Curry Palace

Curry Palace

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1954 250257+ Add website
Hours
Sun
17:00 - 22:00
Mon
17:00 - 22:00
Tue
17:00 - 22:00
Wed
17:00 - 22:00
Thu
17:00 - 22:00
Fri
17:00 - 22:00
Sat
17:00 - 22:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Indian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
features
Is this an Indian restaurant?
About
Award-winning Indian restaurant near Cambridge, Curry Palace has won hearts of food lovers. Located in Cottenham, the restaurant has reached heights in just a few years. Cosy ambience and delicious food are what you get apart from friendly services. The restaurant is popular for family dine-ins as you can have ample time chilling with the delicious food. Be sure to check their order online menu before you plan a visit. Yes, that definitely says you can also order food online in Cambridge from Curry palace via the restaurant’s website. The dishes offered are culture-proof and once tasted, it is guaranteed you simply can’t get enough. It is recommended you try the award-winning dish Purple Tiger. It has become a signature dish as this brought Curry Palace the respectable accolade of Champion of Champions in ARTA 2018. Such a glory! Do not forget to avail the offers on online ordering. It’s easy. To know more about Curry Palace, visit the website.
CUISINES
Indian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles314 reviews
Excellent
212
Very good
46
Average
17
Poor
17
Terrible
22
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Alan L
Cambridge326 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2019 none
A new menu since our last visit, I ordered Purple Tiger, not sure where the name comes from for it was neither purple or tigerish! It was however simply delicious as were the other three dishes that we ordered, a little pricey I thought by the time rice and vegetable side dishes had been added it cost over £24 for a single dish. Every visit here there seems to be a balancing act between take out meals and table service and it seems frequently take out is the winner, I guess because once seated and committed to either drinks or papadoms together with increasing hunger pains it is difficult to walk away. When we arrived the waiting area for take outs was over full whilst the front restaurant tables only one was occupied yet it still took 45 minutes for us to receive food. It does send a mixed message when one is sitting at a table waiting for food overlooking numerous people coming and going with takeouts. This was on a night when there were very few people eating in, pity the wait if both areas are busy.
Written 7 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jack B
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We visited for our friends birthday on a Saturday night. The restaurant was really busy, and we knew the food was great from all the things we heard about curry palace, so we were happy to wait. However, to start, the service from 3 of the waiting staff were incredibly poor, drinks order was not taken until the elder waiter decided to sit us down and come back 20 minutes later. Whilst eating our papadoms another elder waiter was in a rush to clear our table despite us still eating. As a result, we had paid for our drink and were ready to leave until a young gentleman waiter called Sam had spoken to us. He spoke to us in a loving manner and offered his apologies, and most importantly listened to our problems thus far. Sam then personally took charge of our table and from there on it was a wonderful night to remember. We knew the food was great, but the service from Sam was a to a level where any customer would welcome, and you’d want to hug and thank him like there’s no tomorrow. A very well presented, very well-spoken young man with an aura about him that is contagious, and will you leave wanting to come back just for him! He changed our mind from leaving to then offering one of the best nights we have had in our 20 years of dining experience. My friend who comes to curry palace regularly said Sam is exactly what was missing from his visits, and is by a long mile, a spark like no other. We will now only arrange to come in on Friday and Saturday nights as this is when Sam works, so may I suggest if you visit, do visit on the weekend and ask for Sam. We have to also give credit to the owner who personally came out and ensured our night was as good as we hoped. By far the BEST food in Cambridge and without the BEST service thanks to Sam. Highly recommended. Jack and friends.
Written 21 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Liam Rack-Smith
Greater London1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
We visited Curry Palace last Saturday as we were visiting down from London. I am a keen admirer of curry (especially Bengali) as my friend used to own a restaurant in Regent Street. We were kindly served by a young waiter called Sam, who was nothing short of excellent and delivered wonderful customer service towards us. I greeted Sam in Bengali, and he was taken back by it, and from there on, we laughed and exchanged words in Bengali. My wife got the mixed grill, and as I was debating what to get, Sam recommends the lamb tawha shashlik balti with onion rice. The food was marvellous and cooked to perfection. Spot on recommendations and massive credit to the chef for the lovely food. A great place for dinner and super service from Sam. Hopefully next time, Sam will let me have try staff curry (Kubi Moja - very nice in Bengali) A must try!
Written 10 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JoP
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
We placed an order for three curries and rice over the phone on Saturday night at 18:30. They told us it would be ready in 40-50 minutes. I arrived to pick it up at 19:20 and paid for it then too, even though it wasn’t ready. There were many customers waiting for their order too - one guy had been waiting for an hour and a half. I still hadn’t received my order by 20:30, despite kindly asking for them to check where it was many times; no one came to tell me what was happening with it, which added to my frustration. Many other customers who had ordered came and went. At 20:30 when I spoke again to the front of staff, he asked to see my receipt to check that I had already paid for it. He then disappeared for 20 minutes ( I assume to chase my order) and came back with it at 20:50 - 2 hours and 20 minutes after we placed the order over the phone, and 1 and a half hours after we arrived there. There was no offer to reimburse anything, or any offer of anything free as compensation for the hour and a half that I wasted whilst waiting for my order. The food was good, but the service was terrible and this is not the first time we have had terrible service from there; I won’t be going back in a hurry.
Written 29 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

felineluckypunk
Linton974 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Had a work bday curry here. It's a nice crisp vibe inside and the food was really good but the service was a bit hasty in the sense that they repeatedly tried to take our pickle tray before we had finished with it and eventually succeeded whilst we weren't looking. One of the waiters appeared to completely ignore the lady sitting next to me when taking orders and finally we were asked to leave as soon as we had finished as they had people waiting.
Written 22 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jess
Wisbech15 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 family
Food is always excellent from here although the times we have been to collect a takeaway it’s been 40+ mins late, with no apology when given the food. I preordered for NYE and ordered it for 7pm and didn’t receive it till 8pm (collection). It’s disappointing considering the food is so good. We will probably continue to use them as the food is so good, it would just be nice not to have to wait every time.
Written 31 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Km1234567
Hi Jess, Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you have been waiting for a long time for your food. It is because of New Years Eve we was very busy and had to stop taking phone order from 7:30. Our staff was very busy which is why they could not apologise as we was under huge pressure from the amount of orders we received. Hopefully, this shall not happen again as this was just was a one off as we was very busy to due New Year’s Eve.
Written 31 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul M
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 family
I called at 430 to see if they could fit a table for 3 in as soon as they opened at 530 the guy who answered the phone was very helpful and said no problem and took my name and said see you at 530 sir. When we arrived and entered I said we had a table booked at 530 and gave my name the guy disappeared and another guy appears and asks do we have a table booked. Again I explain I called an hour ago and booked a table and again gave my name like the first guy he disappeared. Finally a third guy who seems to be in charge appears and asks if he can help I again explain I called at 430 and booked a table his reply was “nobody was here at 430” so I show him my phone to check I’d dialled the right number he confirmed it was and then said “your booking needs to be confirmed and there’s no record of it” I asked how do bookings get confirmed and was told “when you make booking it’s confirmed “ by this time I was a little frustrated and our 3 year old son was asking if we could get dinner. I asked if we could just sit and eat as we were there and there had clearly been a mistake and we just wanted to eat, the restaurant was totally empty at this point. I was told “NO WERE FULLY BOOKED” at this point another guy asked if he could get a table for one and was told aggressively “NO”. I then said so we traveled to you after making a booking you have an empty restaurant on New Year’s Day and you won’t let us eat. This guy then sniggered and laughed and said just leave. I’ve eaten here before and the food was pretty good (not the best) but after winning awards we wanted to try it again especially as we both work in hospitality and like to support local businesses. They may have won food awards but the service tonight was worse than I would expect to get from a greasy cafe back in the 80s. Rude and laughing even though our son was crying what a disgusting vile man it was I hope karma comes back and bites you
Written 1 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dan Mapp
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 none
My Experence from when I walked in was great!, I was promptly greeted and given a table. My drinks came quick with a smile and i wasn't waiting long for the food either. I ordered a chicken tikka masala with onion rice and to this day it's the best curry ive had from anywhere! all the staff were very friendly and the presentation of everything from the food to the aesthetic restaurant itself was spectacular, the whole experience was 10/10 You have a customer for life.
Written 5 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Stephanie K
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 friends
We had a reservation for 5 people on Saturday 11th February as our close friend was going away to Australia so thought we would celebrate and I had booked the table for 7.30. Arrived at 7.15 and the front was packed with take away service and also there was 6 people in another party waiting to be seated who had booked for 7pm who were already complaining about waiting. We finally got a table and we waited along time to order a drink. We then asked 2 staff members if we can order but they said they would get back to us but didn’t. Eventually a woman came and said we needed to order as they just had a large group of people come in and if we didn’t order then we will be waiting a long time. We also need ruined that we had tried to before but the waiters hadn’t come back. We finally got our poppadoms an hour later. We then waited nearly another to get our mains!! We asked for a hug of water but were told they do not do jugs and will bring some water later which we received 30 minutes after asking. I could carry on but won’t. What I will say is that we will not be returning, I felt embarrassed as it was me who suggested we went there. Maybe don’t overbook and separate the people waiting for a take away and the people wanting to sit down for a meal. Don’t be greedy by cramming everyone in, give better service and don’t be so rude when a customer asks for something. Really disappointing!!
Written 13 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nadia Beegum
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021 none
The food was amazing as always, the service is of high quality and always served with great compassion and care. I highly recommend this resturant as the service is excellent along with the food itself. Wouldnt recommend any other restaurant as good as this one. Cant wait for the resturants to be opened again for a sit down meal!
Written 3 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Derek C
Lincoln9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
Came across this award winning restaurant whilst on holiday and have to say the award was fully justified. A very friendly lady showed us to our table and helped us to access the online menu. The dishes were so flavoursome without being overpowering, the individual spices coming through. The meat was so tender, in most restaurants the meat is precooked and dry. Just wish we lived nearby so we could try all the dishes. Well done to all the friendly staff and chefs.
Written 6 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

A.Micheal
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 friends
I visited curry palace with my friends. This place is excellent and I love the food and service we recieved. We came On a Friday and the restaurant was buzzing and full. Despite the whole restaurant being packed our food came slightly late however it was jam packed and full. Fully worth the wait for the food as it had an excellent taste. I recommend you all to visit here when your passing by as it will not fail to satisfy
Written 3 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

John D
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 family
Went to eat at the Curry Palace and from the start was greeted with a warm welcome and sat down at our table. Was recommended to go for the Purple Tiger best dish I’ve had would recommend everyone have a try food was really nice and tasted amazing staff there were really friendly and kind. The decor was really nice
Written 27 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JillCambs
Cambridge48 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 family
I cannot fault the food but the service is the worst I have ever had. We arrived 6.55 pm for our 7pm booking and waited until 7.15 pm to be shown to the table in the back part of restaurant. When I say shown we where lead to the room and the waited waved his arms about and walked off. We had no idea where our table was. He then came back saying and pointing. “There! There!” Very rude. We were taking our coats off and sitting down when he came back “Poppadoms. Poppadoms? Before I even asked the group I was told he would get five. He then returned put the pickles on the table loudly. He took our drinks order. Another lovely polite waiter took our order. We wanted sharing starter for two and we ordered two of these, I said we would be sharing between five. Another waiter came with plates for the starters but only four. I asked for plate as there were five of us and we were sharing. Again told four starters four plates, informed him five were sharing. He rolled his eyes but we did get another plate. We waited 45mins for main meal after the starters. When he brought the dinner plates he leaned over to put the plates on the table and as he couldn’t reach he handed a very hot plate to my daughter who dropped it and burnt her finger(not badly). Asked for water three times on the third time we were told they did not have any glasses all in dishwasher, and so it went on. The waiters, two in particular were rude and very vague. I think the restaurant have such a busy take away service that the diners are ignored. If they can’t cope then maybe they should concentrate on the takeaway. My party were celebrating two members birthdays and it was horrible. We were there for just over two and half hours. We will not be returning and I definitely will not recommend this restaurant to my worst enemy I am sorry to say.
Written 18 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Hayley A
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 family
We ordered a takeaway, were advised it would be an hours wait. When we arrived to collect the food after an hour, we had to wait a further 35 mins. The staff were unapologetic. The food was poor, chicken tikka tasted reheated, the madras curry was watery, chana massala dry and tasteless. Overall a very disappointing meal which cost us just over £100.
Written 19 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 314
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
Raja Restaurant
££ - £££ · Indian, Pakistani, Bangladeshi
Taj Tandoori
££ - £££ · Indian, Grill, Fusion, Street Food
20% off
Golpo Bengal Cafe & Restaurant
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi
The Seven Stars
££ - £££ · Indian, International, Asian, Grill
Limoncello Delicatessen & Bistro
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Cafe, Tuscan
Al Pomodoro
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Sicilian
Amelie
££ - £££ · French, Pizza, Fast food, European
Bread & Meat
££ - £££ · British, Fusion, Street Food
Revolution Cambridge
££ - £££ · European, Ethiopian
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CURRY PALACE, Cambridge - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All Cambridge HotelsCambridge Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cambridge
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire