We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Boathouse Pub

££ - £££
Bar, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Auchinstarry, Kilsyth G65 9SG, Scotland
+44 1236 829200
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 23:00
Mon 08:00 - 23:00
Tue - Thu 09:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 391: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We frequent this restaurant regularly and are rarely disappointed. Last night the starters were lovely, but mains, particularly the cod lacked seasoning. Fish was cooked beautifully, however. Front of house mostly good.

Helpful?
Thank Maz53124
aberdeen
Level Contributor
251 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great restaurant in a lovely setting! Staff were friendly and helpful- with attentive service! Food arrived quickly and was tasty, fresh and plentiful! Would return if in the area!

Helpful?
Thank sunseeker0223
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse Pub, responded to this review

sunseeker0223, Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors when your next in the area. Kindest Regards Matt More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
637 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice view out on to the harbour so visit during daylight hours if you want to see. Nice menu, plenty of varied options and some really nice unusual/different options. I'd recommend the Thai beef salad starter, the halloumni starter with pineapple chutney! Plenty of staff on hand to help. Private dining room available. There were plenty of parties in when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Falkirk_Tiggs
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse Pub, responded to this review

Falkirk_Tiggs, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Our weekend specials are always a hit with our guests, the Thai Beef Salad was a particular hit that weekend and delighted that you enjoyed it. We pride ourselves on freshly prepared produce, served with a smile. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Restaurant in... More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I ate here with a colleague. We arrived late and the kitchen was kept open for us, as we had phoned ahead. (Thanks for that!) I had Haddock Gratin with prawns, which was simple but made with very fresh haddock & prawns. My colleague had the fish and chips, which I tasted. It was a very nicely smoked fish, not... More 

Helpful?
Thank DalkeyJohn
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse Pub, responded to this review

DalkeyJohn, Thank you for taking the time to review The Boathouse, Kilsyth. I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team. We do pride ourselves on freshly prepared meals and adopt a 'can do' attitude towards each other and our patrons alike. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards Matt More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible lunch experience , very slow service , Sunday roast full of dreadful fat , won't be back , staff walking past table when you have finished eating and you are sitting there forever waiting for your plates to be cleared , dreadful service

Helpful?
Thank Wiltra
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse Pub, responded to this review

Wiltra, Thank you for taking the time to review ourselves at The Boathouse, Kilsyth. I am truly sorry that you did not have a great experience when you were in on Sunday 13th. Our Sunday Roast Beef is 'Rib of Beef', which is naturally a cut with more fat and flavour. I am disappointed that the level of service you... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some owners / restaurateurs just get it, and that's certainly the case here at The Boathouse. Warm friendly welcomes, service, and food that means business. I remember being impressed on my first visit here over two years ago and was hopeful that it would be as good upon my return. It was, and in some ways had improved. On this... More 

Helpful?
Thank blairnichols
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse Pub, responded to this review

blairnichols Thank you for taking the time to review ourselves at The Boathouse. I will be sure to share your kind words with all of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kindest Regards Matt More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the restaurant with 16 family members to celebrate my 21st birthday and would just like to thank the boathouse team for their efforts that night. We were given a lovely table in a private room at the back which made it very special. I would highly recommend if you have a big table to request this room. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glitter1995
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse Pub, responded to this review

Glitter1995, Thank you for taking the time to review your 21st birthday meal at The Boathouse. I will share your kind words with Team Boathouse and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Boathouse in the not too distant future. Kindest Regards Matt More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Recommend booking for this restaurant which has a varied menu and a great reputation locally. Good place to take visitors and set in a lovely location. Food and service both very good.

Helpful?
Thank Jean T
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse Pub, responded to this review

Jean T, Thank you for your kind words. Regards Matt More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Food was delicious and great portions, service perfect, interior spotless and very comfortable on the whole a Brilliant place to eat 👍

Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse Pub, responded to this review

Brenda C Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We pride ourselves on our product and naturally strive to deliver exceptional standards continuously. I am delighted to hear your kind words and will share with the team here at The Boathouse. Kindest Regards Matt More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
998 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,261 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We are returning diners and have always enjoyed our meals. I must recognise that todays meal was the best, both in quality and being piping hot. The restaurant was very clean as was the tables. Very attentive staff. Compliments to the chef. Nice location with outdoor seating area overlooking the Forth & Clyde canal and local marina. Also a hotel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Keith J
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse Pub, responded to this review

Keith J, Thank you for taking the time to review ourselves at The Boathouse. We pride ourselves on freshly prepared meals using only the freshest of ingredients. I will share your kind words with everyone at Team Boathouse. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Boathouse very soon. Kindest Regards Matt More 

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Pub also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
 
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Boathouse Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Auchinstarry, Kilsyth G65 9SG, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  North Lanarkshire  >  Kilsyth
  • Phone Number: +44 1236 829200

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Boathouse Pub and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Orlando, Florida
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Boathouse Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?