We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Phelips Arms Pub

14
All photos (14)
Certificate of Excellence

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
43
49
19
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
43
49
19
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch options apple pie rump steak peas soup pasta jacket potato montacute house famous steak an excellent lunch stopped for lunch on tap welcoming atmosphere portion size specials board at lunchtime friday night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Really pleased to say that this is a great option in Montacute. We were lucky enough to use the private skittles and pool function room for our large family and children. Food from the carvery was great and we felt it was good value. Communication...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Winch2231
Navigate790209, Owner at The Phelips Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

So glad you enjoyed the skittle alley and the carvery! The skittle alley/function room is great for large groups, and thank you for sharing your experience! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped in for lunch on a wet rainy day after visiting Montacute House. There was no one in the pub and as it was getting close to lunch kitchen closing (2.30) we decided to eat here. The patrons and doggie were very friendly. A...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank LCB53
Navigate790209, Owner at The Phelips Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your positive comments and thank you for sharing! So glad you enjoyed your experience at The Phelips.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on route to Devon. So pleased we did. On a cold November evening we were greeted with an inviting fire, delightful hosts, wonderful food and a cosy room. The pub is simply delightful, it has a feel like its wrapped its arms...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Tom_Debz
Navigate790209, Owner at The Phelips Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for you nice comments and thank you for sharing! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come see us again soon!

Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

As a local it is most pleasing that The Phelips has reopened, doubling the evening eateries in the village! The decor and atmosphere have remained the same which is all very pleasant, the service was friendly and initially attentive but then slowed rather when it...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank K7186FBannes
Navigate790209, Owner at The Phelips Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Hi Anne, Thanks so much for the nice comments, I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the curry. We will endeavour to rectify this ASAP and hope that we live up to your expectations on your next visit. We look forward...More

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent food. A delight. New owners couldn't have been more helpful. Will come back again with more family members!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ChrisNash2
Navigate790209, Owner at The Phelips Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Hi Chris, thanks so much for your nice comments and thank you for sharing. So glad you enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you again soon and meeting more of your family.

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Great food, very reasonably priced for the portion sizes. The staff are welcoming and there was a great range of drinks. Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sarahw89
Navigate790209, Owner at The Phelips Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Thanks so much for your nice comments and thank you for sharing! So glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 13 October 2018

My wife and I had visited this pub several months ago and had a good experience. We decided to make a return visit having met up with friends for the day, taking in Montacute house. Unfortunately this experience was far from enjoyable. I ordered fish...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mjvhav
Navigate790209, Owner at The Phelips Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Mjvhav, Thank you for your review. I am so glad to hear that you received good service on your visit but am of course sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your fish and chips. Please do let me know if you do...More

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Beautifully located. With lots to see and do nearby. Entering the pub it was well presented. Cosy welcoming and exceptionally clean. I took my parents to try the carvery. Was very glad I did. Hot. Tasty and a great portion size. Felt like a valued...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank PaulT3568
Management response:Responded 9 September 2018

Thanks so much for sharing your positive experience today at The Phelips Arms. I am so glad you enjoyed it! Please do come see us again soon to indulge in the cheesecake!

Reviewed 8 September 2018

I find this a difficult review to write - this is a lovely village pub with great atmosphere and a friendly welcome. My choice of meal, the steak and ale pie, was good as it gets and if both meals had been to this standard...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 150casey
Management response:Responded 9 September 2018

I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with one of our meals, and I apologise for no one coming to ask you how your meal was. However, thank you for your feedback. We aim to give excellent customer service and provide a...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018

I know this is under new management but I believe the cook is the same as before. Our food was overpriced and very disappointing, shall not be going back.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Paul D
Management response:Responded 9 September 2018

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your meal and felt that it was over priced. We aim to be competitive with our prices and feel that they are very reasonable for the traditional pub fayre that we offer. I do hope that you...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Somersetgirly
30 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ThePhelipsArms | Property representative |
We have a carvery on Sunday, with a nut roast as a vegetarian option. We also offer 3 other meal choices off our menu, which change weekly, such as lasagne, scampi and chips and a vegetarian pasta.
1
Vote
muddylarks
21 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ThePhelipsArms | Property representative |
Dogs are welcome any where in the pub. We even have a dog friendly letting room!
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing