We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Satis House

Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good11%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (17 reviews)
“steak” (20 reviews)
“pudding” (9 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

A friendly welcome, excellent afternoon tea, lovely grounds. Now in other reviews, people complained about poor service. These were written when it was under the old management. We met the friendly couple who now own Satis House, who are very helpful and full of great...More

Thank Colin C
Cara D, Owner at Satis House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 14 June 2017

Quality food quality venue quality service a great night with excellent service I had scallops to start fantastic

Thank eddy595
Cara D, Owner at Satis House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Well what can we say from booking in Sunday afternoon meeting Ben the Manager on reception for room key, we then went straight into the lovely peaceful garden area to enjoy the wonderful sunshine with cool refreshments later retired to room to prepare for evening...More

1  Thank linda a
Cara D, Owner at Satis House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Ben is our super talented Exec chef who always ensures our customers have a walk welcome. Thanks for this post.

Reviewed 19 May 2017

Visited here today for afternoon tea after booking a few weeks ago and after reading the reviews on here we were concerned as we had buy a gift vouchers. As we approached the house I was amazed by the beautiful settings of the venue. As...More

1  Thank jan b
Cara D, Owner at Satis House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you very much for this feedback. We really do appreciate your positive comments and hope to welcome you back again to Satis very soon.

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

This is the worst experience my husband and myself have ever had at a hotel, rude staff complaining about how busy they are, the manager has such a poor attitude to customers I am shocked they are still even running. Poor decor, dirty room, even...More

22  Thank mrsejones1976
Cara D, Owner at Satis House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Sadly it was also one of our most unfortunate experiences too as we had to ask these guests to leave due to unacceptable behaviour that disturbed our other guests.

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Great place. Cocktails followed by excellent meal. Wine list interesting and well priced. House Champagne- well chosen. Food very good- service friendly and attentive

Thank Icoisaac
Cara D, Owner at Satis House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your super feedback and we hope to see you all again very soon.

Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Over-priced, horrible owner (think recent change in ownership!) and terrible management. Staff slow and rude. Avoid at all costs! Never recommend in a million years.

21  Thank ariana g
Cara D, Owner at Satis House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit. Without further detail on what went wrong it is has to provide a meaningful response.

Reviewed 9 May 2017

My mum and dad received a buy a gift voucher from their grandchildren for their 50th wedding anniversary for dinner, bed and breakfast. What a lovely gift, or so we thought. The first phone call to book they were told that the hotel was busy...More

23  Thank Sharon A
Cara D, Owner at Satis House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Unfortunately the company selling the vouchers exceeded the contractually agreed limit we had signed up to. When the third party provider understood this had happened they asked us to advise customers to transfer the vouchers to an alternative venue. This is extremely unfortunate from the...More

Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We purchased 4 buy a gift vouchers for family Xmas presents plus we had one. When we and our family members tried to book a meal the person on the phone said they have reservations but when we mentioned we have a voucher they changed...More

18  Thank Artemisseeker
Cara D, Owner at Satis House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Unfortunately the company selling the vouchers exceeded the contractually agreed limit we had signed up to. When the third party provider understood this had happened they asked us to advise customers to transfer the vouchers to an alternative venue. This is extremely unfortunate from the...More

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

After trying twice now to book a table using our buy a gift voucher both occasions speaking to the owner who was unhelpful and very short with me , first occasion on mentioning I had a gift voucher told me to call back she was...More

18  Thank Sara S
Cara D, Owner at Satis House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

We received two calls in quick succession. We rang back later and left a message confirming we had availability. The point made over the telephone was that even with 5 chefs if my restaurant is full we cannot always run a set menu along with...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Yoxford Hotels
Satis House Hotel
745 reviews
.02 miles away
The Westleton Crown
842 reviews
2.62 miles away
The White Horse Hotel
41 reviews
4.67 miles away
The Ship at Dunwich
774 reviews
5.07 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Kings Head Public House
303 reviews
.09 miles away
Darsham Nurseries Cafe
217 reviews
.78 miles away
Red Poll Tearooms
21 reviews
.89 miles away
Louie Lou's Tea Room
20 reviews
.54 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Emmerdale Farm Shop
18 reviews
.89 miles away
Queen's Head at Bramfield
34 reviews
3.34 miles away
RSPB Minsmere
587 reviews
4.15 miles away
Saint Mary the Virgin Church
7 reviews
4.71 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Derekf110
10 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RedNightSky | Reviewed this property |
As above, I believe the owners are a gay couple - winners of an episode of a 'four in a bed' TV show. You could check this out as it might make you feel more comfortable about booking.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
18:30 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:00
Monday
18:30 - 20:30
Tuesday
18:30 - 20:30
Wednesday
18:30 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:00
Thursday
18:30 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:00
Friday
18:30 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:00
Saturday
18:30 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Saxmundham  >  Yoxford
  • E-mail
Description
This is for their restaurant, as opposed to the hotel. We didn't stay there but had a fabulous meal.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing