We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vernon Arms

££ - £££, British,
Vernon Arms Main Road, Sudbury DE6 5HS, England
+44 1283 585329
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“game pie” (17 reviews)
“mustard mash” (5 reviews)
“baguette” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Vernon Arms Main Road, Sudbury DE6 5HS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited tonight to celebrate my father in laws 60th Birthday after coming here a few weeks back (when we had the game pie, which is amazing). The friendly staff couldn't have been more attentive. On our first visit the food did take a little longer...More

Thank Richie611
Rob F, Owner at Vernon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Richie. Many thanks for your lovely review and we are all very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and I am very happy to hear that the staff looked after you. I will not tell Jules as he will want a raise!...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food and drink very good. Staff helpful. Just off A50 in a very quiet location NationalTrust museum of childhood across the road only 100 yards away. Well worth a visit.

Thank Peter B
Rob F, Owner at Vernon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Peter. Thank you very much for taking the time to make your review. We look forward to seeing the lads getting together again soon. Cheers. Rob

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would have given this pub five stars had we not had to wait three quarters of an hour for our food which was excellent when it eventually arrived.More

Thank Allan D
Rob F, Owner at Vernon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Allan. Many thanks for your review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed our food. I am however disappointed that it should have taken so long for you to be served. I do know that we were busy, and that you were advised...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

After a long layoff after a bad experience we have been going here fairly regularly lately as the food and service had definitely taken a step up. Today the service was more familiar of the bad times, slightly chaotic I think. Food was good when...More

Thank sjclarke1978
Rob F, Owner at Vernon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi SJ. Thank you for your review and I am sorry that we fell below our standards on Sunday. We were very busy and, even though we had tables of 6 and 8 arrive without reservation, I thought that we seated every customer within a...More

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Visited today with my relatives. Looking for some food. We ordered two fish and chips and two sandwiches. I had the coronation chicken, it arrived and looked lovely until I picked it up, the bread was hard but into it the chicken even harder. I...More

Thank Terrie D
Rob F, Owner at Vernon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Terrie. Thank you for taking the time to make a review but I am disappointed that you have marked us average due to the sandwich if the other 3 meals were good. We serve rustic bread that it is delivered daily and cook every...More

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Went to visit Sudbury Hall on a cold Saturday and noticed there was a fete in the pub grounds , so after the hall we called into the pub and had a look around the fete and the stalls. We had hog roast and jacket...More

Thank DerbyshireFlyboy
Rob F, Owner at Vernon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Flyboy. Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you had a good afternoon with us. We try hard to entertain our guests and to provide them with good food and drink at a reasonable price. Come back soon and...More

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Went here on a spur of the moment meal out. Welcomed by a lovely warm cosy fire and relaxed atmosphere. The staff were both friendly and professional and the food was perfect! Will recommend and come back!!

Thank jenn b
Rob F, Owner at Vernon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Jenn. Many thanks for your great review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Come back soon. Cheers. Rob

Reviewed 9 September 2017

We went here for the first time on Thursday to try the special night 2 fish and chips for £15 and it was good. The young lady that served us was lovely, very friendly and hard working. We sat n the downstairs dining room it...More

Thank Gaynor C
Rob F, Owner at Vernon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Gaynor. Many thanks for your review and I am pleased that the staff looked after you and that the meals were good. Why leave it at Pie Night? Come in for Steak Night, Fizzy Friday and Sunday Lunch - not forgetting Monday Tex Mex....More

Reviewed 15 August 2017

Took my mum and dad for lunch today. Asked if we could eat in the restaurant because the weather looked like it may turn and therefore spoil lunch in the beautiful garden. The gentleman (maybe landlord) told me to continue getting my drinks and he...More

Thank Tracy J
Rob F, Owner at Vernon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Tracy. Thank you very much for your lovely review and I am very pleased that we looked after you and made you all welcome. We strive to do that at all times. The gentleman was Julian, the manager, and he has been instrumental in...More

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Ordered two ham salads which the menu said came with rustic bread and poached eggs- only when we asked for the waitress said someone else asked that last week but I've never known it to... then another couple near us asked the same question- either...More

Thank Saxonx500
Rob F, Owner at Vernon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Hi Saxonx500. PATHETIC REVIEW. We made a mistake on the menu when printing. This has now been remedied. I do not know of any salads that are served with bread. We did bring rustic bread to your table for your salads after your request to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Roebuck
151 reviews
1.71 miles away
The Dog and Partridge
672 reviews
1.72 miles away
Vintage Pink
14 reviews
2.36 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sudbury Hall
626 reviews
.11 miles away
Tutbury Castle
248 reviews
3.53 miles away
Doveridge Clay Sports
35 reviews
4.23 miles away
Museum of Childhood
87 reviews
.08 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RPMcB
26 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Susan F | Reviewed this property |
Post code is DE6 5HG
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Vernon Arms Main Road, Sudbury DE6 5HS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Sudbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 585329
  • E-mail
Description
17th Century village pub with huge beer garden and secluded courtyard. Large car park to the rear. Log fires and welcoming atmosphere. Food served every day with Lunch from 12.00 to 15.00 and Evening from 18.00 to 21.00. Full range of freshly prepared meals with locally sourced meat, vegetables, cheeses and ice creams.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing