We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak Inn - CLOSED

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
A traditional country pub in pretty village of Nunnington. The new owners have just returned from Italy and their aim is to blend Yorkshire fare, using locally sourced produce with products from known farmers in Tuscany. They hope to achieve 'where Yorkshire meets Tuscany' with appetising sharing plates and dishes of the day using seasonal produce. They wish to continue serving local beers to the regulars and have a well selected wine list. Family Sunday lunch times (Two courses £14.95 And Three courses £17.95).
PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Italian, British
FEATURES
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
83
24
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
83
24
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garlic bread sticky toffee pudding burger beef three course meal pasta the pub food wine sauvignon blanc quintessential english village limited menu home made lovely food friday night booked a table yorkshire wholemeal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

What was good * Beef was good really well, Yorkshire puddings were excellent. Gravy nice. * Pasta was lovely, good sauce and great flavours Needs improvement * Cost - really expensive for what it was I’ve paid a lot less for a lot more *...More

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Danf6197
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Whilst I am always happy that customers take the time to write a review, I am not sure what to make of your various comments: ‘needs improvement’ .. you said it was good and excellent, perhaps you could say what...More

Reviewed 20 October 2017

Called in here for lunch to find a lovely, unmessed with pub that serves decent food. We only wanted a sandwich, the ones we had were fine but from a very limited menu, confined to just salmon or beef. The bread was slightly disappointing, tasted...More

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank lightning92
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Sorry you were disappointed with our sandwich selection. There were other options on apart from salmon or beef. I am not sure what commercial bread is, but no, we do not make our own at lunchtime, it is bought locally....More

Reviewed 14 October 2017

We booked a table for 4 for a Friday night and had a great time. The food was excellent as was the service and the atmosphere. We have now been 3 or 4 times and whether it was just the two of us, a few...More

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank BarbaraJBH
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for your positive review. The team will be most appreciative, and it means we are doing something right! Glad you enjoyed eating with us, and hope that you will come again, and again. Many thanks.

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We have actually been twice and both times were excellent. The first was for my birthday and on calling in to book a table the staff were great. They even made sure the two items we wanted would be on that weeks menu, above and...More

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank Flamingo73
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review and for suggesting it. We try to oblige with our menu, and if you want something special, we will get it for you! Yes, we agree the Sauvignon blanc is a good one. Thanks, do come again. Regards The...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Saturday 25th September 2017 had an excellent evening at the Royal Oak, Nunnington where Bertrand Tortelier from Lille, France ably assisted by the team of staff at the pub prepared a three course menu of home made French Delights with wine pairings. The food and...More

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank OMJ_KMS
Jill G, Manager at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Oh, la, la! Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed Bertrand's French delights. It was a fun evening enjoyed by all, even the staff. Merci beaucoup!

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Very good food at the Royal Oak. The vegetable lasagna with garlic bread was excellent & my husband enjoyed his steak & chips. Finished off with lovely sticky toffee pudding. Nice cosy pub with a pleasant atmosphere & friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank kjb960
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your review and for recommending us. Please come again. Many thanks.

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Just called in for a sandwich which was very nice as was the lady behind the bar and the cleanliness of the place.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank NomadDorset
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Many thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed everything.

Reviewed 3 September 2017

We located this old pub come restaurant via trip adviser and duly booked our first day out on our holiday. Our arrival via country lanes and stone cottages was lovely, although we were unable to park in the car park due to more cars than...More

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Stephen N
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I am not sure what point you are trying to make about the car park. Sorry it was full, however there is on street parking and lots of space at the top of the road. We are happy that you...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017

Called in here for lunch during the summer. A quintessential village pub. I had a delicious burger. I think I went for the Mexican option which meant it also came with jalapenos etc. Really good burger. I'm of the opinion that eating a burger should...More

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank JackTatty
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your enthusiastic review! We are so happy you had a messy experience! I will pass on your comments to the staff and lady behind the bar. Hope to see you again. Grazie mille!

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Picture this...late summer sunny afternoon, quintessential English village of pretty stone constructed cottages surrounding the perfect image of a traditional country pub of matching stone and climbing ivy which upon entry is surpassed by the beauty of a vast open dining/drinking space, complete with exposed...More

Date of visit: August 2017
2  Thank johnwill2015
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for such a lovely and detailed review. We are happy you all enjoyed the meal and experience in our pub. We will look forward to your group returning next month after your ramble. Let's hope it is another sunny afternoon! Grazie mille

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Pheasant Hotel
458 reviews
2.14 miles away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
727 reviews
2.25 miles away
The Feathers Hotel
1,166 reviews
4.36 miles away
The Royal Oak Hotel
489 reviews
4.38 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
Pheasant Inn
223 reviews
2.14 miles away
The Malt Shovel
230 reviews
2.16 miles away
Canadian Fields
144 reviews
2.88 miles away
The Plough Inn
223 reviews
3.06 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2 nearby attractions
Nunnington Hall
654 reviews
.35 miles away
Hovingham Hall
20 reviews
2.18 miles away
Ryedale Miniature Railway
28 reviews
3.53 miles away
Ampleforth Abbey
239 reviews
4.13 miles away
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing