We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak

££ - £££, British,
Pett Road, Hastings, England
+44 1424 812515
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good31%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“liver” (11 reviews)
“banoffee pie” (10 reviews)
“scallops” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pett Road, Hastings, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We turned up, without a reservation, on a cold, wintery day. We were made to feel welcome, and sat by a glowing fire. The food was delicous, piping hot, and plentiful. Exceptional value.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JAHLONDONUK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pub was full. Great buzzy atmosphere. Staff attentive rushed off their feet, but stayed cheerful and helpfull.. Food excellent good choice and specials interesting.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank patricia441
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

4 of us had an amazing Christmas dinner here. Had to book in advance and choose from a varied menu. Traditional turkey dinner was excellent, very moist and well cooked. As we're our starters and desserts. We couldn't manage our coffee ascertain had all eaten...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank karenjane467
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Royal Oak. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Such a lovely pub we come here often because they do a fab nut roast ! Highly recommend, huge portions especially their desserts !!More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Michelle T
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Royal Oak. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 21 October 2018

After a long Day at the battle of Hastings our hosts recommended the Royal Oak. Although it was a Saturday night it was fairly quiet. I had a pint of Sussex local ale to accompany a delightful sea bass. The staff were vet helpful and...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Chris H
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Royal Oak. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 22 September 2018

Went on a Friday night, very busy inside but got a table. Good choice of food and drink. Had Scampi and chips which was really nice. Dogs are welcome which is good.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lollipop007
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Royal Oak. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Friendly welcome to visitors and their dogs Good traditional pub menu with lots of choice Our meal was served promptly Piping hot and delicious service with a smile Try the Liver and Bacon Well worth a visitMore

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Stay597972
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Royal Oak. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 20 September 2018

Went there for lunch while on holiday in Hastings,wasn’t too sure about it as the decor is in dyer need of updating,food was ok nothing special,wouldn’t go there again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sandra L
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi there I am sorry to hear about your disappointing experience when you visited The Royal Oak recently. Please contact us on yourview@royaloakpett.com so that we can respond directly to these shortcomings. Yours Sincerely Ian Mitchell

Reviewed 10 September 2018

We phoned to book a table mid pm for 4 people and the phone was answered by a pleasant polite lady who told us she could fit us in when we arrived it was a pleasant welcome as soon as we walked through the door...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank lindseybaker1967
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Royal Oak. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We came here with a big party and sat in the garden wanting a nice lunch. We were all pleased with our choices which ranged from ploughman’s to prawns and a Sunday roast. There is a big vAried menu here and one of the best...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Lisajo91
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Royal Oak. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Lodge at Winchelsea
426 reviews
2.35 miles away
River Haven Hotel
356 reviews
4.57 miles away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
958 reviews
4.66 miles away
The Mermaid Inn
1,261 reviews
4.71 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Robin Hood
469 reviews
1.42 miles away
Winchelsea Beach Cafe
154 reviews
2.41 miles away
Two Sawyers
425 reviews
.64 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Pett Level Beach
177 reviews
1.46 miles away
St Andrew's Church Tower Fairlight TN35 4AB
10 reviews
1.73 miles away
St. Thomas the Martyr
188 reviews
2.69 miles away
Winchelsea Beach
259 reviews
2.86 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
vpulina
24 January 2018|
Answer
Response from IAN MITCHELL L | Property representative |
Best to give them a call
0
Votes
Anita H
20 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sarah S | Reviewed this property |
I believe so but please book as this gets busy
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pett Road, Hastings, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Hastings  >  Pett
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 812515
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing