We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Horse

££ - £££, British,
Newton Road, Tollerton, Easingwold YO61 1QT, England
+44 1347 838975
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“chicken” (4 reviews)
“great pub” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
Newton Road, Tollerton, Easingwold YO61 1QT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Husband and I visited whilst we stayed in Tollerton. We were welcomed with our dog and the locals included us in their conversations which made us feel very comfortable and more so the laugh. Would definitely call back there.

Thank super200893
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We ate here for two evenings and it was great, no complaints whatsoever. Food was lovely and big portions. We stayed after our meal on the first evening as there was a pub quiz and we had a really enjoyable evening. Locals were very friendly.

Thank Bernard D
Emma G, Owner at Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay what a lovely couple x

Reviewed 17 October 2017

My daughter has just moved into the area so we were finding our feet a little. Not sure but think food is only on a takeaway basis, which we used, and was excellent. Fabulous little village, the landlords were excellent company and made us feel...More

1  Thank annehallam
Emma G, Owner at Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Glad you did! Food is Tuesday to sat 5-8 and Sunday 12-4 Take away is 5-10.30 tues -sun hope to see you all soon

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We went to the black horse for sunday lunch and it was gorgeous. Massive yorksire pud, lots of meat and veg. Defo go back

Thank Elaine K
Emma G, Owner at Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you glad you enjoyed your time here x

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Walked here from the village of Alne as the "pub" there was closed with no reason, after a brisk 30 minute walk we found ourselves sitting in this pub with a pint in hand. The staff were friendly and welcoming and helped us organise our...More

1  Thank Jade K
Emma G, Owner at Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you and it was no problem at all x

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We called in after staying overnight in the area. Had a nice welcome by bar staff. Service was very good and the meal served quickly. Food was nice with good portion size so we were very happy with our meal. Prices were reasonable. Would visit...More

Thank DeniseandHarold
Emma G, Manager at Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This has never been a brilliant pub, run down & managed by mediocre wannabes, but the current incumbents really take the biscuit! Food (if he can be bothered to cook) is all ready made & not by him either! Restaurant prices for very poor quality...More

2  Thank Acdc61
Emma G, Owner at Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

I'm sorry about your visit but all our food is cooked fresh and not already prepared, if the chef gave you that impression then I do apologise but as for the pub being run down??? I certainly do not agree we have turned this pub...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

we visited on a Sunday following some good TA reviews. Pub was quiet which we thought unusual for a Sunday but the weather was good and people were outside in the graden area. Menu on a Sunday is limited to tradional Sunday lunches though any...More

Thank Morpheus60
Emma G, Owner at Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

I feel after having written an excellent review for the black horse previously I need to update the readers after a thoroughly disappointing couple of visits since the pub changed hands. Our first visit was again for Sunday lunch but after this time we haven't...More

2  Thank Amy R
Emma G, Owner at Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

I'm sorry you feel this way but I can defiantly say that none of our customers have had to wait an hour and a half after their starters and I have most certainly not ever said to any customers what do you expect we are...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

This pub was excellent. The food was cooked to order and delicious. The staff were really friendly and gave us good advise on p!aces to visit. The manager on both occasions chatted to us even though on of those days was his days off. Lots...More

Thank denzal66
Emma G, Owner at Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much and so glad you had a fab holiday x

Nearby HotelsSee all Tollerton Hotels
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
1,966 reviews
1.76 miles away
The Hawkhills
38 reviews
2.58 miles away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
1,902 reviews
2.78 miles away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1,161 reviews
6.41 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Saffron Spice
59 reviews
2.45 miles away
The Dawnay Arms
248 reviews
2.62 miles away
The New Inn Tholthorpe
132 reviews
2.86 miles away
Nearby Attractions
York Bird of Prey Centre
1,356 reviews
1.75 miles away
Aldwark Manor Spa
206 reviews
2.79 miles away
Beningbrough Hall, Gallery and Gardens
623 reviews
3.57 miles away
GTS Adventure
131 reviews
1.73 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
5 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Emma G | Property representative |
Hi there the menu is in the pics x
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
12:00 - 22:30
09:00 - 23:00
04:00 - 23:00
16:00 - 23:00
16:00 - 23:00
14:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newton Road, Tollerton, Easingwold YO61 1QT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Easingwold  >  Tollerton
  • Phone Number: +44 1347 838975
  • E-mail
Jay, Emma and staff would like to welcome old and new customers, we are a traditional village pub that dates back over 400 years ago, you will always receive a warm welcome, we are child friendly with a large play area situated at the bottom of the garden, doggie friendly in 2 of the 3 rooms and plenty of outside space,we have a dominoes team on Monday evenings, quiz Tuesday evenings, 2 tennis teams, ladies darts and 2 mens darts teams, currently working on a pool room and team, weekend entertainment with live bands, fun days, trips out. we are serving food Tuesday to sunday and also do takeout Tuesday to sunday up to 10.30pm and are looking into delivery
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing