We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Scuttlebutt Restaurant

££ - £££
Canadian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
+1 902-634-5100
Website
Today
08:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 20:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 16:00 - 20:00
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 14:00
Tue 16:00 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
540 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2015

Four of us went for breakfast on Sunday morning, October 11. We arrived around 9:50 am and sat down at the table by the window. The table was dirty but we didn't mind waiting as it had a nice view of the street and people passing by. It appeared there were three female servers and perhaps 7 or 8 tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Hoser
YOURCOICE, Owner at The Scuttlebutt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I can only apologize for the service. I really thought I eased out the service problem. Unfortunately, I did not. I am very sorry for your disappointing experience. I will continue to work on that. Regards, Eva Ziegler More 

East Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2015

Breakfast food and service were very good (we ate here 2 days in a row)--- music was also very nice but a wee bit on the loud side for us.

Helpful?
Thank DBTraveller0727
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

When we were the first time in Lunenburg, we looked for a restaurant for a bite to eat. The iphone energy was empty, so we gathered around and choosed this restaurant because a band built up their instrumests. The owner mentioned, that all tables were reserved, but they got from somewhere a table wirh 2 chairs for us. Excellent meal,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

We waited for about 10 minutes before someone came to us, took another 10 minutes for our drinks to come, and it wasn't busy at all, the food was cold and very disappointing. There was a women there who was very rude to us. I wouldn't return.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cecile F
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Over priced, terrible breakfast. Cold unbuttered toast, undercooked potatoes, cold bacon and warm orange juice. I asked for eggs over hard and when i mentionned to the waitress that she brought poached, her response was "I don't know why she cooked the eggs like that ". Don't waste your money, even with the coupon from the hotel it wasn't worth... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy D
Canada
Level Contributor
327 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2015

Went for breakfast.... Ordered and waited 10 minutes for coffee to arrive. Finally went to counter to get them myself. 30 minutes - still no breakfast while others are getting theirs. Asked waitress - kitchen lost our order. 20 minutes later we get our breakfast with white toast instead of brown. 15 minutes later brown toast arrives... Breakfast took an... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PeterDCanada
Manuel Z, Owner at The Scuttlebutt Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear about your lack of service at the Scuttlebutt Restaurant. Unfortunately due to illness we were short staffed that day,and we have taken immediate actions to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Once again, I apologize. Best regards, Eva Ziegler More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

We only went here for breakfast. It was next door to Smugglers Cove Inn where we were stating.we were given monwy-off vouchers to encourage us! The traditional breakfast was good value and the sausages and bacon both came from local farms which reared "happy" pork. I was sceptical but the sausages were very very good. Meaty and without fillers. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angl0Canadian
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

We went here for breakfast with a coupon from the rum runner inn. Breakfast was just okay. I'm not sure we'd go again. Maybe if we got a coupon.

Helpful?
Thank Teaandviking
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2015

We had lunch there with six people. To get our food took more than 30 minutes. All the different plates had almost no taste, the soup tasted and looked like water.The exception was the club sandwich. Service was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank argonfroes
YOURCOICE, Owner at The Scuttlebutt Restaurant, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry that you did not enjoy our Chef Philip's dishes. Many guests are very happy and satisfied about his new bold tasting menu items. Chef Philip prepares everything from the scratch and is using fresh and local herbs only Not a single dish is done without passion and pride. I am sorry that we could not meet... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

After spending the night at a local inn...we were given coupons for this place for breakfast. Toast was more like bread. One piece of bacon, undercooked egg. Can't cook a basic breakfast. Disappointing. Slow service. Ugh. Menu is small and limited. They no longer have a kids menu. Smoothies are no longer offered. You have like 5 choices for breakfast.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
YOURCOICE, Owner at The Scuttlebutt Restaurant, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your experience at the Scuttlebutt. We took immediate actions in the dining room and in the kitchen to avoid future disappointments by guests. Once again, I apologize. Best regards, Eva Ziegler More 

Travellers who viewed The Scuttlebutt Restaurant also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to The Scuttlebutt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Canadian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Takeout, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 14:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 14:00
Thursday
08:00 - 14:00
Friday
08:00 - 14:00
Saturday
08:00 - 14:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Nova Scotia  >  Southwest Nova Scotia  >  Lunenburg
  • Phone Number: +1 902-634-5100
Description
Ideal place for good breakfast and great lunch. Specialized in fresh mix of European and Canadian salads, light pasta and fantastic Nova Scotia Fish. Dinner served on weekends with live music. Keith Andrews, a great local talent, rocks the audience with the Beatles, Gordon Lightfoot, Neil Diamond and much more! Every Saturday at 8pm!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Scuttlebutt Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?