We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak

Village Green | Felday Road, Holmbury St Mary RH5 6PF, England
+44 1306 898010
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good31%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“cromer crab” (2 reviews)
“burgers” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Village Green | Felday Road, Holmbury St Mary RH5 6PF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I passed through Holmbury St Mary in my travels and decided to have lunch at The Royal Oak. The village itself is very quiet and the sun was shining so I decided to sit in the small garden. There is no mobile phone signal, which...More

Thank James C
timewellspentuk1, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear James C, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. As you rightly said Holmbury St Mary is quiet a special spot. We are glad to hear that you had a relaxing time and would like to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely quaint PH very welcoming in our visit. Both staff were attentive and nothing was a problem. Menu a bit restricted but adequate. Main meal on one starter were fine no issue hot tasty and eaten. Drinks as requested we had an ok time no...More

Thank Donovan D
timewellspentuk1, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Donovan D, Thank you for your kind review. Myself and the team are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We have an exciting new menu coming out shortly so please pay us a visit and enjoy a complimentary coffee on us for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped halfway through a circular walk for a beer and snack. Both very good, the ciabatta was particularly nice. The do different evenings and we looked at the Tapas menu which looked pretty authentic. A great find!More

Thank johnnier1
timewellspentuk1, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Johnnier1, Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit . We will be having our very own brew out soon from our lovely new onsite brewery so please pop in and try a complimentary pint...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited on a Sunday lunch after reading some good reviews. The first roast beef served was just one slice of meat which was very grisly with no roast potatoes. The second serving was better with more meat but was again very chewy. The chicken...More

Thank CHANNM57
Marc J, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Christinewebster2016, It deeply saddens me to hear of your poor experience with us at The Royal Oak. Belinda and the team work so hard all year round to make sure customers enjoy their time and leave happy. On this occasion, it appears in the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We received a warm welcome here but the food was no better than average. The soup lacked flavour; ditto the main course, which found us hastily reaching for the condiments to give our dishes a modicum of taste. The Eton Mess pudding was tart in...More

Thank Hugh_Christina_S
Marc J, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hugh_Christina_S, Firstly, thank you for taking time out of your day to feedback on your experience with us. However, I am saddened that it is because of a mediocre visit. Over the past year Belinda and the team have worked so hard to uplift...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service superb, food fantastic, beautiful venue only problem you could not have a conversation because of the high decibels! In my opinion it was caused by the low ceilings but we had to leave because we could not hear ourselves speak. Next day my ears...More

Thank Bonny C
Marc J, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bonny, Thank you for you review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that the music was too loud for you . We do have it set to a comfortable back ground volume on our system so I apologise if this was not the...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely lunch with great food and wine, helpful friendly staff, village is stunning and the pub is lovely and traditional. Lots of nearby walks and very peaceful. Highly recommend.More

Thank Therese S
Marc J, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hello Therese S, Wow, what a lovely review!! It is so refreshing for us to hear positive feedback from our customers. I have passed your comments on to the whole team at The Royal Oak and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us....More

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Having been recommended this pub for a meal we were really looking forward to it; lovely location and friendly staff however the food was a huge disappointment! We went on a Sunday early evening & both had roast beef, it was totally over cooked, tough,...More

1  Thank AngHook
Marc J, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear AngHook, I would like to start this response with a very heartfelt apology. It is unusual for us to let customers leave the premises unhappy after a poor experience. I am humbled that you found our service friendly and attentive, however saddened that this...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017

I knew the Royal Oak as a teenager and young adult and used to enjoy eating there greatly. I was therefore very sad when it closed some years ago but even more delighted to find that it had been refurbished and reopened. They've done a...More

Thank LeatherheadTraveller
Marc J, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear LeatherheadTraveller, Firstly, I would like to thank you for enthusiastic review, your comments really go a long way and mean a lot to our hard working staff. It's customers like yourselves that ensure we go home at night with a smile on our face....More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Dinner on their Wednesday steak night, excellent meal at very good value, charming and attentive serviceMore

Thank Phillip D
Marc J, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hello Phillip D, Firstly, thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to us! Fortunately we are not that far away from you so we hope to see you again in the future. Pavel and his kitchen team are delighted...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Peaslake Village Stores
25 reviews
1.41 miles away
The Wotton Hatch
633 reviews
2.23 miles away
Gomshall Mill
414 reviews
2.58 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hannah Peschar Sculpture Garden
93 reviews
3.92 miles away
Silent Pool Distillery
83 reviews
3.94 miles away
Leith Hill
336 reviews
2.04 miles away
Shere Museum
13 reviews
3.00 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mike B
4 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jan11c | Reviewed this property |
There is plenty of space - front and back for a spot of lunch and a drink. No problems and the local walking is fantastic. Try walking up by the cricket club and to the top of the hill - lovely views and so peaceful. Enjoy... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$24
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Village Green | Felday Road, Holmbury St Mary RH5 6PF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Holmbury St Mary
  • Phone Number: +44 1306 898010
Description
The village of Holmbury St Mary lays high in the Surrey Hills. The glorious countryside with far-reaching views is a popular location for walkers, ramblers, cyclists and mountain-bikers. The Royal Oak was originally a cottage, built in about the 1730s. The triangular green onto which it looks out, along with the church perched nearby on a slope with pine trees behind and houses dotted around, gives the impression that things haven't changed for centuries. Re-opened on the 1st August 2016, after a mindful refurbishment, bringing it's former customary warmth back to life, the traditional bar area, with oak beams, fireplace and stonework lead you through to another level with a fresh perspective to this delightful village pub. Belinda and her team look forward to meeting villagers and visitors alike to share, identify and explore the areas of support they can contribute to, and be part of.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing