We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lowfield Inn

) #1 of 2 Restaurants in Marton ££ - £££ , British,
located on the B4386, Marton SY21 8JX, England
+44 1743 891313
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“faggots” (5 reviews)
“steak” (11 reviews)
“ham hock” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
located on the B4386, Marton SY21 8JX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

What a disappointment! The lamb was tough and chewy; my chicken curry was very underwhelming. However the main problem was in having to continually try to keep the flies off our food. Eventually I gave up after three flies landed in the curry sauce. A...More

Thank Toffeechops
Reviewed 1 week ago

A country inn with 4 ensuite bedrooms above the bar/eatery, transport is required since it is 5 miles from the nearest larger town of Welshpool and 6 miles from small, idyllic Montgomery. Tiny hamlets, each with a shop, are closer. A very informal and homely...More

Thank Simbal09
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have had meals previously, which have always been very good. Called couple of weeks ago just after 12:00 on a Sunday for lunch. We had not booked but fortunately we were able to get a table, even though it was reserved, but not until later-staff...More

Thank johnedwards111
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wandering through the pleasant Shropshire countryside and taking a wrong turn brought us to The Lowfield Inn by happy chance. Friendly staff tempted us to check the menus and we decided to stay for late lunch on a Sunday. The mackerel started for me and...More

1  Thank PETER S
Dave L, Owner at The Lowfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Peter, Please get lost. Again. And tell your friends to get lost also. Thanks ever so much for your lovely review - it helps so much and we love to hear when our guests have a great visit. We hope you stumble upon us...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a busy week late decision to go out for dinner phoned lowfield who explained they were fully booked but would do their best to fit us in. We were not disappointed lovely welcome . Then a excellent meal in a lovely atmosphere even though...More

Thank 55janie52
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am an awkward diner. I love garlic, but it does not love me. When I placed my order at the Lowfield In, the chef came out to talk me through the menu and then said he'd make up a version of my favourite meal...More

Thank VeryButton
Dave L, Owner at The Lowfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much for your review and I'm glad we could accommodate your requirements! See you again soon we hope.......... Cheers!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here on the recommendation of the owner of a cottage we were staying in nearby. We were not disappointed. Some earlier reviews had said the portions were small - they aren't. I struggled to finish my ham hock but did the best I...More

Thank MissPiggyLiverpool
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a good meal here last night. The ham hock was enormous and tasted as good as it looked. The duck was amazing and the vegetarian wellington had a filling which was piping hot and very tasty but just was let down by thick soggy...More

Thank Beverley A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just came back stayed one night as I was attending a wedding in Abels harp a few miles up the road. After a 2 hour drive arrived on a very wet evening Hungary an needing the toilet I was met by a very friendly lady...More

Thank mae t
Dave L, Owner at The Lowfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much - I hope we see you again some time!! Cheers

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered Tuna sandwich. Bangers mash and red cabbage. Chicken pie, carrots. All cooked well. Portion size was quite small for the price. Ordered a rum baba pudding, could not taste any rum. Two cheesecakes too. Reasonably priced but portion sizes small.More

Thank Roadiadi
Dave L, Owner at The Lowfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I'm concerned that you felt that the portion sizes were too small - the comments we normally get are quite the opposite! I will look into this and ensure that the chefs understand the need to ensure good value for...More

Nearby Restaurants
Stables Inn
57 reviews
4.16 miles away
Green Dragon Inn
58 reviews
4.56 miles away
The Stiperstones Inn
195 reviews
4.77 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Powis Castle and Garden
1,265 reviews
5.15 miles away
Montgomery Castle
166 reviews
5.59 miles away
Kerry Vale Vineyard
120 reviews
6.45 miles away
Border Quad Trekking
7 reviews
6.48 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
11 June 2017|
Response from Dave L | Property representative |
Hi! Yes we are! Dogs are welcome in the spacious bar areas (where the full menu is always available) and also in the garden - providing their owners are well behaved. Cheers! Dave
15 March 2017|
Response from Dave L | Property representative |
Yes of course! Could you give me an email to send it to? Otherwise, it's on our website lowfieldinn com
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: located on the B4386, Marton SY21 8JX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Marton
  • Phone Number: +44 1743 891313
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing