We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan Inn

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Low Street, Hoxne IP21 5AS, England
+44 1379 668275
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
East Anglia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is the sort of pub I hope to find when I go looking for one. Cosy, beamed rooms with huge open fireplaces. Staff were friendly and helpful, food was excellent (I believe pub was recently under relatively new management when we were there). Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank traveller900000
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Wow, what can I say, had a fantastic sunday roast here today, it really was the best roast you will get certainly in this area. So refreshing to be served a proper old fashioned roast thats not been served in a stack, which I always think is pretentious and just unnecessary. The portions are very generous and the standard of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lbarnard1893462
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a misty romp through muddy fields it was great to find a table at this thriving pub in a chocolate box village. Food was homely and tonic was fever tree. Jolly good quality and a very warm welcome. Thank you. Just what we needed.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1965maria
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Maria, Thanks for your support and kind review it is really appreciated by all the team at the Swan. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Greeted with a roaring fire on a winters night, ordered a bottle of red and settled into the bar area, this place is stunning, warm, cosy and just how a country pub should be. We had breads, oils and Olives, was perfect. Even booked Sunday lunch in a couple of weeks!

Helpful?
Thank Emma O
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thanks for your kind review and support it is much appreciated by all the team at the Swan. We look forward to seeing you on the Sunday, I am sure you wont be disappointed with our Sunday Roast. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins More 

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In this world of Gastro this that and the other, a proper pub with dining rooms and places to sit..... great warming hearty lunches and atmosphere.... always busy which is what one wants to keep such a place thriving. Always a pleasure.... and not too far for us which is an added bonus....

Helpful?
Thank Countrymousie
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and support, it is much appreciated by all the team. We will keep the Swan as it is because as you mentioned in your review it is what a country pub should be like with a great atmosphere created by our customers and the roaring fires with good hearty meals. See you... More 

Playa Flamenca, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a cold winters December's night we dined in front of a beautiful log burner. Difficult to find places to eat at this time of year. Staff managed to provide a table for three to dine. The dining experience for me was only good, lots of little things ruined the whole experience. Staff not very attentive and did not gel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks you Alex for your kind review and support, sorry on this occasion you had a few issues regarding our service and food. We do go round the area and try other establishments and as always it is down to customers personal taste. We are a village country pub in a beautiful 15th Century building in a fantastic village with... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were in the area and looking for somewhere to have a proper Sunday lunch. We called to make sure they had a table and luckily they were able to fit us in. The food and service was outstanding. I've never seen such a large roast dinner. Absolutely lovely building. Very pleased that we stumbled across this Inn. Will be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh P
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ashleigh, Thank you so much for your kind review and support. The chefs do a lovely Sunday roast which customers keep coming back for week after week. The support we have received since we re-opened the Swan has been amazing. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016

Booked a table here after a good review from a friend .we weren't disappointed. We were greeted warmly and shown to our table The fires were lit and the atmosphere was very welcoming . We were served very promptly and our drinks delivered immediately. We all had starters and mains which I'm pleased to say we're very tasty. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kim, Thank you so much for your kind review and support it is much appreciated by all the team at the Swan. I am really pleased you had a great meal and noticed all the little touches which make a difference. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I went to The Swan Inn with my family for dinner Saturday night. It was a really busy night but the staff were great, very attentive. They were able to adapt a meal to suit my allergies without hesitation. A lovely pub and great food. I would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Lizzi B
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lizzi, Thank you for your kind review and support, it is much appreciated by all the team at the Swan. I am really pleased you and your family had a great night at the pub, we have had excellent support since we opened in March. See you again soon. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We have just come home from having the best of dinners! Two of our group had venison steaks which were considered"the best" I had a vegetarian option which was very tasty and lastly a burger - every single mouthful was, of all four meals plus excellent starters, flavoursome and appetising and quite large portions. The service was friendly and welcoming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria inhoxne
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hi Maria, Thank you so much for your support, it is really appreciated by all the team. We have only just added the Venison Steaks to our menu and it is proving a very popular dish. I am really pleased you had an excellent evening at the Swan. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela... More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 
Pulham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$17
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Low Street, Hoxne IP21 5AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Hoxne
  • Phone Number: +44 1379 668275

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?