We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trooper

££ - £££, British,
Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
+44 1543 480413
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good20%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (148 reviews)
“pizza” (49 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Had lunch. Fantastic. It is a beautiful place. The fire was lite and it felt very seasonal with pretty decorations. The food was fantastic. And the plum pudding cheesecake to die for. Great atmosphere. Great food. Great time. Thank you. Couldn’t of been more perfect.

Thank frillyholidays
Reviewed 1 week ago

Six of us went on Sunday lunchtime I'd heard a lot about the Trooper but hadn't been for many years. The pub has been altered & is now very modern, sign of the times but I miss the quaintness. The bottomless lunch is normally £25...More

1  Thank LucindaStaffs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Will not be making our way back to this awful restraunt and would not recommend. We got there and ordered starters of the menu which were very skimpy portions and in fact cold, wasn’t impressed after waiting 30 mins. Then we ordered our mains which...More

4  Thank ollyoll
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

love the ambience here, such a cosy feel with a great atmosphere, service is great and the food is so tasty and well presented

Thank Julie M
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Julie M, thank you for your very kind review, all of us here at The Trooper are appreciative of your very positive words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not been for about a year but really enjoyed it food very good and service excellent. Place has nice atmosphere. The menu is large and some excellent choices.

1  Thank Stelfox2016
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Stelfox2016, thank you for your very kind review of us, All of us here at The Trooper are appreciative of your very positive words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Four of us came here on Saturday afternoon for the famous Bottomless Prosecco lunch sitting. The place was busy but the staff were all coping well, despite most of them being probably aged 18-25. The £25 per head bottomless deal is definitely not false advertising....More

Thank AndyAllen79
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi andyallen79, Thank you for 5 star review, we are very glad that you all enjoyed your experience here with us and we looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks, Tom Hughes

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Came to The Trooper tonight for my Mom’s birthday. Our table wasn’t quite ready so we grabbed a drink at the bar to start. I asked the barman for a recommendation for a refreshing alcoholic drink and his response was “dunno really”.... Not a great...More

6  Thank xelaward
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi xelaward, Thank you for your review, i have replied to your personal email address regarding the issues in your review. Thank you Tom Hughes

Reviewed 8 November 2017

I visited this restaurant for sunday lunch. We had a mixed party of young and old. The venue itself is very nice to look at both inside and out so I was very optimistic. The staff were courteous and attentive and the bar well stocked...More

5  Thank Paul G
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We moved to the area just over two years ago and last night finally got round to visiting a place that so many folks have told us we are so lucky to live near. I was genuinely looking forward to being impressed. Sadly, I was...More

Thank StellaWynn
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday with family. The first thing you notice is the charcoal smell before you walk in. The restaurant is modern and clean and lots of light in the dining area, less so in the bar. Staff are friendly and accommodating, service is...More

Thank Bella4tunata
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hadrian Hotel
7 reviews
.27 miles away
The Brook Tea Rooms
9 reviews
1.69 miles away
The Plough
366 reviews
1.26 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Oak Tree Farm
9 reviews
2.52 miles away
Lichfield Cathedral
1,471 reviews
2.22 miles away
Beacon Park
249 reviews
2.04 miles away
Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum
253 reviews
2.18 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
clare85lee
30 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from KTR57 | Reviewed this property |
About as poor as the quality of the service a party of 8 had when eating there for the FINAL time.
1
Vote
Jenxjenx
25 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Jamesvp | Reviewed this property |
Not lousy, just not to the same standard as cooking. Staff seemed uninterested and given high levels of service in industry these days my experience was very average
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$54
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Wall
  • Phone Number: +44 1543 480413
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing