We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£13 - £20
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (1,356)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,344 results
Traveller rating
869
287
108
47
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
869
287
108
47
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops chicken curry baguette sunday roast salad newton ferrers the pub coastal walk overlooking the estuary stunning location south devon lovely food lovely lunch booked a table tide noss trio
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

This pub has always been a favourite of ours so we were curious to see if the new owners had kept up the previous high standard of food and service. Absolutely!!! We had the veggie roast which was mushroom wellington and it was honestly the...best roast I'd had in a long time - vegetables were cooked beautifully and the wellington was superb. Even though it was busy the staff were amazing - cheerful, efficient and helpful. Good selection of draught beers too! 🍻More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Fi91, we are so happy to read such a great review about Ship Inn!

Reviewed 5 days ago

Not living here, we asked a few people where to eat as we were staying for a while and told definitely don’t go to the ship as it has gone downhill since the new people have taken over. As a great believer of giving people...a chance and understanding that regulars won’t like a change we visited on the Thursday and had amazing service as well as a beautiful fish and chips. So proceeded to the Friday and had the panfried liver which was equally amazing and then returned on Sunday for the Sunday lunch which was absolutely fabulous. I did tell the manager that we had been told not to come in, but he explained that they were having a few difficulties and are working very hard to rectify them. I can only speak as I find and the staff were all extremely helpful, the beer was really good and the food was excellent. I’m sure they’ll sort out any issues they have but for me it’s a 10 out of 10 and thank you to everybody especially Chris and SimonMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi 335spencert, thank you so much for your positive comments about Ship Inn!

Reviewed 5 days ago

Family Weekend staying local, we all travelled on Friday, so we wanted some excellent food before returning to our rented house for the weekend. We booked a table, but we did not realise what Gem of place we had chosen. We were made welcome from...the moment we walked into the place. The menu was excellent, with plenty of choices, making it hard to choose a dish. The food when came was excellent quality cook perfectly. I want to say a big thank you to Chloe, who served us with a great big smile and made us laugh. She is a real asset to this pub. Well done keep it up. Recommend to anyone.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Destination809527, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review!

Reviewed 5 days ago

Wonderful pub, fantastic service and excellent food. We enjoyed sourdough with samphire butter whilst we waited, then an exceptional rump beef roast with sides of cauliflower cheese and bacon wrapped stuffing. Beef, yorkshire, potatoes and all the trimmings cooked to perfection. A lovely malbec and...a big thumbs up from my husband for the Noss Beerworks ale. Well worth the walk around from Newton Ferrers, we'll definitely be back this week.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Yummytummy10099, thank you so much for your positive comments about Ship Inn!

Reviewed 5 days ago

Bar not staffed and queue forming. Phone ringing but not picked up. Dirty glasses on the bar and on every table outside. No wine list displayed and when a barman did arrive he had no idea what was available and referred us to the menu....Customers insidewere furious at the wait for their main course so much so that they left. As a local resident who had been a customer for years it is sorely disappointing.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry we did not deliver our usual high standards on your visit. If you would like to contact me directly and I would be happy to discuss this with you and hope that we would...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely lunch yesterday with my partner. Well looked after by harry and greeted by the new manager Simon who we met for the first time since he has taken over (charming and funny) made us feel very welcome. As locals we have been coming to...this pub for quite some time as we love to support our local pub so it’s nice to see it’s still going strong. Excellent menu which changes on a regular basis. Lovely presentation the food matched myself and my husbands expectation's. Service was very good and have already booked in to come back next week as we do anyways but thought tonight I’d give a special shout to the staff for their consistency. Thanks, VictoriaMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review following your visit Victoria. We are so pleased to read that Simon took such great care of you and that you equally enjoyed the quality and presentation of your meals. I will...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went on a last minute dinner out. Have to say seeing previous recent reviews I was a little wary but I always judge on my own experience and from what I saw I couldn’t fault it. Service was exemplary from start to finish, a very...warm welcome from the team and a friendly manager Simon who was attentive but not over bearing. Service was fast and efficient from Chloe and harry. Nice to get to know the staff by name. The food was superb! Loved the chicken and leek pie. Also a great selection of wines one of which is now my wife’s favourite not that I remember what it was called. We will be back in the area soon when visiting my relatives again and will 100% re visit for an evening meal or a spot of lunch! Thank you team. Your a real credit to the place. Many thanks, MichaelMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Michael B, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Ship Inn!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been eating at The Ship during school holidays for the last 5 years. Today was our first evening meal since the new ownership. Firstly, there had been an issue in the kitchen - so instead of our booked table seat in the library...dining room (which looked rather hazy after the kitchen incident) we had to eat downstairs. My first observation to my family was that there were hardly any customers for a February half term. I've always had to pre book weeks ahead during previous February or October school hols in order to guarantee a table due to the customer demand. The sour dough & samphire butter appetiser took nearly 30 minutes to arrive. Despite so few customers. It did taste nice when it did arrive. I ordered pork, leek & apple sausages, mash, cabbage, onion rings - as per the menu. I was advised there was only peppercorn sauce available and not the gravy (which would have taken 5 hours to cook). I dislike peppercorn sauce and didn't see how it would compliment the sausages anyhow - so I asked if I could exchange my mash potato for chips so that the 'unavailable' gravy wasn't necessary. My meal arrived without the onion rings. So I had to ask for these and they arrived a little later. My husband didn't eat any of his mushy peas because they were very dry. His battered fish was good though. I also think my pudding was a different flavour to that advertised on the menu. The ambiance was pretty flat with so few customers and the unexpected change of dining room. The only positive - which greatly improved our dining experience - is that the 2 younger female and male staff members were very friendly and really trying their very best under the difficult circumstances. And I thank them for this. 2 appetisers, 3 mains, 1 pudding, 2 coffees and 4 alcoholic drinks came to £100. Expensive considering the above. I am wondering how this restaurant is going to manage during the Summer. In August customers used to be queuing for a table in the daytime despite plenty of indoor and outdoor seating. The last owners had an amazing staff crew and customer demand was high due to the very good food and lovely location. I sincerely hope that The Ship can up its game and takes note of the reviews for January/February.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, If you would like to contact me directly I would be more than happy to talk to you and investigate your comments in full, please feel free to email me directly on shipnossmayo@youngs.co.uk. Best Regards Simon

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Ship is under new management. Four of us ordered exactly the same meal. When our meals arrived, three out of four were missing a main ingredient which was listed on the menu i.e. pesto, and were consequently a little bland. The fourth arrived with...the pesto, but 10 minutes after the other three were served, which was quite an unacceptable gap and meant our meals had gone cold whilst we waited for the fourth to be served. Also, we requested three with fries and one with potatoes, which didn't arrive until 15 minutes after the meal was served. No vegetables were served with the meal. I then requested green tea with the leaves served separately, but they were served in the water in a cafetiere, so I had to request a separate jug of water to dilute the tea. The other problem was that the totally unnecessary background music which emanated from a speaker about a metre away from us was extremely loud, and we had difficulty holding a conversation until we requested that it be turned down. Everyone is out to enjoy a meal with friends/family. We do not need background music at all. There is enough conversational buzz in the pub to create an atmosphere. We were neither rude nor did we make complaints, we simply made requests which were sadly ignored.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, If you would like to contact me directly I would be more than happy to talk to you and investigate your comments in full, please feel free to email me directly on shipnossmayo@youngs.co.uk. Best Regards Simon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As local people we have often enjoyed a meal at The Ship. But not this evening. The best thing about the evening were the two new cheerful waitresses. Saw no other staff except the manager who was most unwelcoming. The food was very poor. Prawn...cocktail served on a huge plate with barely defrosted tasteless prawns , very little salad and watery sauce. The beetroot tart Tatum was burnt. Catch of the day was over cooked and languishing on greasy saturated new potatoes, not what was on menu , garnished with two sprig of samphire! Pork chop was over cooked and tasteless. The rhubarb chutney !!! was a tasteless compote. The triple fried chips werebarely reheated once, horrible. Best thing was an extra side of black cabbage and bacon. The cabbage was a mix of savoy and cavo Nero. All food under seasoned. We will not be returning as there are so excellent places to eat.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, if you would like to contact me directly on shipnossmayo@youngs.co.uk, I would be happy to discuss your feedback. Kind regards Simon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's a shame I only give 3 out of 5 but that's only youngs business mode. Previously amazing pizza, currently disappointung pizza......and using the same name!!! I would add pics of before and after but im not that harsh.. I feel sorry for the whole...team. On a plus side. Big George, Chris, Laura and everyone else working in the pub tonight, tip bloody top! Cheers to the staffMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that we did not meet our usual high standards, please feel free to reach out to me personal and I will be happy to speak to you. My email address is shipnossmayo@youngs.co.uk. Kind regards Simon

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been going to The Ship Inn for fifty years, and always loved going there with family and friends because we knew the food was always delicious there until today. We knew The Ship Inn had been sold recently but we thought we would give...them a try, I wished we hadn't, it was the worst meal we've ever eaten, and if we hadn't had family with us I would have complained there and then. My husband and I both had Sea Bass, on the menu it said Sea Bass fillets and only one small fillet was on our plate. I did mention this to the waitress and she said it was a typing error on their menu. The Sea Bass fillet was only served with a few sautéed (greasy) potato slices. and a bowl of chips which I didn't want. Price £19.00, It was way over priced. I have just had a look at their menu on line and it definitely says Sea Bass Fillets. It's a beautiful Inn in a wonderful setting but the new owners need to improve greatly before we return and they will definitely lose a lot of custom if they don't improve.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sue, Thank you for leaving for your feedback following your visit. I am sorry to read your comments about your experience and would like to discuss this further with you. If you are willing, pls can you provide a number so that I can...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to the Ship for a meal on Sunday evening. We love going to The Ship but I am afraid that the standards are not as they were. I have to say that our meals, roast and pie were lovely, although the sweet was like...something you would get from a Wetherspoons. The menu is not as advertised on their web page, only roasts, sausages, pies and burgers. They used to offer lovely curries, a variety of fresh fish, pasta, steak and kidney pies, pizza, cheese and biscuits etc. I had to go to the bar for a second drink and also for the sweet menu as the bar staff were just stood there chatting. I understand that there are new managers in place but I am afraid to say that without the menu improving and customer service improving we won't be going back, which is a shame. Why change something that isn't broken!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your visit. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you have been left feeling this way following your experience, and your comments will certainly be discussed with the team. I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

great pub, atmosphere & service , but Sunday Roast comprised one slice of beef, bulked out with veg......their explanation: we are running low on stock!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Toby, Thank you for your recent feedback on your recent visit. I'm sorry that on this occasion we were not able to deliver the standards we aim to achieve. If you are willing, pls can you provide a number so that I can call...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub has recently been taken over. We are used to going over a number of years so where ken to see how it may ave changed. I’d say the welcome wasn’t overly great but once seated the staff were great. Food was good, not...amazing, but we enjoyed it. In the past we’ve has some pretty average meals, but also some good food, so in fairness it was about the same. Portions could be a bit bigger. I think it’s important to give Youngs a change. I think Youngs will be okay, they have some very good pubs elsewhere (I’m thinking the Crown and Anchor at Dell Quay), so I’d encourage everyone to give it a go.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your visit Marty. We really appreciate feedback from our guests and use it constructively to ensure we are continually improving our service and standards. We do hope we will have the chance to...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kitley House Hotel
657 reviews
2.48 miles away
Rose & Crown
221 reviews
3.28 miles away
St Elizabeth's House
711 reviews
4.89 miles away
The Smithaleigh
223 reviews
5.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Dolphin Inn
116 reviews
.21 miles away
The Swan Inn
182 reviews
.08 miles away
Yealm Yacht Club
36 reviews
.42 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dragonfly Adventures
23 reviews
.50 miles away
Wembury Beach
324 reviews
1.82 miles away
Surfing Cow Ice Cream
18 reviews
3.20 miles away
Wembury Marine Centre
32 reviews
1.93 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hilly J
11 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ChefCliveM | Reviewed this property |
Hi children and dogs are ok. No wifi. No Parking when the tide is in. You take pot luck in the hamlet.
1
Vote
valynda
15 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from wayneb326 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they are open all day every day. Great place!
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE SHIP INN, Noss Mayo - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ship Inn

Yes, The Ship Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Ship Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5