We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£4 - £20
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (515)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
330
95
39
24
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
330
95
39
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brownie ham egg and chips sunday roast pork belly burger peas pudding scampi ice cream salad pie the pub lovely ambience beer garden service charge birthday lunch warm welcome
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Been to this pub quite a few times and the meals have always been really nice and really good value, however I think it's changed hands now and I think they changed chef, I was pretty convinced the lasagna I ordered was out of a...supermarket pre made, in fact I've had a few of those and would rate them better, absolutely no moisture in it, the top layer was even burnt black and like concrete, my son had a burger, something we've had previously and rated quite high, this came out and wasn't even a shadow of what we had previously we were so disappointed, that evening my mother then had sickness and diarrhea...I don't think we will be returning, the one positive is that the serving staff were very pleasant and knowledgeableMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing gluten free/dairy free options at Three Horseshoes, Chapmanslade Wiltshire. Amazing service from Ben, Charlotte and Callam (I think was the name of the server). I Brilliant service from the get-go, I'd emailed to say we'd be coming in with a few of gf/df and...they managed all the order so well. Would highly recommend a visit, great settings and beer garden, with a couple of gf beer options too!!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very good atmosphere, relaxed, good food and a go-to destination for us. Very accessible, one level entry from car park, excellent service. Fails to disappoint, anyone going here for lunch or dinner should not be disappointed.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2024

Another great lunch at the Three Horseshoes. Food was excellent and delivered quickly. It was Easter Sunday and very busy but that didn't hinder the excellent service. The team were attentivetive and we didn't feel rushed. Strongly recommneded - good value for money.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

The food was lovely and the staff were very friendly. The location was ideal with beautiful views over the countryside. We will go again.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024

Very average meal. We hadn’t been here for years but it was always really good so thought we’d give it a go. Service was prompt and polite. However menu choices were limited and our friends had looked at the menu on line and found some...items were not on the menu on the night . There were four of us and 3 had the pie of the day. Large portions but very bland think basic chip shop taste! Disappointed to say the least. To top it of 10% service charge was added and although I understand that is the same everywhere now I always like to choose to leave a tip ( which I do if I think they have earned it) I do not want or expect to have to ask to take it off. Needless to say I’m afraid we will not be going back.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2024

First visit and was disappointed with the Sunday lunch. The service was great - friendly and professional. Unfortunately the food wasn’t good. Strange tasting vegetable selection, roast potatoes scarce and soggy. The cauliflower cheese was good and they gave us extra gravy and crackling. But...overall the lunch wasn’t as good as expected.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

A repeat visit for us and the welcome once again was friendly and warm. The food was served promptly and it was good. Happy to recommend the Three Horseshoes.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024 via mobile

excellent steak, atmosphere was great, the staff was friendly, definitely worth a visit. grass is green, view is great, food is perfection

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Had a lovely afternoon at the 3H. The environment is warm and inviting, and a special mention to Claudia for her welcome and attentiveness. The pub has a great range of drinks and food, looking forward to returning soon.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2024

I have emailed the management of The Three Horseshoes several times since Christmas and no one in three months has had the courtesy to contact me or respond to my complaint. It is therefore with regret I feel I have no choice other than to...post a copy of my letter to them on here. To: Chloe and Banwell House Management Christmas Day Lunch At ninety-five pounds a head and the delicious sounding pre-order menu, I had high expectations of our Christmas Day lunch. Sadly, the reality was far from satisfactory; second-rate food bearing no resemblance to the menu and chaotic service making the whole experience unmemorable and falling way below expectations! To begin with, on arrival we weren’t served ‘Kir Imperial’ or a selection of ‘Amuse Bouche’ as promised; very disappointing, however the waitress was very quick to take our drinks order. Only after asking several times did the ‘Kir Imperial’ eventually turn up but only after the first course had been served! And instead of pre-filled glasses as one would expect, seven glasses with a dribble of Kir in each and a bottle of Prosecco was placed in front of me to pour and serve. By this point everyone had already been drinking wine and beers! The ‘Amuse Bouche’ also turned up and was far from amusing! It was difficult to spot them on the plate. I say things as no one was actually able to make out what they were. I can only assume were lumps of brown, dried-out stuffing. Had I been the chef, I would have been embarrassed to serve them and chucked them in the bin instead! I’m still interested to know what the ingredients were? Now for the starters. The Celeriac and Chestnut Soup had the consistency of a thick, dark green/brown tasteless watery puree, it wasn’t even hot. Couldn’t make out any truffle oil and the croutons were over baked inedible lumps. The Arancini was overwhelmed with chilli to the point of being unpleasant and not helped by the fact it was missing the Lobster Bisque Velouté! The pallet cleanser was sorbet served in large coffee cups and the waitress went around the table asking if we wanted Prosecco with the sorbet! The lack of attention to detail was mind boggling! By this point I was seriously unhappy but holding out hope that the main meal would save the day. How wrong I was! The Main Event. Firstly, the waitress unceremoniously plonked the plates of food down in front of us and when I saw what was presented on the plate I could have cried. It certainly wasn’t cordon bleu or even decent pub food! Appalling! Ballantine of turkey that was served isn’t traditional Christmas turkey breast as described on the menu. The menu was misleading. The Ballantine of turkey was dry, tough and overcooked; even the miniscule amount of stuffing in the centre didn’t rescue it; and the very salty Parma ham was like the turkey overcooked, crispy and dry. Normally, and especially at the price I was paying I would expect vegetables to be served in separate dishes. But as it was they were served on the plate with the turkey, three roast potatoes and a soggy Yorkshire pudding. When I say together the brussel sprouts, carrots, green beans and a bit of cabbage were all mixed together. Not only were they mixed together they were overcooked, soggy and probably been languishing in water for some time. On my plate I counted two slices of carrot and three sprouts and where was the white wine gravy? Another missing ingredient! The pork and salmon were just okay, apparently. It was reminiscent of a school dinner and I’ve had better meals in a works canteen. Finally, the sticky toffee pudding seemed to go down quite well but after a dreadful meal I’m not surprised! But for the two of us who had the christmas pudding option we should have been given a magnifying glass. Like everything else it was unspectacular, dry, solid and didn’t resemble traditional Christmas pudding and the ‘brandy cream’ it sat in was a pool of liquid that I don’t think a brandy bottle had been near. By now, I think you will have concluded that I was far from happy. And if you are wondering why I didn’t complain at the time; it was Christmas Day and I was treating my family to a special day out, one to remember, especially for my daughter who had been diagnosed with terminal cancer a few months earlier. Special being the operative word! Had it been any other day in the year I would have complained at the time, refused to pay or even walked out! At £95 a head I have been taken for a ride and if you asked me to pay what I thought the meal was worth I would find it difficult to even offer £40 a head. Including a service charge, the final food bill came to £731.50, for what I can only describe as the most disappointing and upsetting meal/experience I have ever had, and on top of that our bar bill was £122.98. If anything, I deserve an apology.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Leveque, General Manager at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Hi jooliiia, I've checked our emails and can't find any correspondence from you. Our email address is very easy to find online. I suspect you might have sent those emails to the Christmas booking system. If so, you should have received an "out of office"...More

Reviewed 27 February 2024

It’s not very often I use this platform to review restaurants but after my experience I feel it is warranted. The evening started out positively as the young lad came to our table and took our drinks order. After a while our food order was...taken by a waitress. As soon as the order was taken she did nothing else but stand by the bar on her phone taking selfies and texting. We would have liked another round of drinks but she was so engaged in her phone that she was completely oblivious to the fact all our glasses were empty. On a positive note the food was really well presented and delicious. The young lad who was certainly more attentive than the waitress offered to get us more drinks. After ordering the drinks arrived fast and delivered by the waitress. She failed however to take away our empty glasses from the table. Which would have taken her about the same time it would have taken her to take a selfie. Once our plates were cleared desserts were offered to us. The waitress said she would come back in few minutes while we decided what to choose. During this time our glasses were empty again but she didn’t have the initiative to think we may like some more. After clearing another table she once again went back by the bar to use her phone in full view of everyone. We had to get her attention to order desserts. One person on our table ordered the lemon posset which on the menu said it came with a raspberry coullis. When bought out the posset was on its own and after enquiring we told the couliss “was off” if we had known this beforehand she might have ordered something else. 3 of us ordered Irish coffee’s which when bought out were only half full and lukewarm at best. We asked for the bill and I don’t normally mind paying a service charge as I work in the hospitality sector myself and understand how much hard work it can be. However I am not willing to pay a 20% service charge when the person serving us put next to no effort into attending our table and showed little interest in the job itself. To be stood by the bar taking selfies when customers are waiting is extremely unprofessional and reflects poorly on the pub itself. This has led to a disappointing evening. We certainly won’t be coming back any time soon if this the standard of service.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Leveque, General Manager at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Hi Kev Moran, If I understand your review correctly, you had a warm welcome, your were served drinks and food promptly, the food was good and the all members of staff were polite. But all of this is worth nothing because the 16 year old...More

Reviewed 26 February 2024

I've been going to the Three Horseshoes for several years and the last time was November 2023. And while the food and service was always good, this time it was noticeably better. We all commented on the quality of the food and variety of the...menu. Noting the outstanding quality the value for money was also good. Thank you for a great lunch - we'll certainly be returning and recommending you to our friends.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Great food and great service, will definitely return, the staff were delightful and very helpful as we had 5 very hungry children who needed feeding quickly!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2024

Lovely staff, lovely food, nice atmosphere, well priced - nothing much more to add except to say we will definitely be going again.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Warminster
1,179 reviews
2.28 miles away
Travelodge Beckington
597 reviews
3.16 miles away
The Farmers Hotel
101 reviews
3.21 miles away
Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa
601 reviews
4.88 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Weavers Pub
30 reviews
1.63 miles away
La Campagna Restaurant & Bar
308 reviews
2.41 miles away
Dilton Fish and Chips
30 reviews
1.88 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
WhiteRow Farm
185 reviews
2.53 miles away
Longleat
9,536 reviews
2.64 miles away
Brokerswood country park
24 reviews
3.12 miles away
The Frome Independent
109 reviews
3.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
julie f
18 September 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Monty1Paul | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Cher6402
3 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BenL496 | Property representative |
About 10 minutes drive. Go back on the A36 towards Bath, then take the turning to Chapmanslade.
0
Votes
Mary T
3 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from mrs Amanda D | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry, but I don't know. I suggest you ring them. They are very helpful. One of the nicest pubs I have been to.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE THREE HORSESHOES, Chapmanslade - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Three Horseshoes

Yes, The Three Horseshoes is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Three Horseshoes is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5