We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Duke of York

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Groups, Bar Scene

Location and contact

About
The Duke of York is conveniently located on the A515 between Buxton and Ashbourne. Approximately 12 Miles from Ashbourne and only 6 Miles from Buxton. Offering ample parking for cars, motor homes and coach's. We offer Real Ales, Log Fires and Traditional homemade food (including the chips)with the option of choices from our Specials Board. Our Sunday Carvery is available 12-3pm changing to plated Sunday Roasts 3-7pm(You can also choose from our Main Menu all day) The recently refurbished campsite has stunning views of the Peak District and offers All Year camping facilities with 20 hard standing and 6 grass pitches. An additional 15 tent pitches are available April to October. The shower/toilet
PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$33
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Television, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
227
70
29
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
227
70
29
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and stilton pie pies pudding pizza the pub caravan park under new management peak district busy weekend re visit for sunday lunch specials board friendly welcome other customers an evening meal booked a table lovely atmosphere
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2019

We are lucky enough to count this pub as one of our locals. Lucky because on every visit, no matter what time of year, day of the week or time of day - we have never been disappointed. We were not in need of a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank GoPlaces813561
bridgetd36, Owner at The Duke of York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

What a lovely review - thank you for the kind comments. So pleased to hear you had a great evening with us and we look forward to seeing you during 2019 :)

Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

First visit quick passing lunch. We ate in the dog friendly bar section as we had our Dachshund with us and we were all made to feel very welcome and given a table next to the fire which the dog loved! Food all very good...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank abroadalot
Reviewed 27 November 2018 via mobile

With such great food and brilliant service it was another enjoyable visit here for Sunday lunch/carvery Thoroughly enjoyed our food, topped off by huge piece of treacle sponge and custard Can’t wait to be back - sadly for us it’s only a yearly trip. Excellent....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank thestoad
Reviewed 22 November 2018

Lovely food and service. Great location and beautiful views. We stayed at the caravan park, and it was absolutely excellent.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Sam B
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Lovely place to eat with a family of six, made us feel very welcome and lovely and warm on a cold night. All staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sllbch1
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Was part of a coach trip friendly staff ,service was 1st rate and the food was hot,well presented. And most importantly tasted great .

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank TRACEY M
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Pleasant country pub clean, friendly staff, food good, had the fish and chips,and crumble of the seniors menu, good value nice size portions. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank John A
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We both had two course meals from the pensioner menu and they were delicious. We were served by a very friendly and helpful lady. It was so clean and the background music was quiet - which is so unusual these days.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank gloriagerrard
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Visited with a friend's caravan for the Edinburgh trial over the weekend of 5-7 October. An excellent camping / Caravan site. Food and drinks in the pub fantastic and good value. The breakfast provided to the event was nice, great sausages!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Stuart P
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast for the MCC Edinburgh trial. The efficiency of the kitchen was great, the prices reasonable, and the tea hot - what more could we ask?! The toilet block in the camping area was warm and clean, and the parking was...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lee S
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Crewe & Harpur
110 reviews
2.49 miles away
Charles Cotton Hotel
1,066 reviews
4.45 miles away
Monsal Head Hotel
495 reviews
4.78 miles away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
631 reviews
4.83 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Royal Oak Inn
176 reviews
1.04 miles away
The Royal Oak
1,128 reviews
1.05 miles away
The Packhorse Inn
328 reviews
1.83 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Goyt Valley
265 reviews
1.26 miles away
The Church Inn
100 reviews
1.76 miles away
The Old Cheese Shop
180 reviews
4.44 miles away
The Donkey Sanctuary
5 reviews
4.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Richard G
22 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JESSIE E | Reviewed this property |
About 5 mins by car
0
Votes
Darren L
27 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from bridgetd36 | Property representative |
Hi Darren Apologies for not responding sooner - unfortunately we do not have Sky TV Regards Bridget - Duke of York
0
Votes
silkiestar
16 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from bridgetd36 | Property representative |
We are happy to cater for all dietary needs where we can. Although we do not have specific Gluten Free, Vegeterian /vegan menus we do have dishes that cover these options and we can also adjust dishes accordingly. Please... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing