owner at Lanes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed eating with us. I agree with you that food quality and service are more important than ambience. With that said, we are looking at ways to enhance the room and hope introduce some of these...More

Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

I recently visited Lanes to have Afternoon Tea with a group of friends. This was booked well in advance with one of the party requesting the Gluten Free option. We were very disappointed with what we were served. The scones and sandwiches weren’t great and...More

Thank Steph G
Shaun W, Owner at Lanes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are naturally disappointed that you did not enjoy your afternoon tea with us. We serve up to 200 afternoon teas a week and believe that we offer good value for money at £14.50. Generally,...More

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

A group of 13 of us had afternoon tea to celebrate birthdays. We were all so impressed with the quality and quantity of the food served. Sandwiches were lovely and fresh, and the selection of cakes amazing! The shortbread was phenomenal! Only possible change would...More

Thank Katie P
Shaun W, Owner at Lanes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We have been putting a lot of work into developing our afternoon tea cake selection for what has become a really popular service at Lanes, it's nice to get positive feedback. Personally, I...More

Reviewed 4 January 2018

We're wondering, is Lanes under new management because the food was the worst we've had in years? Why? No rocket so they put pea sprouts on the pizza. Hertiage tomatoes? Supermarket cherry tomatoes! Short on gnocchi, throw in some whole (pickled?) onions. Goats cheese instead...More

Thank Ben H
Shaun W, Owner at Lanes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was naturally disappointed to read of the shortcomings during your recent visit and I offer my sincere apologies. These are not our usual standards. I don't want to make excuses but following the Christmas...More

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely night the food was all good and we were looked after very well all night we will defiantly return we are coming for a spa day the day before my daughters wedding in October so looking forward to a good meal...More

Thank louise g
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 9 September 2017

Was Well cooked and presented, but very expensive. Did have a nice meal, but staff seemed very up themselves at times. Really enjoyed the meal, there were some SUPER ncie staff, like our waitress. Enjoyed seeing the goats after too.More

Thank SophieNefaln
Shaun W, Owner at Lanes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed the food and your kind note about 'some nice staff'. The staff are generally a friendly lot and I'm sorry that you found others to be 'up themselves'. Regarding prices, I...More

Reviewed 4 July 2017

We stayed at this hotel and had the evening meal which was cooked to perfection and very well presented

Thank Mary W
Management response:Responded 5 July 2017

I am so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. Our new Head Chef only joined us a week ago and already appears to have hit his stride. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 20 June 2017

We were lucky enough to be invited to a wedding reception here two weeks ago. It was the first time we had been here and we were not disappointed. A warm welcome in reception where we were shown into a room overlooking the gardens. A...More

Thank jb21311
Management response:Responded 22 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your day with us. We have been hosting weddings for well over a year now and have had some wonderful celebrations at the hotel. I do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

First time visited this restaurant in the evening, it was booked as a surprise for my Birthday. Shown to our table drinks order taken very friendly and pleasant staff. We all chose a different dish and it was superb. My husband had the steak he...More

Thank Margaret095
shaun w, Owner at Lanes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed dinner with us recently. We are very lucky to have such a fine butcher in S. Saunders in West Coker and the steaks, and indeed all of our...More

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

I've been here numerous times in the past and yesterday I decided to go down with the family for a drink before dinner. There was a lovely atmosphere in the bar where the locals had congregated to catch up and discuss their days over a...More

Thank TommySangers
Management response:Responded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Lanes in the summer time really is special. I'm glad that you enjoyed your drinks and our splendid gardens.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all West Coker Hotels
Lanes Hotel
385 reviews
.11 miles away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
292 reviews
.94 miles away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
252 reviews
1.52 miles away
The Helyar Arms
233 reviews
1.60 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Oak
78 reviews
.93 miles away
The Royal George Public House
129 reviews
.09 miles away
The Orchard - Food & Coffee House
93 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Montacute House
867 reviews
2.48 miles away
The Octagon Theatre
226 reviews
2.52 miles away
Ham Hill Country Park
92 reviews
3.34 miles away
Montacute TV Radio Toy Museum
93 reviews
2.36 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Viewpoint70
5 November 2016|
Answer
Response from ANDREW F | Reviewed this property |
The menus changes and I am guessing that they do not know what on next week
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, West Coker, Yeovil BA22 9AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Yeovil  >  West Coker
  • Phone Number: +44 1935 862555
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing