We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Anchor

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
As featured in 3 Days in Cambridge and 1 other guide
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
+44 1223 353554
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 451: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We popped in yesterday lunch for a quick bite to eat, lovely location great food and fantastic service. On arrival we had a very warm and friendly welcome and seated in the upstairs restaurant, we both had the fish and chips which was delightful. Excellent service from the moment we walked in the door, definitely be returning more often.

Thank JoeJoe17
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017

We asked the waitress for a drink from the bar but she wouldn't serve us. She asked us to sit down and showed us to a table. We waited for her to bring the drinks. She went to serve the only other occupied table. We waited and waited. My husband then went back to the bar but she wouldn't serve... More 

1 Thank Judi T
anchor c, Manager at The Anchor, responded to this review

Please know that we continue to invest heavily in ongoing training, you can be assured that every single person working here night will read your email and learn from your experience. More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017

We popped into the Anchor recently for Sunday lunch. The place seemed pleasant enough; clean and welcoming. There was some confusion as to where we actually needed to order food and where we could sit, which resulted in some comical (Benny Hill style) shuffling up and down stairs, then back up and down again. Downstairs was, again, pleasant, but a... More 

Thank Local_Bloke999
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

Staff were excellent and beer was great. Food pricy for what was essentially pub food but the quality was a cut above the rest.

Thank Dave G
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

On a cold, wet day The Anchor was a perfect retreat for Sunday lunch. Meals were good value and service good. Colouring in for our 4 yr old and special kids menu was fantastic.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Visited the anchor with the family. All over 18 and have been to a lot of English pubs. This was a disappointing experience. The ploughman platter has stale bread and was just pathetic. Also the waiter was terrible. The toilets were either blocked, didn't flush or no toilet paper. Wouldn't recommend

Thank Caitlinrose1992
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

The pub is nice but is a little overprices. Taking in consideration the location and all the other factors is an average pub with high prices. The pub has a little terrace just next to the channel where you can sit for a meal and drink. The toilet is quite clean. The bar looks like need some TLC.

Thank Paulina S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

I had selected the Anchor as the venue for a group Christmas lunch that I organised at work, because of the relatively large number of menu choices offered (6 per course as opposed to 3/4 at my other options). Having confirmed my intention to make a booking I was told that I had to pay a deposit, so I should... More 

Thank adechan15
São José dos Campos, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
206 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016

The Anchor is a very good and famous pub in Cambridge, there are always many people. The location is in the centre, there is a new view of the Cam River where people usually punt. There are good beers and food there as typically served in the UK pubs. I heard that there are sometimes jazz music live there.

Thank Rodolfo B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Terrible service, no male toilets so everybody using the disabled toilet, bland food and dreadful value. It used to be good but never again.

1 Thank wingers1966
anchor c, Manager at The Anchor, responded to this review

Hi, I do apologise that our toilets were out of order. Unfortunately a pipe had failed and although we tried our best to keep them working this was not possible. With regards to your food, please could you email us at info@anchorcambridge.com to let us know the issues that you had and enable me to investigate? We endeavour to check... More 

Travellers who viewed The Anchor also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Bar, British, Pub
Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Cambridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1223 353554
The newly refurbished Anchor Pub boasts a sixty seat dining room over looking the river Cam, In addition we have a brand new open Kitchen, New menus, new wine list and offer fresh innovative food using seasonal & locally sourced ingredients. Real ales and craft beers from local brewers and will be open for lunch and dinner everyday. During the summer months our guests will be able to eat Al Fresco on our beautiful river terrace. We look forward to welcoming you.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Anchor staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?