We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Since reopening the pub in March 2009 we've tried to impress people coming back with a wide selection of real ales and a stunning menu & specials board selection from our chefs. Visit our website to have a look at our restaurant menu, our drinks offering or to have a look at our special offers.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, BYOB
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
460
115
49
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
460
115
49
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pie chicken potatoes fish and chips sunday lunch the pub christmas meal booked a table waiting staff food was lovely swan gravy
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The swan is a lovely pub, it's a traditional pub which has been able to keep its history with embracing the present. Food is very good and staff are very polite and efficient, it has a large garden with ample seating for all who want...a drink in the summertimeMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First time visiting this restaurant, the staff were really friendly and attentive. The food was delicious, with lots of gluten free options available. We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 May 2022

Our family met here after my mother's funeral. The food provided was amazing! They had to cater for vegans, vegetarians, and gluten and mustard intolerances which they did admirably - all labelled, seperately plated and delicious. The buffet was obviously pre-booked, but it was all...ready and nicely laid out for us including tea and coffee. The staff were delightful and even smiled when my young grandson nearly tripped them up as they were serving other customers (sorry about that!). Thank you so much for making us smile after such a sad occasion.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 May 2022 via mobile

Went out for an impromptu lunch on Monday lunch time at The Swan, to be Greeted with the most lovely staff, our server Emma couldn't do enough for us, we went with the rump steak that was cooked to perfection and tasted amazing, with a...beautiful peppercorn sauce. Thanks The Swan TeamMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 May 2022

Foods good, but thats about it. If you are prepared to wait 40 minutes for your food and experience poor attitude when you mention the long wait.....the excuse being"it takes 25 mins to cook from fresh" (did they mention that when we ordered it?)...AND the...pub wasn't busy.......and then they have the cheek to tell you that you only have the table for 1h 30mins......dine at your own risk. My sum up is...would I dine there again...the answer would be NO.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
James G, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2022

Dear RoZoBet, Having checked our till and CCTV records, it is clear that you waited 25 minutes for your food to come out - this is not unusual when, as you say, the food is good - we are not, nor shall we ever be,...More

Reviewed 20 April 2022 via mobile

I came here for lunch on Monday 18th April with my little brother. Staff were attentive and quite the delight. Food was lovely, we had a Camembert to start followed by a chicken and gammon pie which was nicely seasoned and very filling. I would...100% recommend visiting.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 April 2022 via mobile

A lovely mother's day lunch. The restaurant is really lovely and the service very good. The food was delicious, although portions could have been a little bigger.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 April 2022

Visited 9th April with a party of 12. Friendly welcome, excellent service throughout and great food, including an allowance for food intolerances. We were there quite a long time as it was the first family gathering for quite a while, but were never made to...feel as though we had outstayed our welcome. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 March 2022

Can't fault the service or quality of food, however we think the extra large roast is slightly misleading, you can have a choice of UPTO 3 meats, my brother in law chose to have chicken and pork, I chose pork and lamb, we had 1...slice of each, if you had chosen for example the pork roast you would have 2 slices of pork (the same size slice as the extra large) all vegetables and potatoes were the same size for all meals, yet you are paying a minimum of £2 extra for nothing. Your menu should make it clear what the difference is.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 March 2022 via mobile

We visited the pub for a quick lunch and being working men our time is limited We ordered their two course menu consisting of a soup followed by steak After 30 minutes we had to ask the waitress if the soup was coming. It appeared...5 minutes later, The Moroccan spiced soup was good . We waited a further 25 minutes to then have to prompt the waitress again which brought the steak and chip out in another 5 minutes Our two steaks were over cooked, difficult to cut and had no moistness in them whatsoever We both left a lot of our meal on the plate When collecting the plates we told the waitress that to take 90 minutes for simple dishes was unacceptable, No apologies were given and she made the comment that if she knew we we busy men that she would have told us not to order two courses! She said next time let her know if we are busy and she will try and serve quicker, we told her there will not be a next timeMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
James G, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2022

Sir, When you arrived, with no prior booking, you were advised we could seat you but there may be a wait as we were busy with our pre-booked tables. We would suggest 90-minutes for two courses when you've been advised there may be a wait...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Portcullis Hotel
54 reviews
2.25 miles away
The Sodbury House Hotel
64 reviews
3.25 miles away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
1,076 reviews
3.45 miles away
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, An IHG Hotel
1,566 reviews
4.67 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The New Inn Pub
198 reviews
.55 miles away
The New Inn
176 reviews
.55 miles away
The Fox
519 reviews
.83 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hidden Depths Scuba School
30 reviews
.52 miles away
The Rising Sun
37 reviews
1.44 miles away
Viaduct Animal Sanctuary
29 reviews
2.02 miles away
Lady’s Wood Shooting School
23 reviews
3.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Paul T
27 February 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from James G | Property representative |
Hi Paul T, Unfortunately, we do not have a games room for children - we're more of a restaurant, really. Kind regards.
0
Votes
G-M_Bradley-Stoke
29 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MrRichard245 | Reviewed this property |
I'm afraid I have no idea. I do not live in the area and was only visiting when I reviewed it
0
Votes
sharmiller123s
29 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Janetlawna | Reviewed this property |
I have had festive menu there. Always excellent
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5