We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan Inn

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Low Street, Hoxne IP21 5AS, England
+44 1379 668275
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I think the reason we love this pub so much is the warm welcome we always get from Darren and Angie. This weeks visit was no different. We had friends staying with us so we went for an impromptu lunch and again, we were not disappointed. The steak and ale pies were, as usual, excellent and the chicken fillet burger... More 

Helpful?
Thank timetoexploreagain
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and support as always, you have been missed by all the team at the Swan, as you have been in and out of the country. It is great to have you both back and the car, see you again soon. Kind Regards Darren, Angela & Twins More 

Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first time back at the Swan under the new management. We booked Sunday lunch for 4 people at 1230. Warm welcome from the staff. We all opted for the Sunday Roast. The beef was tough to chew and the vegetables were all piled up on the plate in a muddle. Desserts were small and expensive. Coffee was served after... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank David A
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon David, Thank you for your review and support. Sorry on this occasion the roast was not to your liking. We have had fantastic support since we re-opened the Swan on the 17th March last year. We are full every Sunday with customers coming back week after week, that is why we turn the tables twice if we can... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we thought we would give the swan a try for sunday lunch and we certainly were not disappointed,roaring log fires,lovely food and such a wonderful warm friendly atmosphere,the inn also has bags of character,dogs welcome too.will definitely be going back for more very soon.THANKS!

Helpful?
1 Thank spencerj49
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and support, it is much appreciated by all the team at the Swan. We hope to see you back again soon and once again thanks for your support. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins More 

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited last night with friends and found a pub with a bubbling atmosphere, every room was full of diners and the bar was overflowing from a shoot party who had already eaten. The food and service was first class and a pub that we used to frequent is certainly back on our radar. Congratulations to the new (10 months)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harry_Gunter
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hi Harry, Thank you so much for your kind review and support. I am really pleased you had a great time and we hope to see you back again soon. We have had fantastic support since we re-opened the Swan 10 months ago. Thanks for your support. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins More 

East Anglia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

This is the sort of pub I hope to find when I go looking for one. Cosy, beamed rooms with huge open fireplaces. Staff were friendly and helpful, food was excellent (I believe pub was recently under relatively new management when we were there). Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank traveller900000
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you so much for your kind review and support, it is much appreciated by all the team at the Swan. We hope to see you back again soon. Thanks for your support. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins More 

Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Wow, what can I say, had a fantastic sunday roast here today, it really was the best roast you will get certainly in this area. So refreshing to be served a proper old fashioned roast thats not been served in a stack, which I always think is pretentious and just unnecessary. The portions are very generous and the standard of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lbarnard1893462
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and support. Our chefs do an excellent Sunday Roast which customers comeback for week after week. We have been full most Sundays since we re-opened the Swan in March last year. Thanks for your support, we hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

After a misty romp through muddy fields it was great to find a table at this thriving pub in a chocolate box village. Food was homely and tonic was fever tree. Jolly good quality and a very warm welcome. Thank you. Just what we needed.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1965maria
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Maria, Thanks for your support and kind review it is really appreciated by all the team at the Swan. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Greeted with a roaring fire on a winters night, ordered a bottle of red and settled into the bar area, this place is stunning, warm, cosy and just how a country pub should be. We had breads, oils and Olives, was perfect. Even booked Sunday lunch in a couple of weeks!

Helpful?
Thank Emma O
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thanks for your kind review and support it is much appreciated by all the team at the Swan. We look forward to seeing you on the Sunday, I am sure you wont be disappointed with our Sunday Roast. Kind Regards. Darren, Angela & Twins More 

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

In this world of Gastro this that and the other, a proper pub with dining rooms and places to sit..... great warming hearty lunches and atmosphere.... always busy which is what one wants to keep such a place thriving. Always a pleasure.... and not too far for us which is an added bonus....

Helpful?
Thank Countrymousie
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and support, it is much appreciated by all the team. We will keep the Swan as it is because as you mentioned in your review it is what a country pub should be like with a great atmosphere created by our customers and the roaring fires with good hearty meals. See you... More 

Playa Flamenca, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

On a cold winters December's night we dined in front of a beautiful log burner. Difficult to find places to eat at this time of year. Staff managed to provide a table for three to dine. The dining experience for me was only good, lots of little things ruined the whole experience. Staff not very attentive and did not gel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks you Alex for your kind review and support, sorry on this occasion you had a few issues regarding our service and food. We do go round the area and try other establishments and as always it is down to customers personal taste. We are a village country pub in a beautiful 15th Century building in a fantastic village with... More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 
Pulham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$17
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Low Street, Hoxne IP21 5AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Hoxne
  • Phone Number: +44 1379 668275

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?