We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pump House

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Located inside a former pumping station, The Pump House boasts an enviable waterside location where the city docks meet the River Avon. The warm and welcoming interior is divided into a spacious bar and informal dining area, and an elegant upstairs restaurant. Chef and proprietor Toby Gritten, former head chef at Bell's Diner and The Albion in Clifton Village, is in charge of the frequently changing menu which features classic British dishes with a European influence. Everything is prepared on site using top quality ingredients like fish and seafood delivered daily from the coast and meat sourced locally wherever possible. The Pump House also offers an extensive wine and champagne list, as well
PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$58
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
212
183
61
61
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
212
183
61
61
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef onglet hake sticky toffee pudding fish cakes sunday roast great gin the pub cauliflower cheese delicious meal ploughmans avon docks courses harbourside veg
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 568 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

A lovely Valentine supper with gin pairings. Gourmet tasting menu which was excellent, with a friendly attentive staff. Recommended.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank patsyq2016
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just pooped in for a pint after work. Nice setting good selection of beers as well as over 200 gins. Food looked good, nice fish dishes although didn’t eat. A good spot in the summer

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank JCJOHNCONNOR
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Compelled to leave a review after a single rude interaction with a member of bar staff. Didn’t eat, just drinks. She was rude to us, we watched her be rude to the people behind us. Wouldn’t return.

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank Antifascist1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went as a family for a Saturday lunch to celebrate an anniversary. The bar downstairs was informal and lively with people on the way to rugby and served some good classic pub food of good quality. As a family we ate in the restaurant...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank martyn255
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Waited 30 mins for drinks and 90 mins for food. It wasn't busy. The meat eaters were well catered for but the veggie option was poor: a slab of terrine v a sparse bit of cauli done three ways. Well, two, as one way was...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JulieSSurrey
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Some of my friends and I visited this gorgeous establishment in January 2018. We were greeted by The Grinch and his colleagues. The most miserable set of staff you will ever encounter. Can only assume the company they work for is terrible to work for...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank WilliamR296
Reviewed 10 January 2019

We came for a slap up meal and left deflated and sad. It was probably because the kitchen/pub was getting geared up for the New Years Eve rush but I found the food overpriced for what we were served and the place lacked atmosphere. I...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank Katie110
PumpHouseBristol, Manager at The Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good afternoon Katie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such valuable feedback. To hear that you you left deflated and sad, leaves us deflated and sad. We set our standards high and have a passionate team of Chefs along with a great...More

Reviewed 7 January 2019

It's a big big place, I went casually for a drink with friends. The bartender was kind enough to recommend the gin of the day because the selection was huuuuuge! Great times, I sure hope to taste their menu in the future.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank ssymeonidou
PumpHouseBristol, Manager at The Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for your review! We are indeed a Gin Cathedral. We currently stock around 600 gins and are passionate about all things Gin! I'm glad you got to enjoy our gin of the day! We are currently working on a gin menu to assist...More

Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

Had a really lovely afternoon lunch with friends, the food is fantastic, really not the pub food I expected more restaurant standard. Staff were very accommodating and service was great.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Corinna B
PumpHouseBristol, Manager at The Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, Thank so much for your fabulous post! We are an independent business led by an inspirational Executive Chef. We are driven to provide fantastic food with exceptional service. I'm so glad that you had the experience all our guests deserve. Thanks for supporting us....More

Reviewed 4 January 2019

We booked a table for just 13 of us for a lunch reception after our Christmas Eve wedding. We wanted something fairly laid back, but we are all food-lovers & a few of us are gin-drinkers so that was also key for us. The Pump...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Alison S
PumpHouseBristol, Manager at The Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good morning James and Alison, CONGRATULATIONS!!! Thank you so much for your post! To think that you've taken the time to provide such a wonderful review when you are on your honeymoon means a lot to us. We absolutely love hosting weddings and are incredibly...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 38 nearby hotels
Avon Gorge by Hotel du Vin
1,306 reviews
.48 miles away
Victoria Square Hotel
644 reviews
.51 miles away
The Rodney Hotel
555 reviews
.51 miles away
Travelodge Bristol Central
1,034 reviews
.60 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,884 nearby restaurants
Coronation Curry House
457 reviews
.33 miles away
The Lion
254 reviews
.27 miles away
The Ashville Steakhouse
396 reviews
.34 miles away
Lockside
382 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 544 nearby attractions
Brunel's SS Great Britain
6,978 reviews
.43 miles away
Tobacco Factory Theatres
221 reviews
.48 miles away
Underfall Yard
25 reviews
.09 miles away
The Clifton Arcade
58 reviews
.48 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kerry s
20 November 2016|
Answer
Response from PumpHouseBristol | Property representative |
Hello, Please email us with your booking inquiry and our events team will organise everything for you. Thanks General Manager
1
Vote
L_M_P_S_C_M
20 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from RobininBRISTOL | Reviewed this property |
Just checked up and indeed - FSA did rate at zero in March.
0
Votes
bobwd
2 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Chris K | Reviewed this property |
You can find details of food hygiene ratings and what contributes to the rating on the website Scoresonthedoors The Food Standards Agency website lists the overall score for a food business, but doesn't break it down to its... More
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing