We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Last Post

£
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
227 High Road, Loughton IG10 1BB, England
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Decided to give this place another try even though our last visit was not a good one. Waited ages to be served (mainly due to there only being two bar staff on). However, they were pleasant enough and we thought it was all going OK. My coffee was colder than the cup it was in and although I got a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Took my daughter and her husband for lunch on 'steak day' ordered 3 x 10 chicken wings 2 steaks and a burger. When food was delivered the steaks and burger came before the wings. When I queried this with bar person his response was" Did you ask for the wings to be served first" no apology or anything. My chips... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed31251
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

Honestly what has happened to the last post in loughton .It used to be a lovely wetherspoon pub with good honest food well priced etc .in the last couple of months i have had 3 meals in here at various times of day and week it is DEPLORABLE the food is terrible twice had to send back a dish as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony M
LastPostLoughton, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

Hi Anthony, I would like to sincerely apologise for the visit that you had to our pub, however I would like to find out what went so wrong. Therefore, it would be much appreciated if you could either call me at the pub or come in one day to speak with me about your last 3 visits, so I can... More 

Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

I went to the post with some friends for dinner and a drink. I ordered the chilli con carne and a side of cheesey garlic bread. When one of the waitresses came out with the food, she didn't bring any sour cream which came with the meal. When I asked her for the rest of my meal she looked at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Staitken
LastPostLoughton, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Further to your complaint I believe it necessary for me to reply and explain. In regards to the quality of your food I sincerely apologise and understand it is unacceptable, we will try our very best to ensure this never happens again for you. I would like to add that I did listen to your complaint and came... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

I really like this pub. Been here many a time. Always a good atmosphere and staff friendly. Steak night is a must. I always have Aberdeen steak and always cooked to perfection and at around £10 with a drink you can't go wrong. Great selection of drinks too. ☺

Helpful?
Thank Jools050
LastPostLoughton, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

Thank you for you review and we hope that you come back again soon :) More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016

A good pub with a good range of drinks and a good affordable menu for breakfast and Lunch. The staff are friendly and helpful and the place is clean. It is very popular with the local people.

Helpful?
1 Thank deanh00ke1
LastPostLoughton, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

Hi Dean, Thank you so much for your kind words about our menu and staff, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again soon. Daniel More 

Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Good on a Friday and Saturday night as sits in the centre of the high road. Good offers on drinks as well as some good food deals Can get very busy at times which means it feels a little over crowded and can't be hard to get served at the bar but that's just due to its popularity Get there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank barnzey901
LastPostLoughton, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for your kind words, unfortunately it can get a little crowded at times especially on the weekends, however as you kindly pointed out it is due to our popularity. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again soon. Daniel More 

Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2016

Been a few times for breakfast. Full English is tasty and filling. Lovely Coffee is hot and fresh Will definitely be going again

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
LastPostLoughton, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

Hi Debbie, Thank you so much for your kind words, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again soon. Louisa More 

Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2016

Went in for breakfast, service very good but food just warm and sadly not for the first time. Try heating the food up!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Sedgefordmillie13
LastPostLoughton, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for your compliment to our service, with regards to the quality of your food I sincerely apologise and understand it is unacceptable, we will try our very best to ensure this never occurs again for you. We do hope that you return soon and look forward to it. Many thanks, Louisa More 

Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2016

Food was fair. Very busy and exceptionally noisy. Just had soup, but it was tasty. Must be a very popular pub as it was overcrowded. Mostly a younger group. Would not go again when there are many other good places to frequent.

Helpful?
Thank Ed W
LastPostLoughton, Manager at The Last Post, responded to this review

Hi Ed, Thank you for your review of our pub and the quality of our food. Yes, in the evenings we can get very busy especially on the weekends as groups tend to come to the pub for some drinks. However, during the week and daytimes we have a great atmosphere for anyone wanting to come and sit in to... More 

Travellers who viewed The Last Post also viewed

 
Loughton, Essex
 

Been to The Last Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 227 High Road, Loughton IG10 1BB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Loughton
Description
Popular local pub with food.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Last Post staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?