We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Curlew Restaurant

The Curlew Junction Road, Bodiam TN32 5UY, England
+44 1580 861394
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good22%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“petit fours” (26 reviews)
“bread” (53 reviews)
“souffle” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££££
DETAILS
The Curlew Junction Road, Bodiam TN32 5UY, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It has been a long time since I have eaten at the Curlew and it seems that a lot of water has passed under the bridge since then with many changes. I really wanted to give this restaurant five stars as I was expecting it...More

2  Thank Alastair J
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had heard good things about the new(ish) chef, Jonathan Forbes and the even newer Restaurant Manager Ian Wilson so we decided to give it a go. There were 3 of us having 3 courses and we each tried eachother's food so a thorough assessment of...More

2  Thank sarah_e_wilson
Reviewed 17 April 2017

An anniversary Easter lunch- super cuisine and very attentive service from Ian the head waiter. Have been here several times and this was one of the best

3  Thank sarahgrey
TheCurlewManagement, Manager at The Curlew Restaurant, responded to this review

Sarahgrey, thank you so much for the lovely review of our restaurant, and for choosing it to celebrate such a great an occasion as Easter. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed everything so much, we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Reviewed 11 April 2017

I never give bad reviews but this was terrible. Advertised as an upmarket dining venue we love fine dining so booked it. The service was slow and we waited ages for drinks ect even though it was not that bust. The decor and places furnishing...More

2  Thank Elaine C
TheCurlewManagement, Manager at The Curlew Restaurant, responded to this review

Elaine C so sorry to hear about such a negative experience here. Your reservation was dated last September, which is why I was surprised to see it pop up now. We have a new team both front and back of house now, so I would...More

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

I love this place and each time I go back it cements my opinion even more. My birthday was no exception to this. The welcome was as always friendly, and the staff too even though it was a really busy Saturday night. The food was...More

2  Thank Louise H
TheCurlewManagement, Manager at The Curlew Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Louise H for such kind words. Each dish you have mentioned are favourites of the house, it is wonderful to hear they have worked so well. It is great to learn you enjoyed everything in such style, and we can't wait to welcome...More

Reviewed 7 April 2017

We had the most amazing evening my husband and I. The food was superb with friendly service. Cannot fault this restaurant in anyway. Pricing is what you expect for a restaurant of this standard. Recommend the rice pudding...the best pudding I have ever had in...More

2  Thank smelly6769
TheCurlewManagement, Manager at The Curlew Restaurant, responded to this review

Lovely review smelly6769, thank you. Great to hear you enjoyed the rice pudding, it is one of our favourites too. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed 5 April 2017

I decided to take my partner to dinner at The Curlew this evening as a treat, and neither of us were disappointed. The greeting was warm and friendly, and the service was attentive and courteous throughout. The menu options were clearly explained and whilst we...More

2  Thank Taxingissues
TheCurlewManagement, Manager at The Curlew Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Taxingissues for your lovely review. It is great to hear that everything suited you so well, from start to finish. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, hopefully in the near future!

Reviewed 4 April 2017

Booked a big table for my son's birthday ...absolutely delicious food , excellent service and atmosphere .

1  Thank Nikkioak
TheCurlewManagement, Manager at The Curlew Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Nikkioak for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion, great to hear that everything was received well. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

First time visit to this restaurant and was in no way disappointed. Under a new chef and new manager, thought we would give it a try. First impressions were what a lovely place, great setting, lots of parking, easy to find. So far so good....More

3  Thank sturges66
TheCurlewManagement, Manager at The Curlew Restaurant, responded to this review

Wow, love the attention to detail here. What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to write it and share on here. We will be entering you into our loyalty scheme shortly, so keep an eye on our various upcoming offers, because we...More

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We ate here following a recommendation from a neighbour, and I'm glad we did. The best way to describe The Curlew is Fine Dining with a relaxed atmosphere. After being seated and ordering drinks we were served canapés followed by an amuse bouche and bread...More

3  Thank Calamitysammysam
TheCurlewManagement, Manager at The Curlew Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Calamitysammysam for those lovely words. So glad to hear our restaurant suited you so well. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
A21 Diner
77 reviews
2.00 miles away
The White Dog Inn
265 reviews
2.14 miles away
New Spice
150 reviews
2.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bodiam Castle
1,346 reviews
1.30 miles away
Merriments
88 reviews
1.81 miles away
The Salehurst Halt
18 reviews
1.85 miles away
Kino Digital Cinema
102 reviews
2.61 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
brendakch
are dogs allowed?
29 September 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Surreyhotelguru | Reviewed this property |
I don't know, I suggest you contact the restaurant and check.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$33 - US$52
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
18:30 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Curlew Junction Road, Bodiam TN32 5UY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Bodiam
  • Phone Number: +44 1580 861394
  • E-mail
Description
In a previous life, The Curlew Restaurant at Bodiam,
East Sussex was a Coaching Inn where travellers rested their weary, moustachioed heads and warmed their spirits while on rain-sodden route from Hastings to London.

But now, Mark and Sara Colley have given The Curlew another life.

Just an errant arrow flight from Hastings, stone skim from Bodiam Castle, mince from Brighton, manicured lawn from Tunbridge Wells, The Curlew is a place where formal food meets informal dining, where the city and country brush shoulders, style meets stile.

Modern British dining for the Modern British diner.

The Curlew has held a Michelin Star since 2011.