We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Horse

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
37 London Road, Shenley WD7 9ER, England
+44 1923 853054
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 221: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A very good pub with excellent friendly service, good food with a twist at reasonable prices, and a reasonable selection of beers.

Helpful?
Thank Mark K
JKobylarz1984, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Mark K, Thank you for your review, we hope to see you back soon. Regards, Justyna More 

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came for lunch today with my partner. I had the steak sandwich, my partner had the southern fried chicken both were cooked to perfection. The service was also very good the two lads behind the bar were very friendly and efficient and the lady I think her name was mechalia who was the manager on shift was fantastic....a credit to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
JKobylarz1984, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, We are so glad that you had a great time in our pub. Thank you for your review. Regards Justyna More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch today at the white horse with the kids and the hubbie today. We had the trio, roast beef and two kids roast chickens. All the plates were cleared! We were in a few months before and everything seemed a little bit unorganised but this visit was much improved. Well done white horse, we will be back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susiewusie1983
JKobylarz1984, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Susie, We are so glad that you enjoyed our roasts. Hope to see you soon. Justyna Kobylarz More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a quick lunch with my friends. We have been shown tables in the restaurant by a very nice lady (as we later found out she's the new manager at the pub). We had great time. Great service and very tasty food. I had salmon supreme and it was exceptional. Very much recommend.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisHughes48
JKobylarz1984, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Cristinel, Thank you for fabulous review its very appreciated. Regards, Justyna Kobylarz More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fab evening great atmosphere attentive staff really good evening had by all! Only out for girly drinks but couldn't resist the camembert cheese ..omg to die for!

Helpful?
Thank Hayley Jayne S
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

A few months ago we visited this pub/restaurant and had a very good Sunday roast so decided to book a table for the evening and dine here with some friends. This was a total mistake. We booked a table, turned up, stood at the bar for 7 minutes without being asked if we wanted to order drinks or if we... More 

Helpful?
Thank myopinion25
JKobylarz1984, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear myopinion25, Thanks for your review although it's not one I've enjoyed reading. We are really sorry that the food and service did not come up to yours or our standards. We have spoken to the kitchen team and made changes to ensure that this doesn't happen again. We have looked into all of the areas that you have raised... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

This is our local pub and we eat there at least 4 times a month. Tonight was a great disappointment. The Rib Eye Steak was tough, the twice cooked chips very dark brown/ overdone. Sea bass and vegetables were oily. The food is normally good and this was a disappointment. The waitress who cleared, merely said she would tell the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J N
JKobylarz1984, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear J N, I apologise that your food did not live up to your expectations. We use any feedback to improve the overall visit of any guest. As you mention in your review our food is really good so perhaps come visit us again so we can show you what we're really made of and we can give you a... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We love to come to the White horse. It's a lovely country pub with friendly staff, good food and great atmosphere. We always feel very welcome. We went here last week for my husband birthday dinner and all went really well - food was delicious, very polite and attentive staff. We will be definitely back and will recommend to everyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank BSally-67
JKobylarz1984, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear BSally, Thank you for amazing review ! Will passed all that lovely comments to our team. Hope to see you soon. Regards, Justyna Kobylarz More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

I really like The White House. It's got a really nice feel inside - wooden floors, old beams, open fire, fresh white walls, but most importantly they serve a good pint of Doom Bar and the food is great.

Helpful?
Thank Jim C
JKobylarz1984, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Jim, Thank you so much for this lovely feedback, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you soon. Regards, Justyna Kobylarz More 

Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Oops, I forgot to finish this one. As usual a fine meal in a pub restaurant with a great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
JKobylarz1984, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Kevin, Thank you for the feedback, we are so happy that you enjoyed your time in our pub. Regards, Justyna Kobylarz More 

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Radlett, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 37 London Road, Shenley WD7 9ER, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Shenley
  • Phone Number: +44 1923 853054

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The White Horse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Oakham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?